Bibliography

This bibliography is based on the document by John Bewley, Mickey Koth, and Lois Schultz that was presented to the meeting of the Sheet Music Round Table, Music Library Association, in Feb., 1998. For information about significant repositories of sheet music in the United States, consult Resources of American music history: a directory of source materials from Colonial times to World War II, compiled by D.W. Krummel, et al. (Urbana: University of Illinois, 1981).

 1. Lists of Music Imprints

Board of Music Trade of the United States of America. Complete catalogue of sheet music and musical works, 1870. New introd. by Dena J. Epstein. New York, Da Capo Press, 1973.
 
Epstein, Dena J. Music publishing in Chicago before 1871: the firm of Root & Cady, 1858-1871. Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1969. (Detroit studies in music bibliography, no. 14)
 
Heard, Priscilla S. American Music, 1698-1800: an Annotated Bibliography. Waco, Texas: Baylor University Press, 1975.
 
Hoogerwerf, Frank W. Confederate sheet-music imprints. Brooklyn, N.Y.: Institute for Studies in American Music, Conservatory of Music, Brooklyn College of the City University of New York, c1984.
 
Hoogerwerf, Frank W. John Hill Hewitt: Sources and Bibliography. Atlanta, Ga.: Emory General Libraries, c1981.
 
Jumonville, Florence M. Bibliography of New Orleans imprints, 1764-1864 New Orleans: Historic New Orleans Collection, c1989.
 
Korda, Marion, Louisville Music Publications of the 19th century. Louisville, KY: Dwight Anderson Music Library, University of Louisville, 1991.
 
Parrish, T. Michael and Robert M. Willingham. Confederate Imprints, a Bibliography of Southern Publications from Secession to Surrender. Texas: Jenkins ; Katonah, N.Y.: G.A. Foster, [1987?]. Predecessors were Marjorie Lyle Crandall's Confederate imprints and Richard Harwell's More Confederate imprints.
 
Rinderkneche, Carol. A Checklist of American Imprints for 1840-. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1970.
 
Wolfe, Richard J. Secular Music in America, 1801-1825: a Bibliography. New York: New York Public Library, 1964.

2. Catalogs

Boston Public Library. Dictionary Catalog of the Music Collection. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1972-
 
New York Public Library. Music Division. Dictionary Catalog of the Music Collection. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1964.
 
New York Public Library. Research Libraries. Dictionary Catalog of the Music Collection. 2nd ed. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1982.
 
Newberry Library. The Newberry Library Catalog of Early American Printed Sheet Music. Compiled by Bernard E. Wilson. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1983.

3. Composers and Musicians

American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers. The ASCAP Biographical Dictionary of Composers, Authors and Publishers. 4th ed. New, 1980.
Brief biographical information; includes ASCAP members only.
Butterworth, Neil. A Dictionary of American Composers. New York: Garland, 1984.
 
Claghorn, Charles Eugene. Biographical Dictionary of American Music. West Nyack, NY: Parker Publishing, 1973.
 
Cohen, Aaron I. International Encyclopedia of Women Composers, 2nd ed. New York: Books & Music (USA), 1987.
 
Historical Records Survey (District of Columbia). Bio-bibliographical Index of Musicians in the United States of America from Colonial Times. Washington D.C.: Library of Congress, 1941.
 
Hitchcock, H. Wiley and Stanley Sadie, eds. New Grove Dictionary of American Music. London: Macmillan, 1986.
 
Hixon, Donald L. Women in Music: an Encyclopedic Biobibliography, 2nd ed. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1993.
 
International Who's Who in Music and Musician's Directory. Cambridge, Eng.
 
Barbara McNeil and Miranda C. Herbert, ed., Performing Arts Biography Master Index, 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale Research Company, 1981.
 
Rohrer, Gertrude Martin. Music and Musicians of Pennsylvania. Philadelphia: Theodore Presser, 1940.
 
Sadie, Stanley. New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. London: Macmillan Press, 1980.
 
Slonimsky, Nicolas. Bakers Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. New York: Schirmer. 8th ed. New York: Schirmer, 1991
Earlier editions of this source sometimes include persons not covered in the current edition.
Sonneck, Oscar George Theodore and W.T. Upton. A Bibliography of Early Secular American Music. Washington D.C.: Library of Congress Music Division, 1945.
 
