Guide to the Cataloged Collections in the Manuscript Department of the William R. Perkins Library, Duke University
[
top]
Descriptive Summary
Repository
Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke
University
Creator
Duke University. Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.
Title
Guide to the Cataloged Collections in the Manuscript Department of the William R. Perkins Library, Duke University, 1980
Language of Material
Material in English and other languages.
Abstract
The Guide to the Cataloged Collections... contains information on 5991 archival collections acquired up to 1980 by the Manuscript Department of the William R. Perkins Library, now the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University.
Archival collections described in The Guide consist of materials formed around a person, family, organization, or subject. They may contain a wide variety of items such as manuscripts, diaries, correspondence, legal papers, memorabilia, photographs, films, tapes, computer files, maps, drawings, pamphlets, and other forms of material. The Guide to the Cataloged Collections in the Manuscript Department of the William R. Perkins Library, Duke University does not contain complete information on the holdings of the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library. Additional access to the Library's holdings may be found in the the Library's Finding Aids, the Duke University Libraries Online Catalog, or by contacting the Library.
[
top]
Administrative Information
Access Restrictions
Many of these collections are open for research. Some collection-specific restrictions may apply.
These collections may contain materials to which the Acknowledgment of Legal Responsibilities and Privacy Rights form applies. Patrons must sign this form before using this collection.
Also, all or portions of these collections may be housed off-site in Duke University's Library Service Center. Consequently, there may be a 24-hour delay in obtaining these materials.
Please contact Research Services staff before visiting the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library to use this collection.
Copyright Notice
The copyright interests in these collection have not been transferred to Duke University. For more information, consult the copyright section of the Regulations and Procedures of the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.
Preferred Citation
[Identification of item], [Collection Name], Rare Book,
Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University.
Provenance
These collections were acquired by the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library from various sources from circa 1930 to 1980. Contact the Library for more information related to the provenance of specific collections.
Processing Information
Processed by RBMSCL staff, 1980
Encoded by Stephen Miller. The electronic version of the Guide to the Cataloged Collections in the Manuscript Department of the William R. Perkins Library, Duke University was produced by scanning a printed copy using optical character recognition (OCR) technology. The resulting text was then edited and encoded using the Encoded Archival Description (EAD) SGML standard. The SGML is translated to HTML for standard web browsers and presented by the Digital Scriptorium's Dynaweb Internet Server. Scanning was done with a Hewlett Packard Scanjet 4c Scanner with Automatic Document Feeder and Caere Omni Page Pro for Windows 95.
Updated and converted to XML by Jill Katte, December 2007
This finding aid is NCEAD compliant.
[
top]
Historical Note
The Guide to the Cataloged Collections... contains information on 5991 archival collections acquired up to 1980 by the Manuscript Department of the William R. Perkins Library, now the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University.
[
top]
Collection Overview
Archival collections described in The Guide consist of materials formed around a person, family, organization, or subject. They may contain a wide variety of items such as manuscripts, diaries, correspondence, legal papers, memorabilia, photographs, films, tapes, computer files, maps, drawings, pamphlets, and other forms of material. The Guide to the Cataloged Collections in the Manuscript Department of the William R. Perkins Library, Duke University does not contain complete information on the holdings of the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library. Additional access to the Library's holdings may be found in the the Library's Finding Aids, the Duke University Libraries Online Catalog, or by contacting the Library.
[
top]
Subject Headings
These are searchable subject entries for this collection. Performing a search on these subjects in the Duke University Libraries online catalog will bring up other related research materials.
- Duke University. Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.
- Account books.
- Audiotapes.
- Business records.
- Correspondence.
- Daybooks.
- Diaries.
- Drawings.
- Legal documents.
- Manuscripts.
- Maps.
- Memorabilia.
- Microfilms.
- Pamphlets.
- Photographs.
- Scrapbooks.
- Sermons.
[
top]
Detailed Description of Collection
Guide to the Cataloged Collections in the Manuscript Department of the William R. Perkins Library, Duke University
1:
WILLIAM B. ABBOTT PAPERS,
1862-1864.
10 items.
Frederick County, Va.
Papers of a well-to-do farmer including several documents relating to the evaluation of damage done to his property by C.S.A. troops in 1862 and receipts for hay purchased by the C.S.A. in August, 1864.
2:
ABBOTT & COMPANY PAPERS,
1856-1871.
66 items.
Philadelphia, Pa.
Miscellaneous letters concerning scales sold by Abbott & Company.
3:
ERNEST L. ABEL PAPERS,
(1925-1928) 1952.
550 items and 8 vols.
West Palm Beach (Palm Beach County), Fla.
Correspondence and printed material of Ernest L. Abel, postal union organizer and official. Correspondence deals with organizing efforts and charters, finances and the per capita tax, disaster relief for Post Office employees by the Red Cross after a hurricane, conventions, and legislation. Printed material consists of programs for various Florida postal organizations' conventions, 1927-1947, including the Florida State Convention of the National Association of Letter Carriers and National Federation of Post Office Clerks, the Florida Postal Groups, the Joint Convention of Florida Postal Organizations, the Florida Federation of Post Office Clerks, and the Florida State Convention of the National Federation of Post Office Clerks.
