Conservation Services Department

manuscript repairThe core mission of the Conservation Services Department is to ensure that library materials can be used by our patrons both now and in the future.

The staff of the Verne and Tanya Roberts Conservation Lab focus on the physical protection and treatment of materials from the circulating and special collections across the Duke University Libraries. More information on our program, including fiscal year statistics, can be found on our Conservation Services FAQ page.

 

Our Services

  • conservation of general and special collections materials
  • constructing custom enclosures
  • CoLibri™ covers
  • digital projects support
  • disaster recovery services
  • exhibit preparation support
  • handling and care training for library staff and student assistants
  • pamphlet binding
  • providing consultation and educational resources on library conservation issues

Conservation On The Web

Conservation Links

Location & Hours

Verne and Tanya Roberts Conservation Lab
Perkins Library LL1, Room 023
Monday - Friday, 8am - 5pm 
Phone: (919) 660-5906 
Fax: (919) 684-2855

Mailing Address

Verne and Tanya Roberts Conservation Lab
Duke University Libraries
Campus Box 90189
Durham, NC 27708

Shipping address

(FedEx, UPS, etc.)

Verne and Tanya Roberts Conservation Lab
Duke University Libraries
Perkins Library Room 023
035 Research Drive
Durham, NC 27708

Our Staff

Beth Doyle
Leona B. Carpenter Senior Conservator
Head, Conservation Services Department
Direct Line: (919) 660-5985
b.doyle@duke.edu

Erin Hammeke, Senior Conservator
erin.hammeke@duke.edu

Grace White, Conservator for Special Collections
grace.white@duke.edu

Mary Yordy, Senior Conservation Technician
mary.yordy@duke.edu

Rachel Penniman, Senior Conservation Technician
rachel.penniman@duke.edu

Tedd Anderson, Conservation Technician
tedd.anderson@duke.edu