Wolfe, Richard J. Secular Music in America, 1801-1825: a Bibliography. New York: New York Public Library, 1964.
Brief biographies of composers are provided. Some information about publishing after 1825 is provided.

Women Composers

Cohen, Aaron I. International Encyclopedia of Women Composers. 2nd ed. New York : Books & Music (USA), 1987.
 
Hixon, Don L., and Hennessee, Don A. Women in Music: an Encyclopedic Bibliography. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1993.

4. Performers

The following sources are in addition to sources for composers, many of which also include information about performers.

McNeil, Barbara and Miranda C. Herbert, ed., Artist biographies master index. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co., c1986.
 
Rice, Edward Le Roy. Monarchs of Minstrelsy: From "Daddy" Rice to Date. New York: Kenny Publishing, 1911.
 
Sadie, Stanley. New Grove Dictionary of Opera. London: Macmillan Press, 1992.
 
Wearing, J. P. American and British Theatrical Biography: a Directory. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1979.
 

5. By Form & Genre

Opera
Hamilton, David. Metropolitan Opera Encyclopedia: a Comprehensive Guide to the World of Opera. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1987.
New Grove Dictionary of Opera. London: Macmillan; New York: distributed in the United States of America and Canada by Grove's Dictionaries of music, 1992.
Parson, Charles H. Opera Composers and their Works. Lewiston, N.Y.: Edwin Mellon Press, 1986.
Band
Rehrig, William H. Heritage encyclopedia of band music: composers and their music. Westerville, OH: Integrity Press, 1991.
Singers
Kutsch, K.J. and Leo Riemens. Grosses Sangerlexicon. Bern: Francke, 1991.
Claghorn, Charles Eugene. Biographical Dictionary of Jazz. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, 1982.
Faber Companion to 20th-Century Popular Music. London: Faber, 1990.
The Guiness Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Edited by Colin Larkin. Middlesex, England: Guiness, 1992.
Herzhaft, Gerard. Encyclopedia of the Blues. Translated by Brigitte Debord. Fayettevile: University of Arkansas Press, 1992.
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Edited by Barry Kernfeld. London: Macmillan, 1988.

6. Engravers, Illustrators, and Lithographers

Baker, William Spohn. American Engravers and their Works. Philadelphia: Gebbie & Barrie, 1875.
 
Bryan, Michael. Bryan's Dictionary of Painters and Engravers, New ed. London: G. Bell and Sons, 1925-1927.
 
Fielding, Mantle. American Engravers upon Copper and Steel. Philadelphia, 1917.
 
Fielding, Mantle. Dictionary of American Painters, Sculptors, and Engravers. New York: J.F. Carr, 1965.
 
Groce, G. New York Historical Society Dictionary of Artists in America. 1957.
 
Jumonville, Florence M. "Set to music: the engravers, artists, and lithographers of New Orleans sheet music". In, Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society (v. 105, pt. 1: 1995), p. 127-144.
 
Peters, Harry Twyford. America on Stone: the other Printmakers to the American People: a Chronicle of American Lithography other than that of Currier & Ives, from its Beginning, Shortly before 1820, to the Years when the Commercial Single-stone Hand-colored Lithograph Disappeared from the American Scene. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, Doran and Co., 1931.
 
Stauffer, David McNeely. American Engravers upon Copper and Steel. New York: Grolier Club of the City of New York, 1907.
 
Young, William. A Dictionary of American Artists, Sculptors and Engravers, from the Beginnings through the Turn of the Twentieth Century. Cambridge, Mass.: W. Young, 1968.
 

7. Publishers and Publishing Processes

Dichter, Harry and Elliott Shapiro. Handbook of Early American Sheet Music, 1768-1889. New York: Dover, 1977.
 
Includes a directory of early American music publishers, with respective addresses and dates during which the publisher worked at that address.
Krummel, Donald William. Philadelphia Music Engraving and Publishing, 1800-1820. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1958.
 
Krummel, Donald William and Stanley Sadie. Music Printing and Publishing. New York: W.W. Norton, 1990.
 
Stevenson, Robert. "California Pioneer Sheet Music Publishers and Publications" In, Inter-American Music Review (VIII:1, 1986), p. 1-138
 
Wolfe, Richard J. Early American Music Engraving and Printing: a History of Music Publishing in America from 1787 to 1825 with Commentary on Earlier and Later Practices. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1980.
 

8. General Musical Sources (United States)

Note: There are numerous dissertations that are devoted to the subject of histories of music within a geographic area. Although they usually lack indexes, they often provide detailed information about local performers and composers.