4:
LASCELLES ABERCROMBIE PAPERS.
1 item.
Letter to
""
"Ivy"
from Abercrombie (1881-1938), English poet and critic, concerning injuries Abercrombie received in an accident. Transcribed from his Emblems of Love (1912).
5:
JAMES ABERCROMBY, FIRST BARON DUNFERMLINE, PAPERS,
1840-1851.
20 items.
County Midlothian, Scotland.
Letters to James Loch, member of Parliament, including comments on political affairs in Britain and Ireland, with references to the Corn Laws, landlord-tenant relationships, the political activities of Robert Peel, Trinity v. Baliol, effects of universal suffrage in America, ecclesiastical affairs in Scotland, the Poor Laws, Lord Carlisle's health, Lord John Russell's Reform Bill, Daniel O'Connell, currency and banking regulations, the conditions of labor, the report of the Railroad Commission of the Board of Trade, and reminiscences of William Pitt.
6:
THOMAS E. ABERNATHY PAPERS,
1800-1857.
8 items.
Pulaski (Giles County), Tenn.
Miscellaneous bills, receipts, and business letters, including mention of cotton prices in Tennessee, 1847, and charges for dental treatment, 1853 and 1855.
7:
DANIEL ABERNETHY PAPERS,
1862-1865.
19 items.
[Dinwiddie County?] Va.
Letters of Daniel Abernethy, a Confederate soldier, to his wife and father, containing gossip and comments on desertion and scarcity of food, and references, in 1864, to the probability of overtures of peace to the North by North Carolina.
8:
M.A. ABERNETHY LEDGER,
1886-1903.
1 vol. (435 pp.)
Statesville (Iredell County), N.C.
General mercantile accounts.
9:
[ABERNETHY AND COMPANY?] LEDGER,
1866-1879.
1 vol. (183 pp.)
Newton (Catawba County), N.C.
Mercantile accounts.
10:
ABERNETHY LIBRARY OF AMERICAN LITERATURE PAPERS,
1836-1898.
63 items.
Typed copies of letters of Thomas Willis White, Paul Hamilton Hayne, Lafcadio Hearn, DuBose Heyward, Richard Malcolm Johnston, John Pendleton Kennedy, William Gilmore Simms, and Alice French (pseud. Octave Thanet). The originals are the property of the Abernethy Library of Middlebury College, Middlebury, Vermont. The White letters contain occasional references to Edgar Allan Poe [partially published: Arthur Hobson Quinn, Edgar Allan Poe: A Critical Biography (New York, 1941)]. The Hayne letters are addressed to Julia Caroline (Ripley) Dorr and contain comments on her poetry and on contemporary writers. Hearn's letters were written from Japan to his publishers. The letters of Simms and Alice French contain literary comment, but those of Heyward, Johnston, and Kennedy are largely notes of thanks or requests for addresses.
11:
W. ABNEY LEDGER,
1861-1863.
1 vol. (27 pp.)
Mercantile accounts.
12:
JAMES ABSTON DAYBOOK,
1823.
1 vol.
Waterloo Mills, Va.
Fragmentary mercantile accounts; only a few of the entries contain detailed statements.
13:
HENRY J. ACKER PAPERS,
1864.
3 items.
Wisconsin.
A printed pamphlet entitled
"Gulf Spy,"
which includes a fanciful story of spying on Confederate fortifications at Mobile, Alabama, and an essay about the presidential election of 1864; the manuscript from which the pamphlet was printed; and a photocopy from the National Archives of Acker's service record with the 23rd Wisconsin Infantry.
14:
SIR THOMAS DYKE ACLAND, ELEVENTH BARONET, PAPERS,
1859-1898.
61 items.
London, England.
Chiefly letters to Acland from his son, Sir Arthur Herbert Dyke Acland, 13th Baronet, discussing education, labor, agriculture, the cooperationists, and other political and governmental affairs. There are frequent references to the personal and political life of Acland's elder son, Sir Charles Thomas Dyke Acland, 12th Baronet. Several letters, 1869-1870, relate to Arthur Acland's student days at Christ Church College, Oxford.
15:
JAMES MAKITTRICK ADAIR PAPERS,
1797.
1 item.
England.
Letter to Richard and William Lee about Adair's financial affairs, the war, economic conditions, the government, and the public spirit in Scotland.
16:
SIR ROBERT ADAIR PAPERS,
1785-1830.
3 items.
London, England.
Letter, 1785, seeking information on William Pitt's legislative proposals for Irish commerce; and letters, 1830, seeking appointment to the embassy at Vienna and discussing Adair's embassy there in 1806-1808.
17:
WILLIAM H.P. ADAIR PAPERS,
1836-1858.
11 vols.
Greenville (Meriwether County), Ga.
Chiefly tavern accounts relating to the sale of liquor; also mercantile accounts, 1 vol., 1836, and the journal of a tailor shop, 1 vol., 1852.
18:
WILLIAM P. ADAIR PAPERS,
1860-1862.
5 items.
Barnesville (Lamar County), Ga.
