ATLA Religion Database (and more) for Duke alumni November 20, 2009
Posted by Andy Keck in : Databases, Divinity alumni , add a commentThe Duke University Libraries and the Duke University Alumni Association have worked together to provide access to a set of online resources now available to all Duke alumni. The databases include the full ATLA Religion Database (religion), EBSCO Academic Search Alumni Edition (multidisciplinary), JSTOR (multidisciplinary), and ProQuest ABI/Inform Complete (business). These databases collectively provide hundreds of full-text journal titles in religion, thousands of full-text journal titles in other disciplines, and millions of citations to articles, book reviews, and essays. Learn more and sign up…
Chicago Manual of Style now online November 5, 2009
Posted by Andy Keck in : Databases , add a commentWe are pleased to announce that the Chicago Manual of Style Online is now available for the Duke community. The Chicago Manual of Style, the foundation for Turabian and the SBL Handbook of Style, has a nearly comprehensive list of citation examples that can help sort out tricky citation problems. In addition to citation help, the Chicago Manual of Style provides standards for punctuation, grammar, and abbreviations that are used in many publications. The online version provides access to a surprisingly entertaining Q&A as well as other tools, templates, and samples.
ATLA Religion Database Scripture searching improved June 16, 2009
Posted by Andy Keck in : Databases , add a commentThe ATLA Religion Database has recently added an expanded scripture reference searching for records indexed within a scripture range. For example, a search for Genesis 1:6 will return articles related just to Genesis 1:6 as well as articles with a broader pericope such as Genesis 1:1-25 or Genesis 1-2:3.
To use this new functionality, click on the “Scripture” button near the top of the screen, browse the books of the Bible in canonical order and drill down to the chapter and/or verse level. Selecting an entry at the book, chapter, or verse level will execute the search. Way to go EBSCO and ATLA for providing this new search tool!
Database Update: Eighteenth Century Collections Online February 10, 2009
Posted by Andy Keck in : Databases , add a commentEighteenth Century Collections Online contains every English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works. At more than 138,000 titles, additional digitized works have recently been added as well as a new integrated search with Early English Books Online. The combined search of these two full-text databases now searches the breadth of English literature published from 1475-1800 extending from the birth of the reformation to the great awakenings inspired by Whitefield and the Wesleys.
New Database: Patrologiae Graecae December 3, 2008
Posted by Andy Keck in : Databases , add a commentPatrologiae Graecae contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
PG is a collection of the writings of the church leaders who wrote in Greek, including both the Eastern “Fathers” and those Western Christians who wrote before the Latin takeover of the West in the third century. It includes, for example, the early writings collectively known as the Apostolic Fathers, such as the Epistles of Clement and The Shepherd of Hermas , the church historian Eusebius, the controversial theologian Origen, and the Cappadocian Fathers Basil the Great, Gregory of Nazianzus, and Gregory of Nyssa. PG ’s coverage extends to 1439, the date of the Council of Florence.