Claghorn, Charles Eugene. Biographical Dictionary of American Music. West Nyack, N.Y.: Parker Pub. Co., 1973.
A good source for obscure nineteenth-century composers.
Davis, Ronald L. A History of Music in American Life. Huntington, NY: R.E. Krieger Publishing Co., 1980-1982.
 
Ewen, David. American Composers: a Biographical Dictionary. New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1982.
 
Gerson, Robert A. Music in Philadelphia: a History of Philadelphia Music, a Summary of its Current Taste, and a Comprehensive Index Dictionary. Philadelphia: Theodore Presser, 1940.
 
Hall, Charles J. A Chronicle of American Music, 1700-1995.  New York: Schirmer Books, 1996.
 
A Handbook of American Music and Musicians. Edited by F.O. Jones. New York: Da Capo Press, 1971.
A reprint of the 1886 edition.
Johnson, Harold Earle. Musical Interludes in Boston, 1795-1830. New York: Columbia University Press, 1943.
 
Krummel, Donald William. Guide for Dating Early Published Music. Hackensack: J. Boonin, 1974.
 
Lowens, Irving. Music and Musicians in Early America.  New York: W.W. Norton, 1964.
 
The Macmillan Encyclopedia of Music and Musicians. Compiled and edited by Albert E. Wier. New York: Macmillan, 1938.
 
Mates, Julian. The American Musical State before 1800. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 1962.
 
Mathews, William Smythe Babcock. A Hundred Years of Music in America: an Account of Musical Effort in America During the Past Century ... Together with Historical and Biographical Sketches of Important Personalities. New York: AMS Press, 1970.
Reprint of the 1889 ed.
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music. Edited by H. Wiley Hitchcock and Stanley Sadie. New York : Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1986.
The most well-established American composers are included.
Sanjek, Russell. American Popular Music and its Business: the First Four Hundred Years. New York: Oxford University Press, 1988.
 
Sonneck, Oscar George Theodore. Early Concert-Life in America (1731-1800). Leipzig: Breitkopf & Härtel, 1907.
 
Sonneck, Oscar George Theodore. Early Opera in America. New York: Schirmer, 1915.
 
Southern, Eileen. Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1982.
 
Stevenson, Robert. "California Pioneer Sheet Music Publishers and Publications" In, Inter-American Music Review (VIII:1, 1986), p. 1-138
 
Who's Who in American Music, Classical. 2nd ed. Edited by Jacques Cattell press. New York: R.R. Bowker, 1985.
 

9. General reference (United States)

Most headings for historical personages or authors can be found in standard reference works such as encyclopedias or biographical dictionaries. It should be noted that searching bibliographic databases such as RLIN (books and archival material files in addition to the score file) or OCLC is often a good, convenient first step in finding headings, whether they be names, places, or events.

Appletons' Annual Cyclopaedia and Register of Important Events Embracing Political, Military, and Ecclesiastical Affairs; Public Documents; Biography, Statistics, Commerce, Finance, Literature, Science, Agriculture, and Mechanical Industry. New York, Appleton, 1862-1903.
 
Dictionary of American Biography. New York, Scribner, [1946-58]
Dupuy, Trevor Nevitt, Curt Johnson and David L. Bongard. Harper Encyclopedia of Military Biography. New York: HarperCollins, 1992.

 
Gale, Robert L. A Cultural Encyclopedia of the 1850s in America. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993.
Hocking, Charles. Dictionary of Disasters at Sea During the Age of Steam: Including Sailing Ships and Ships of War Lost in Action, 1824-1962. London: Lloyd's Register of Shipping, 1969.
Kallenbach, Joseph E. American State Governors, 1776-1976. Dobbs Ferry, NY: Oceana, 1977-1982.

 
Margiotta, Franklin D. Brassey's Encyclopedia of Military History and Biography. Washington: Brassey's, 1994.
 
Lamb's Biographical Dictionary of the United States; ed. by John Howard Brown. Boston, Mass., James H. Lamb Company, 1900-03.
 
National Cyclopedia of American Biography. Clifton, N.J., J. T. White, 1892-1986. 63 v.
 

10. Historical Periods (United States)

Civil War Period

This can only be a very select list, as the Civil War has, and continues to be of great interest to historians.