Letters from Confederate Army camps in Barnesville, Georgia, and Cumberland Gap, Tennessee.
19:
ALFRED ADAMS PAPERS,
1862-1864.
5 items.
Sugar Grove (Watauga County), N.C.
Photocopies of Civil War letters from Adams' son, G.F. Adams, and B.C. McBride, both members of the 1st North Carolina Cavalry stationed near Richmond. Topics include McBride's recovery from a head wound in Winder Hospital, scouting on the Potomac, camp life, and the scarcity of food and clothing.
20:
CRAWFORD C. ADAMS PAPERS,
1867-1885.
15 items and 3 vols.
Washington, D.C.
Clippings relating to Adams' career as U.S. deputy marshal in Louisville, Kentucky, and in administrative and special agent positions with the Departments of the Interior and the Treasury, and as a member of various fraternal organizations. The cases he investigated included pension frauds, smuggling, and timber frauds in Calcasieu Parish, Louisiana. There are also poems; copies of letters describing a tour of Britain and Europe in 1875 and commenting on labor reform in England, politics in Virginia and Kentucky, the Ku Klux Klan, and anti-Catholic sentiment; and a volume of pen and ink drawings.
21:
HENRY L. ADAMS PAPERS,
1842.
6 items.
Wilmington (New Hanover County), N.C.
Affidavits concerning damage done to the brig Frothingham on a voyage from Wilmington to Martinique and the loss of the cargo of lumber and naval stores.
22:
HERBERT BAXTER ADAMS PAPERS,
(1891-1902) 1913.
52 items.
Baltimore, Md.
Photostatic copies of letters of Herbert B. Adams (1850-1901), historian and one of the organizers of the American Historical Association in 1884, consisting chiefly of communications from Stephen Beauregard Weeks and John Spencer Bassett concerning the organization of the History Department at Trinity College, Durham, North Carolina, the quarrel between Weeks and John Franklin Crowell, president of Trinity College, the Trinity College Historical Society, the advanced study of William Kenneth Boyd, and current political problems in North Carolina. Included also are a few letters from W.T. Laprade to Professor John Martin Vincent concerning a graduate thesis in history. The originals are in the Adams correspondence at Johns Hopkins University.
23:
JOHN P. ADAMS PAPERS,
1846, 1851.
2 items.
Baltimore, Md.
Letters concerning a Baltimore and Florida railroad and the export of coffee from Caracas, Venezuela.
24:
MARGARET CRAWFORD ADAMS PAPERS,
1901.
1 item.
Congaree (Richland County), S.C.
A letter from Charles Henry Simonton, formerly a captain of the Washington Artillery of Charleston, South Carolina, describing the firing of the first shot at Fort Sumter.
25:
OLIVER C. ADAMS PAPERS,
1839-1896.
22 items.
North Canton (Hartford County), Conn.
Miscellaneous letters including descriptions of settlement and crops in Perry County, Illinois, 1844; mining in Sierra County, California, 1856; tobacco planting in Connecticut, 1863; and several letters of Union soldiers describing camp life in Greenfield, Massachusetts, and Banks's campaign to open the Mississippi in 1863.
26:
SARAH (EVE) ADAMS DIARY,
1813-1814.
1 vol. (52 pp.)
Richmond County, Ga.
Relates to the Eve family and includes many references to Christ Presbyterian Church, Augusta, Georgia. Accompanied by an identification list of persons mentioned in the will of Oswell Eve, father of Sarah (Eve) Adams.
27:
STERLING ADAMS LEDGER,
1852-1871.
1 vol. (130 pp.)
Stokes County, N.C.
Merchant and planter.
28:
THOMAS ADAMS ACCOUNT BOOKS,
1768-1808.
2 vols.
Augusta County, Va.
Accounts, chiefly of tobacco to be sold for Virginia planters and goods to be purchased in London, of Thomas Adams, a member of the Virginia House of Burgesses and of the Continental Congress and a tobacco factor and merchant, showing prices, shipping charges, and a record of the sale of Adams's estate. One item among a number of commissions to be executed in London was for Thomas Jefferson.
29:
THOMAS ADAMS PAPERS,
1814-1818.
4 items.
Albemarle and Fluvanna Counties, Va.
Letters by members of the Adams family discussing personal and business matters; camp life, diseases, substitutions and discharges during the War of 1812; alleged crimes by Negroes; and the purchase of slaves.
30:
W.G. ADAMS ACCOUNT BOOK,
1851-1863.
1 vol.
[Virginia?]
A physician's record of services rendered and fees received.
31:
WADE HILL ADAMS PAPERS,
1901-1922.
6 items.
New York, N.Y.
Included is a letter, 1901, of John C Kilgo, president of Trinity College, discussing his legal affairs; and a letter of Mrs. Joseph E. Cockrell to her daughter, Mrs. Jane (Cockrell) Adams, commenting on the 19th general conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South; J.C. Kilgo's illness; and the selection of a new president for Southern Methodist University.
32:
WILLIAM ADAMS PAPERS,
1832-1887.
74 items.
Goochland County, Va.
