<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	xmlns:creativeCommons="http://backend.userland.com/creativeCommonsRssModule">

<channel>
	<title>Spotlight &#187; Databases</title>
	<atom:link href="http://library.duke.edu/blogs/divinity-spotlight/category/databases/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://library.duke.edu/blogs/divinity-spotlight</link>
	<description>News from the Divinity School Library at Duke University</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sun, 22 Nov 2009 22:31:11 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.8.4</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<creativeCommons:license>http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/us/</creativeCommons:license>		<item>
		<title>ATLA Religion Database (and more) for Duke alumni</title>
		<link>http://library.duke.edu/blogs/divinity-spotlight/2009/11/20/atla-2/</link>
		<comments>http://library.duke.edu/blogs/divinity-spotlight/2009/11/20/atla-2/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 20 Nov 2009 21:35:10 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Andy Keck</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Divinity alumni]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://library.duke.edu/blogs/divinity-spotlight/?p=1971</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The Duke University Libraries and the Duke University Alumni Association have worked together to provide access to a set of online resources now available to all Duke alumni. The databases include the full ATLA Religion Database (religion), EBSCO Academic Search Alumni Edition (multidisciplinary), JSTOR (multidisciplinary), and ProQuest ABI/Inform Complete (business). These databases collectively provide hundreds [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The Duke University Libraries and the Duke University Alumni Association have worked together to provide access to a set of online resources now available to all Duke alumni. The databases include the full <em>ATLA Religion Database</em> (religion), <em>EBSCO Academic Search Alumni Edition</em> (multidisciplinary), <em>JSTOR</em> (multidisciplinary), and <em>ProQuest ABI/Inform Complete</em> (business). These databases collectively provide hundreds of full-text journal titles in religion, thousands of full-text journal titles in other disciplines, and millions of citations to articles, book reviews, and essays. <a href="http://library.duke.edu/divinity/help/atlas.html">Learn more and sign up&#8230;</a></p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://library.duke.edu/blogs/divinity-spotlight/2009/11/20/atla-2/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Chicago Manual of Style now online</title>
		<link>http://library.duke.edu/blogs/divinity-spotlight/2009/11/05/chicago-manual/</link>
		<comments>http://library.duke.edu/blogs/divinity-spotlight/2009/11/05/chicago-manual/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 05 Nov 2009 21:38:23 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Andy Keck</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://library.duke.edu/blogs/divinity-spotlight/?p=1931</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[We are pleased to announce that the Chicago Manual of Style Online is now available for the Duke community.  The Chicago Manual of Style, the foundation for Turabian and the SBL Handbook of Style, has a nearly comprehensive list of citation examples that can help sort out tricky citation problems. In addition to citation help, [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>We are pleased to announce that the <a href="http://library.duke.edu/metasearch/db/id/DUK03481"><em>Chicago Manual of Style Online</em></a> is now available for the Duke community.  The <em>Chicago Manual of Style, </em>the foundation for <em><a href="http://library.duke.edu/catalog/search/recordid/DUKE003881887">Turabian</a></em> and the <a href="http://library.duke.edu/catalog/search/recordid/DUKE002718833"><em>SBL Handbook of Style,</em></a> has a nearly comprehensive list of citation examples that can help sort out tricky citation problems. In addition to citation help, the <em>Chicago Manual of Style</em> provides standards for punctuation, grammar, and abbreviations that are used in many publications. The online version provides access to a surprisingly entertaining Q&amp;A as well as other tools, templates, and samples.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://library.duke.edu/blogs/divinity-spotlight/2009/11/05/chicago-manual/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>ATLA Religion Database Scripture searching improved</title>
		<link>http://library.duke.edu/blogs/divinity-spotlight/2009/06/16/atla/</link>
		<comments>http://library.duke.edu/blogs/divinity-spotlight/2009/06/16/atla/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 16 Jun 2009 13:05:10 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Andy Keck</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://library.duke.edu/blogs/divinity-spotlight/?p=891</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The ATLA Religion Database has recently added an expanded scripture reference searching for records indexed within a scripture range. For example, a search for Genesis 1:6 will return articles related just to Genesis 1:6 as well as articles with a broader pericope such as Genesis 1:1-25 or Genesis 1-2:3.  
To use this new functionality, [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The <a href="http://library.duke.edu/metasearch/db/id/DUK00820">ATLA Religion Database</a> has recently added an expanded scripture reference searching for records indexed within a scripture range. For example, a search for Genesis 1:6 will return articles related just to Genesis 1:6 as well as articles with a broader pericope such as Genesis 1:1-25 or Genesis 1-2:3.  </p>
<p>To use this new functionality, click on the &#8220;Scripture&#8221; button near the top of the screen, browse the books of the Bible in canonical order and drill down to the chapter and/or verse level. Selecting an entry at the book, chapter, or verse level will execute the search. Way to go EBSCO and ATLA for providing this new search tool! </p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://library.duke.edu/blogs/divinity-spotlight/2009/06/16/atla/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