Bibliography (including music bibliography):

Hoogerwerf, Frank W. Confederate Sheet-Music Imprints. Brooklyn, N.Y.: Institute for Studies in American Music, Conservatory of Music, Brooklyn College of the City University of New York, c1984.
This title has been somewhat superceded by Parrish & Willingham, but still is useful because it contains more specific information for each item. Predecessors were Marjorie Lyle Crandall's Confederate imprints and Richard Harwell's More Confederate imprints.
Hoogerwerf, Frank W. John Hill Hewitt: Sources and Bibliography. Atlanta, Ga.: Emory General Libraries, c1981.
Hewitt (1801-1890) was a leading composer and musician in New York, Boston, Atlanta and Baltimore. He also bought out the Augusta music publishing outlet of Blackmar & Brothers. Perhaps his most famous songs were Rock me to sleep, Mother and All quiet along the Potomac to-night.
Parrish, T. Michael and Robert M. Willingham. Confederate Imprints, a Bibliography of Southern Publications from Secession to Surrender. Texas: Jenkins ; Katonah, N.Y.: G.A. Foster, [1987?]
Now the standard bibliography of Confederate imprints (succeeding Crandall and Harwell), it contains brief citations for all Confederate imprints from laws to sheet music.

Battles, Campaigns, etc.

Battles and leaders of the Civil War, being for the most part contributions by Union and Confederate officers, Based upon "The Century war series". Edited by Robert Underwood Johnson and Clarence Clough Buel ... New York: Century Co., c1887-1888.
United States. War Dept. The War of the Rebellion: a compilation of the official records of the Union and Confederate armies. Washington, Govt. Print. Off., 1880-1901.
This 70 v. set is the official record of the battle, skirmishes, campaigns, etc, containing very detailed indexing of persons, places, battles, skirmishes, units (including "colored troops"), etc.

Biography (General):

Wakelyn, Jon L. Biographical dictionary of the Confederacy. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1977.
In addition to biographical information, this has an index showing the geographical mobility of people before and after the Civil War.
Battles and leaders of the Civil War. Edited by Robert Underwood Johnson and Clarence Clough Buel ... New York: Century Co., c1887-1888.
Dornbusch, C. E. Regimental Publications & Personal Narratives of the Civil War. New York, New York Public Library, [1971-
Dornbusch, C. E. Military Bibliography of the Civil War. Dayton, Ohio: Morningside, 1987-
This is a bibliography of regimental histories and personal narratives.

Biography (Military)

Amann, William Frayne. Personnel of the Civil War. New York, T. Yoseloff, [1961]
This is an excellent source for establishing the names of regiments, etc. because it gives the common name and the official name (e.g., the Pennsylvania Rifles were the 2nd regiment reserves, Infantry (Company A)) It does not give birth and death dates.
Confederate States of America. War Dept. List of Artillery Officers, C.S.A. [Richmond? 186-]
Dyer, Frederick Henry, 1849- A compendium of the War of the Rebellion. Des Moines, Ia. The Dyer publishing company, 1908.
This is a comprehensive source, compiled from official records of both armies, giving the numbers and organization of the armies, a chronological record of the campaigns, battles, engagements, actions, sieges, etc.
Krick, Robert K. Lee's colonels, a Biographical Register of the Field Officers of the Army of Northern Virginia. Dayton, Ohio: Press of Morningside Bookshop, 1979.
The Union Army; a History of Military Affairs in the Loyal States, 1861-65. Madison, Wis. Federal Publishing Company, 1908.
A comprehensive source including state and regimental information, listing of battles, information about the navy, and some biographies.
United States. Army. Memorandum of Staff Officers of the Confederate Army. [N.p., n.p., n.d.]
This does not have birth/death dates and is only useful to verify the military unit.
United States. War dept. List of staff officers of the Confederate States army. 1861-1865. Washington, Govt. print. off., 1891.
United States. War Records Office. Local designations of Confederate troops. [Washington? 189-?]
Not identified in bibliographies of U. S. documents and Confederate material, but similar in format to other publications of the War Dept. and War Records Office of the same period. This resource is particularly useful for establishing the names of regiments, etc. as it gives the common name (e.g., Zouaves) with the official name.
Warner, Ezra J. Generals in blue; lives of the Union commanders. [Baton Rouge] Louisiana State University Press, [1964]
Warner, Ezra J. Generals in gray; lives of the Confederate commanders. [Baton Rouge] Louisiana State University Press [1959]
Wright, Marcus Joseph. General officers of the Confederate army, officers of the executive departments of the Confederate States, members of the Confederate congress by states. New York: Neale, 1911.