Business papers, probably of a smallscale planter, including promissory notes, tax and other receipts, bills, and one letter from the commission firm of William R. Pugh of Richmond, Virginia, concerning tobacco prices.
33:
WILLIAM C. ADAMS DIARY,
1829-1830, 1857-1863.
1 vol. (360 pp.)
Albemarle County, Va.
The journal of a prosperous Virginia planter, describing wheat production, use of guano and plaster, osage orange trees, the sickness and death of his wife, and activities of his children, including the illness of Harriet Adams, evidently tuberculosis; the education of William Poultney Adams, his experiences in the Confederate Army, wedding, and activities in the slave patrol. There are many references to personal finances, slaves, travel by carriage, arrival and departure of packet boats, cases tried as justice of the peace, secession, rumors of military activities , and Methodist and other church services. There is a lengthy account of a trip with Harriet to a general conference of the Methodist Church at Nashville, Tennessee, and return through Chicago, Niagara, Albany, New York City, Philadelphia, Baltimore, and Washington, D.C. There are references to hiring of Adams' slaves and inventories of his property for taxation.
34:
ADAMS FAMILY PAPERS,
1785-1914.
9 items.
Quincy (Norfolk County), Mass.
Miscellaneous items associated with the family, including a letter of John Adams to John Jay reporting his reception at the Court of St. James; land grants and other papers signed by John Quincy Adams; and letters to Charles Francis Adams, Jr., signed by James Calloway, Thomas Leonard Livermore, and William Henry Schofield.
35:
ADAMS AND SMITH ACCOUNT BOOK,
1860-1862.
1 vol. (34 pp.)
Lexington (Davidson County), N.C.
Records purchases of cloth and sales of salt.
36:
CHARLES BOWYER ADDERLEY, FIRST BARON NORTON, PAPERS,
1876.
1 item.
London, England.
Letter from William Schaw Lindsay explaining a series of articles which culminated in publication of Manning the Royal Navy and Mercantile Marine (1877).
37:
JOHN ADGER PAPERS,
1839, 1852.
2 items.
Charleston, S.C.
Letters concerning renewals of subscriptions to the Presbyterian of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
38:
APPHIA C. ADKINS PAPERS,
1847-1849.
3 items.
Cumberland Court House (Cumberland County), Va.
Family correspondence.
39:
GEORGE HAWARD ADSHEAD PAPERS,
1880-1900.
13 items.
Pendleton, Lancashire, England.
Included are letters from William Gee describing censorship of the press in Russia; Frederick Armitage relating to his travels in Naples, Egypt, and Greece; Arthur Patchett Martin commenting on his writings; and Isabella Petrie-Mills concerning her biography of her husband, John Mills, From Tinder-Box to the "Larger" Light. There is also a manuscript by Richard Wright Procter,
"The Manchester Ophelia,"
that was published in his The Memorials of Bygone Manchester.
40:
ADVERTISING COLLECTION,
19th-20th Centuries.
4,500 items and 2 vols.
Printed booklets, leaflets, broadsides and trade cards relating to the promotion and sale of various products and services, chiefly in the United States. The United States section of this collection is arranged by subject; foreign material is arranged by countries.
41:
AFRICA PAPERS,
1781-1958.
16 items.
Several items relate to church affairs, including letters of Samuel A. Crowther describing Christian missions in southern Nigeria and the havoc caused by slave traders, 1852; John Wilson mentioning disorders in South Africa; Joseph Williams describing missionary work in southern Tanganylka, 1882; Zakaria Kizito Kisingiri describing his mother's funeral in Uganda, 1912; John William Colenso, Bishop of Natal, noting the uncertainty of his career, 1864; and T. Durant Philip on missionary work in Cape Colony, 1849. There is a picture of Paulus Moort, rector of Trinity Episcopal Church in Monrovia, Liberia. Other material includes a letter of N. Aboarius about a plot against the Mahdi of Sudan, 1885; the complaint of a minor official in Cairo against British inactivity in the Sudan, 1889, and two items pertaining to the visit of George V to Port Said, 1911. There is a small volume of economic statistics on the Cape Colony, 1781-1803, 38 pp.; a letter of Arthur D. Cushing describing looting during the Boer War, 1901; engravings of two maps showing the course of the Nile and Niger rivers, 1821; and the typescript of an article by Cyril Sofer on race in South Africa, 1958.
42:
JOHN AGG PAPERS,
1797-1846.
209 items and 1 vol.
Washington, D.C.
Papers of an English-born writer and Washington political reporter containing legal papers of family members; early romantic prose writings, a short play, and verse; a description of Washington, D.C., in fictional format, 1836; clippings of Agg's political satire from the Washington Republican, a fragment of his history of the United States Congress published in 1837; biographical data on political leaders; clippings from the United States Gazette, December, 1828-December, 1829, and January-March, 1841, containing Agg's day-by-day accounts of events in Congress and Washington; his reports on Congress for the New York Commercial Advertiser, and a portrait of Alexander Hamilton, ca. 1797, by an Irish artist.
43:
FRANCES (WALKER) YATES AGLIONBY PAPERS,
1821-1933.
1,013 items.
Charles Town (Jefferson County), W. Va.
