Bogs Featured (for Marine)

Zine Librarians (un)Conference 2014

Fri, 07/11/2014 - 20:31
zine librarian 600x360

Zinesters, riot grrrls, and librarians gather at Duke, July 18-19

Collecting and Archiving Medical Swag

Mon, 07/07/2014 - 11:00
convalescent-cookbook600x360

An unusual collection of promotional materials comes to the Hartman Center

Coming Soon to This Website: Bento Searching

Thu, 07/03/2014 - 17:41
bento graphic 600x360

We’re about to improve the way you search and find library resources. Here’s why.

New Research Commons Gets a Name: The Edge

Mon, 06/30/2014 - 16:04
Open-Lab-Updated_600x360

Renovated space on first floor of Bostock Library to be complete later this year

Doc and Doe: Love in the Archives

Sat, 06/28/2014 - 12:00
docanddoe600x360

As she bids Duke farewell, one of our staff shares a few found gems from the University Archives

Summer Reading Ideas: New Duke Books

Fri, 06/27/2014 - 12:00
faculty_books_summer14

Fiction, scholarship, poetry and essays: Faculty and staff offer something for any reader

Constructive Criticism: A Rare Find Recalls an Architectural Debate

Thu, 06/26/2014 - 12:00
piranesi600x360

A visiting scholar notices something unusual in a book of Piranesi’s drawings

A Glimpse of Occupied Haiti

Mon, 06/23/2014 - 15:43
haiti marines 600x360

A recent acquisition offers a detailed look at the U.S. military occupation, 1915-1934

Uses for an 11th-Century Latin Manuscript

Fri, 06/20/2014 - 12:56
seutonius600x360

The journey of a medieval book is inscribed on its own pages

Window Treatment: A Library Renovation Invites the Light

Wed, 06/18/2014 - 13:31
WindowTreatment3

To preserve the building’s character, workers are restoring hundreds of leaded-glass windows

Dance on Film: Movies to Get Your Groove On

Tue, 06/17/2014 - 13:52
danceonfilm

Can’t get enough of the American Dance Festival? Check out these films at Lilly Library

Noise Advisory: Research Commons Construction

Mon, 06/16/2014 - 18:34
Architectural rendering of the Research Commons on the first floor of Bostock Library. Renovations will take place May-November 2014.

Drilling, fire alarm testing, and other construction-related noises may affect library users

New Exhibit and Upcoming Lecture Highlight Civil War Medicine

Mon, 06/16/2014 - 13:27
civilwarmedicineexhibit600x360

Exhibit at the Medical Center Library features rare books, medical instruments, artifacts

An Important Win for Libraries and Fair Use

Wed, 06/11/2014 - 15:07
Supreme Court

Kevin Smith analyzes the recent decision in Authors Guild v. HathiTrust

Leveling Up Our Document Viewer

Tue, 06/10/2014 - 11:00
Haiti Declaration 600x360

A look under the hood at how we’re making it easier to view and use digitized material

New Duke MOOC: Copyright for Educators and Librarians

Mon, 06/09/2014 - 13:02
Copyright Definition

Copyright experts from Duke, Emory, and UNC team up in free online short course

Digitizing DukEngineer

Sat, 06/07/2014 - 11:00
dukengineer_digitized_600x360

All 74 years of DukEngineer magazine are now available online

Mapping in Google Spreadsheets

Fri, 06/06/2014 - 11:00
Mapping in Google Spreadsheets

How to use the Sheets tool in Google Drive for quick and easy data visualizations

The Saga of the Nazi Newsreel

Wed, 06/04/2014 - 19:26
Nazi Newsreel 600x360

A rare copy of a Nuremberg Rally propaganda film is rediscovered at Duke

Our First Adopt-a-Book Repairs

Tue, 06/03/2014 - 14:29
gulliver

A behind-the-scenes look at how the program is helping to conserve library treasures

Pages