State Biographical Dictionaries and Rosters:

Most states have specialized biographical material and/or rosters for political and military figures. Some states now have access through web sites (or have never issued print versions at all). Additionally, there are a great many histories of individual regiments.

Alabama:
Military records are accessed from the Alabama Dept. of Archives and History, Military records web page at: http://www.asc.edu/archives/referenc/military.html This is really an index to microfilm records and other archives.
Carolinas:
Cyclopedia of Eminent and Representative Men of the Carolinas of the Nineteenth Century, with a Brief Historical Introduction on South Carolina by General Edward McCrady, and on North Carolina by Samuel A. Ashe. Madison, Wis., Brant & Fuller, 1892. (Also available from Spartanburg, S.C., Reprint Co. [1972-73, c1892)
Powell, William Stevens. Dictionary of North Carolina biography. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, c1979-1996.
Connecticut:
Connecticut. Adjutant-General's Office. Catalogue of Connecticut Volunteer Organizations, (Infantry, Cavalry, and Artillery,) in the Service of the United States, 1861-1865, with additional enlistments, casualties, &c., &c., and brief summaries, showing the operations and service of the several regiments ... Hartford, Brown & Gross, 1869.
Georgia:
Georgia. State Division of Confederate Pensions and Records. Roster of the Confederate Soldiers of Georgia, 1861-1865 [Hapeville, Ga.: Longina & Porter, 1959-
Illinois:
Illinois. Military and Naval Department. Report of the Adjutant General of the State of Illinois. Springfield, IL, Phillips Bros., state printers [etc.] 1900-02.
Indiana:
Indiana. Adjutant General's Office. Report of the Adjutant General of the State of Indiana ... Indianapolis, A.H. Connor [etc.] State Printer, 1865-69.
Kentucky:
Kentucky. Adjutant-General's Office. Report of the Adjutant General of the State of Kentucky (1863)
Maryland:
Men of mark in Maryland ... biographies of leading men of the state ... Baltimore, Washington [etc.] B.F. Johnson, Inc., 1907-12.
Maryland. Commission on Publication of the Histories of the Maryland Volunteers during the Civil War. History and roster of Maryland volunteers, war of 1861-5. Baltimore, Press of Guggenheimer, Weil & co., 1898-99.
Ruffner, Kevin Conley. Maryland's Blue & Gray, a Border State's Union and Confederate Junior Officer Corps. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, c1997.
Massachusetts:
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 44th (1862-1863) Record of the service of the Forty-fourth Massachusetts volunteer militia in North Carolina, August 1862 to May 1863. Boston: Privately Printed, 1887.
Minnesota:
Minnesota. Board of Commissioners on Publication of History of Minnesota in Civil and Indian Wars. Minnesota in the Civil and Indian wars, 1861-1865. St. Paul, Minn.: Printed for the State by the Pioneer Press Company, 1890-93.
Minnesota. Adjutant General's Office. Report of the Adjutant General of the State of Minnesota. 1866 includes dates of birth and place of residence
New York:
Phisterer, Frederick. New York in the War of Rebellion, 1861-1865. Lyon, c1912. Gives names of officers only.
New York (State). Adjutant General's Office. Annual report of the Adjutant General of the State of New York. Full roster for all personnel.
New Jersey:
New Jersey. Adjutant-General's Office. Records of Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Civil War, 1861-1865. Trenton, J.L. Murphy, printer, 1876.
Ohio:
Ohio. Roster commission. Official Roster of the Soldiers of the State of Ohio in the War of the Rebellion, 1861-1866. Akron: Werner Co., 1886-95.
Pennsylvania:
Bates, Samuel P. History of Pennsylvania volunteers, 1861-5. Harrisburg, B. Singerly, State Printer, 1869-71.
Vermont:
Benedict, George Grenville, 1826-1907. Vermont in the civil war. A History of the Part taken by the Vermont Soldiers and Sailors in the War for the Union, 1861-5. Burlington, Free Press Association, 1886-88.
Wisconsin:
Wisconsin. Adjutant-general's office. Roster of Wisconsin Volunteers, War of the rebellion, 1861-1865. Madison, Democrat printing co., state printers, 1886-
Wisconsin. Adjutant-General's Office. Report. Officers and dead listed in 1865 report.
blog comments powered by Disqus