Family letters kept by Frances Aglionby until 1902 and thereafter by her daughter Jeannette. Included is a genealogy of the Aglionby and Yates family. Early letters describe travel and various localities in Virginia and West Virginia; the Virginia Female Institute at Staunton, crops, slaves, neighbors and relatives. Family letters between England and America after 1854 emphasize crops, dogs, cattle, poultry, politics, Charles Yates's inheritance and his adoption of the Aglionby name, London society and manners, the court of Napoleon III, Virginia politics, travels in England and Ireland, English country life, British and European politics, English opinion on slavery and abolition, Civil War hardships, aid for Confederate prisoners, the effect of the war on English cotton mill workers, imprisonment of Charles Yates Aglionby and John Yates Beall and the execution of the latter, hard ships during Reconstruction, and the importation of Irish labor. The letters from 1867 to 1933 of Frank K. Yates Aglionby, eldest son of Charles and Frances, start with his transatlantic voyage and describe English manners, customs, and politics; life at Oxford University and as a clergyman in the Church of England; the Oxford Movement in the church; travels in England, Ireland, and Europe with frequent mention of the condition of the poor; English missionary work in Africa; news coverage of the Franco-Prussian War; revivals and evangelism; friendship with William Cabell Rives III; the Alabama claims English opinion of American politics; British Imperialism; and transatlantic steamship travel. Letters of Jeanette Aglionby describe travel to Philadelphia and Mount Desert, Maine, in 1881 and to London and Europe in 1890, including comments on English choirs and sermons. There are also clippings dealing with Church of England procedures and family events, and pictures of family members.
44:
WILLIAM G. AGNEW AND J.S. AGNEW PAPERS,
1861-1864.
62 items.
Alpine (Chattooga County), Ga.
Letters of two Confederate soldiers, probably brothers, to their relatives in Georgia. Letters of William Agnew, who served in the first battle of Bull Run and in the Peninsula campaign, deal with military affairs, sickness, camp conditions, rumors, former neighbors in the army, and requests for food and clothing. J.S. Agnew's letters, written from Chickamauga, Tennessee, and Camp Foster, Georgia, are concerned with personal and military matters.
45:
EGLANTINE AGOURS PAPERS,
1856-1889.
22 items.
Stanton (Haywood County), Tenn.
Letters written to Eglantine Agours (or Agurs) by her relatives in Tennessee, Texas, and South Carolina, containing chiefly family news, but with some reference to secession, civilian and military life in the South, conscription, the battle of Shiloh, the 12th Regiment of Tennessee Volunteers, and Reconstruction in South Carolina.
46:
OSCAR AICHEL PAPERS,
1861-1863.
6 items.
Charleston, S.C.
Wartime letters written in German script. Aichel apparently was a grocer.
47:
HENRY HINCHLIFF AINLEY PAPERS,
[1904?].
1 item.
London, England.
Letter from Robert South, dramatist, to Ainley, British actor-manager, regarding a work by South.
48:
ALABAMA. DALLAS COUNTY. CHANCERY COURT DOCKET,
1856-1863.
1 vol.
Selma (Dallas County), Ala.
ALABAMA. DALLAS COUNTY. CHANCERY COURT DOCKET
49:
JAMES LUSK ALCORN PAPERS,
1871.
1 item.
Coahoma County, Miss.
Letter ordering volumes from a bookseller.
50:
WILLIAM ALDERMAN PAPERS,
1853-1864.
5 items.
Cumberland County, N.C.
Three legal documents relating to the purchase of slaves; receipt for taxes paid the Confederate States Tax Office; letter from William Vink of Ellicott City, Maryland, describing his plans for the manufacture of paper from palmetto wood.
51:
ADAM LEOPOLD ALEXANDER PAPERS,
1785 (1803-1889) 1909.
361 items.
Washington (Wilkes County), Ga.
Family correspondence of Adam Leopold Alexander (1803-1882), planter and businessman with interests in banking, railroads, and mercantile firms. Included are letters from Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut; the University of Virginia, Charlottesville; schools of Washington, Georgia; New England secondary schools, 1830-1840, 1850; letters concerning Civil War and Reconstruction; and miscellaneous deeds and other papers.
52:
BETTIE ALEXANDER PAPERS,
1860-1863.
9 items.
Monroe County, W. Va.
Personal letters from Bettie Alexander, apparently a schoolgirl, to her sister in Fincastle, Virginia. Frequent mention is made of sick, wounded, or killed Confederate soldiers, runaway Negroes, and Federal troops.
53:
EDWARD PORTER ALEXANDER PAPERS,
1863-1905.
4 items.
Georgetown (Georgetown County), S.C.
Letter inquiring about Confederate losses in Virginia; list of the artillery of the Army of Northern Virginia; letter declining to attend a reunion of Confederate veterans, 1905.
54:
ETHEL ALEXANDER PAPERS,
1962.
2 items.
New York, N.Y.
Letter from Alexander T. Case discussing the production of his play,
"A Soldier and Mr. Lincoln,"
and enclosing a copy of an unused prologue.
55:
HENRY M. ALEXANDER SCRAPBOOK,
1857-1860.
1 vol. (180 pp.)
New York, N.Y.
List of bondholders, correspondence, reports of earnings, clippings, notes, and other documents concerning the financial affairs of the Steubenville and Indiana Rail Road.
56:
JAMES H. ALEXANDER DIARY,
1862.
1 vol. (51 pp.)
Centreville (Fairfax County), Va.
Diary kept while James H. Alexander was in a Confederate camp near Centreville. It contains intimate details of life in the Confederate Army, including a description of the company dispute with Colonel William Nelson Pendleton about building a church and attending services, and references to Northern newspapers.
57:
MILLER ALEXANDER PAPERS,
1850-1900.
211 items.
Saint Louis, Mo.; Miss. and Ky.
Letters of 1850-1860 are to Reuben Alexander of Marrow Bone, Cumber County, Kentucky, and are largely from H. Craft, land agent, relating to land sales in Mississippi. Letters after 1864 are personal and family correspondence of Miller Alexander, a tobacco buyer and general merchant, who may have been the son of Reuben. The letters concern tobacco culture and marketing in Kentucky and Missouri, and also mention the state of education in Missouri; religious conditions, frequently using Biblical language even in discussing commercial affairs; travels in Arkansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Idaho, Mississippi, Texas, Ohio, Utah, and Washington Territory, with reference to the economy and religion. There are frequent references to national politics and political leaders and to race relations.
58:
ROBERT P. ALEXANDER NOTES,
1856-1857.
1 vol.
Charlottesville (Albemarle County), Va.
Robert P. Alexander's notes on physiology and surgery taken from lectures delivered by Dr. James Lawrence Cabell at the University of Virginia.
59:
S. CALDWELL ALEXANDER PAPERS,
1850.
1 vol.
North Carolina.
Essays, generally short expositions of traditional theological and philosophical positions, written by Alexander as a student at the Columbia Theological Seminary, a Presbyterian institution in Columbia, South Carolina.
60:
ALEXANDER AND O'NEILL PAPERS,
1867.
21 items and 1 vol.
Charleston, S.C.
Alexander and O'Neill was a firm dealing in wholesale and retail hay, grain, etc., in Charleston. The owners were H.F. Alexander and J.J.A. O'Neill. The ledger contains accounts for April to August, 1867. It was later used as a scrapbook for recipes. There is also a business card of Alexander and O'Neill and a number of handwritten recipes.
61:
ALEXANDER FAMILY PAPERS,
1778-1810.
7 items.
Burke and Lincoln Counties, N.C.
Land deeds.
62:
ALEXANDER FAMILY PAPERS,
1795-1870.
36 items.
Campbell County, Va.
Mostly legal documents signed by Robert, John, John D., and William K. Alexander as clerks of the Campbell County, Virginia, Superior Court. Subjects include land claims, deeds, the settlement of estates, and other legal affairs, and bills and receipts for court costs.
63:
GEORGE BENTON ALFORD PAPERS,
1847-1925.
24 items.
Holly Springs (Wake County), N.C.
Business and personal letters, bills and receipts of the president of the Holly Springs Land and Improvement Company; papers about North Carolina Baptist ministers; ordination certificate, 1847, for the Rev. Johnson Olive, probably the father-in-law of George Benton Alford; and his certificate of membership, 1884, in the North Carolina Baptist Ministers' Life Assn. There is also material on Alford's son, Green Haywood Alford.
64:
WILLIAM ROUNSEVILLE ALGER PAPERS,
1847.
1 item.
Boston, Mass.
Note by Alger, clergyman and author, to a Mr. Winsor.
65:
JEAN-ADOLPHE ALHAIZA PAPERS,
1870-1916.
287 items.
Paris, France.
Papers of a French socialist editor, author, and associate of Charles Fourier. Included is the manuscript, 1150 pp., of Dictionnaire de Sociolocie Phalansterienne: Gulde des Oeuvres Completes de Charles Fourier, by Edouard Silberling (Paris: 1911). There is also a biographical and bibliographical file of French and foreign socialists, which serves as a partial author index for the periodicals La Phalange and La Reforme Industrielle. Among the more important French associationists listed are Victor Prosper Considerant, Alexandre-François Baudet-Dulary, Cesar Daly, François Marie Charles Fourier, Mme. Gatti de Gammond, Marc-Amedee Gramier, Victor-Antoine Hennequin, Just Muiron, Charles Pellarin, Hippolyte Renaud, Mme. Clarisse Vigoureux, and Edouard Silberlinq. The Germans, F.L. Goertner and C.F. Grieb, are noted as involved in an associative colony : Texas in the 1830's. Great Britain is represented by Hughes Doherty. Americans include Albert Brisbane, Horace Greeley, and Parke Godwin.
66:
C. TACITUS ALLEN MEMOIRS,
1893-1919.
1 vol. (169 pp.)
Lunenburg County, Va.
Reminiscences of Allen's Civil War experiences, first in the 20th Regiment, Virginia Volunteers, including an account of the battle of Rich Mountain; the subsequent retreat; disbandment of Allen's unit and organization of Co. F. 2nd Regiment, Virginia Artillery; defense of Richmond; loss of Fort Harrison and battle of Sayler's Creek; and Allen's capture and imprisonment in the Old Capitol Prison in Washington and later on Johnson's Island, Lake Erie. Included is a roster of the officers and men serving in Allen's company and a 1893 Memorial Day address on
"The Confederate Soldier in History."
Glued inside the back cover is a 1919 poem on the United Daughters of the Confederacy.
67:
CHARLES HARRIS ALLEN PAPERS,
1893-1902.
7 items.
London, England.
Six letters, 1893-1902, from Lord Cromer review the work of the Home for Freed Women Slaves in Cairo, Egypt, the progress of the campaign against slavery in the Sudan, and Allen's career as secretary of the British and Foreigh Anti-Slavery Society. One letter from Lord Curzon, 1897, criticizes statements by Allen and Joseph A. Pease concerning the government's policy about slavery on Zanzibar.
68:
DAVID B. ALLEN PAPERS,
1844-1847.
2 items.
Oxford (Granville County), N.C.
A legal paper concerns a court judgment against Allen and others, 1844, and a letter concerns legal and financial affairs, 1847.
69:
DWIGHT ALLEN PAPERS,
1863.
2 items.
Geneva (Walworth County), Wis.
Letters of a Union soldier discussing camp life, discipline, casualties, Confederate and Union generals, and statements by Confederate deserters concerning demoralization in the Army of Tennessee.
70:
ETHAN ALPHONSO ALLEN LETTER BOOK,
1818-1835.
1 vol.
Norfolk, Va.
Copies of letters of Ethan A. Allen (1789-1855), son of Ethan Allen of Revolutionary War fame, graduate of the U.S. Military Academy, West Point, New York, and captain in the U.S. Army. Generally routine in nature, the letters are largely concerned with recruiting service for the 2nd Battalion of Artillery in Virginia and Maryland, reports to auditors and other officials of the U.S. Treasury Department, and efforts to obtain his portion of military bounty land due his father. Included also are copies of letters received by Allen; a description of the fort at Craney Island, Norfolk County, Virginia, in 1820; a letter to President James Monroe protesting the omission of his name from the rolls of the U.S. Army; a draft of Allen's will; and business correspondence with the firm of Aldis and Davis.
71:
JAMES ALLEN DAYBOOKS,
1838-1843.
4 vols.
Grafton County, N.H.
Record of sales of general merchandice.
72:
JAMES LANE ALLEN PAPERS,
1889-1911.
56 items.
Cincinnati, Ohio.
Ten letters and a telegram from Allen to Joseph Marshall Stoddard, editor of Lippincott's Magazine, concerning Allen's Kentucky writings and their publication; a letter from Allen to Charles Burr Todd regarding a proposed Society of American Authors; clippings concerning Allen, printed copies of some of his writings, and articles on the country about which he wrote; and letters, chiefly 1888-1889, to Richard Watson Gilder and Robert Underwood Johnson, editors of The Century, about Allen's writings for that magazine. Topics include Allen's plans to collect his articles in book form, 1888; an outline for a historical novel of Kentucky life, 1889; plans for lectures on the literature of the New South, 1890; and the effect on Allen's work of his poor eyesight, caused by typhoid fever, 1889.
73:
JAMES WALKINSHAW ALLEN NOTEBOOK,
1848-1864.
1 vol.
Mount Prospect (Bedford County), Va.
Notebook of James W. Allen (d. 1862), a student at Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, and later colonel in the 2nd Virginia Infantry, C.S.A., containing collections of poems and quotations. Included also is a comment on the life and death of J.W. Allen, signed by J.N. Allen.
74:
JOHN ALLEN PAPERS,
1814-1881.
24 items.
Fincastle (Botetourt County), Va.
Business and personal correspondence, including letters from Chapman Johnson and Richard L.T. Beale concerning land purchases and the settlement of a court case. One letter from Polly Allen Caldwell describes winter in New Orleans, 1837, and Revolutionary War pension claims. A letter of 1845 provides a description of Memphis, Tennessee.
75:
JOHN ALLEN PAPERS,
1853-1884.
1 vol.
Hunsucker's Store (Montgomery County), N.C.
Account book, 1853-1884, including copies of letters by Allen, early 1880s, and miscellaneous notes, among them militia records, 1860-1861.
76:
JOHN ALLEN PAPERS,
1864 (1870-1879) 1885.
39 items.
Franklin County, N.C.
Personal and business letters of John Allen, Confederate soldier, teacher, and civil engineer. The collection relates chiefly to the Civil War, teaching, college life, and financial difficulties during Reconstruction. Included also are a report card of James Parker, of the Oxford (N.C.) High School, giving a description of the courses offered; and four letters from relatives and friends in Texas and Missouri.
77:
OSCAR H. ALLEN PAPERS,
1898-1899.
3 items.
Nebraska.
Letters from Allen in Army camps at Jacksonville, Florida, and Havana, Cuba, to Florence Lytle of Jacksonville, commenting on life in the 3rd Nebraska Infantry and on the death of a friend, Jonas H. Lien, 1st South Dakota Infantry, killed in the Philippines.
78:
R. ALFRED ALLEN PAPERS,
1864-1866.
1 vol.
New London (Huron County), Ohio.
Diary of Allen's service as hospital steward with the 22nd New York Cavalry, 1864-1865, with brief entries describing the battle of the Wilderness, Jubal Early's Valley campaign, and the siege of Petersburg; personal financial accounts; and weekly reports on the regimental sick. There is also reference to Allen's postwar return to Ohio.
79:
RICHARD ALLEN DAYBOOK AND ACCOUNT BOOK,
1839-1874.
2 vols.
Keysville (Charlotte County), Va.
Records of a small country merchant.
80:
W.A. ALLEN LEDGERS,
1872-1879.
2 vols.
Opossum Trot (Anson County), N.C.
Records of sales of general merchandise.
81:
WELD NOBLE ALLEN PAPERS,
1852-1873.
25 items.
Maine.
Documents relating to Allen's naval career, including his appointment to Annapolis, orders to him as commander of the sloop of war Oneida in the West Indies, 1863, and with the Western Gulf Blockading Squadron in command of the Oneida and later the gunboat New London, 1863-1864, Allen's report of the capture of the schooner Raton del Nilo; orders to serve on naval general courts-martial on the Portsmouth, 1863, in Boston, 1869, and in New York, 1872; and an account of Allen's command of a shore detachment in the attack on Fort Fisher at the mouth of the Cape Fear River, North Carolina, during which he was wounded, December, 1864-January, 1865.
82:
WILLIAM C. ALLEN PAPERS,
1857-1866.
7 items.
Haywood County, Tenn.
Included is Allen's will dividing his eight slaves between his wife and nephew. Most of the other items refer to John Allen of Edgefield District, South Carolina, revealing his exemption from conscription because of physical disability in 1863; wartime scarcity; and high prices. A letter, 1866, of H. Allen, a sharecropper tenant in Holly Springs, Mississippi, deals with his family's losses during a typhoid epidemic in the preceding year.
83:
ALLEN-ANGIER FAMILY PAPERS,
1843-1971.
1,749 items and 8 vols.
Durham, N.C., and Washington, D.C.
Papers kept by Zalene Allen Angler include correspondence, 1936-1969, largely letters from her brother George Venable Allen (1903-1970), diplomat, official of the Tobacco Institute, and trustee of Duke University. Allen's letters describe his diplomatic career and personal matters, including foreign relations and social life in Greece, Egypt, and Iran in the 1930s and 1940s; the royal family of Iran; the Potsdam Conference; and customs of Saudi Arabia. Letters of the 1950s mention celebrities Allen met, such as Yehudi Menuhin and Aristotle Onassis; and relations of the U.S. with India and of Russia with Yugo slavia. Letters of Allen's wife Katherine Martin Allen reflect diplomatic social life. Clippings relate to Allen's career as diplomat and as director of the United States Infor mation Agency, to his family, and to his death. Miscellaneous papers include invi tations; White House dinner menus; press releases; a report, February 9, 1932, on Japanese-Chinese relations; articles by Allen; and other printed materials. There are photographs of Allen and many acquaintances, including Marshall Tito, Mohammed Reza Pahlavi, Jawaharlal Nehru, Amjad All, Abba Eban, Wellington Koo, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John Foster Dulles, and William Fulbright. Papers, 1945-1970, kept by George and Katherine Allen include letters from Eisenhower and Dulles about Allen's shift from the State Department to the USIA; a report on the political situation in Iran, January 21, 1948; correspondence on Egyptian-U.S. relations in the 1950s and the Henry A. Byroade scandal, the Cold War, the cigarette smoking and health controversy, and on Allen's speeches. Enclosed with a letter from Allen of May 10, 1970, is a petition against slavery by the Baptist Church of Augusta, Maine, dated August 17, 1843. There are files of speeches and related correspondence on Russia, propaganda, the space race, foreign policy, peace, the tobacco industry, India, Iran, UNESCO, and other topics. There is material on the Dulles and Eisenhower oral history projects and on various honors and awards received by Allen. Two scrapbooks contain clippings about Allen's career and family photographs. There is also a photocopy of his book-length manuscript reminiscence of experiences as Ambassador to Iran in the 1940s and 1950s; a letter from Josephus Daniels, 1940, commenting on Allen's review of Daniels' book, Tar Heel Editor; and a tape recording of Allen's address, 1967, to the Tobaccoland Kiwanis Club on the United States in the world.
84:
SAMUEL AUSTIN ALLIBONE PAPERS,
1856.
1 item.
Philadelphia, Pa.
Letter from Allibone, lexicographer and librarian, to an unidentified manuscript dealer concerning the purchase of a manuscript Bible, Biblia Latina.
85:
ELIZABETH BEATTY (JOHNSTON) ALLISON PAPERS,
1866-1969.
16 items.
Turnersburg (Iredell County), N.C.
Letters written by Harriet N. (Espey) Vance, wife of Zebulon Baird Vance, and others of her family to Mrs. Allison. The correspondence deals with family and personal affairs and has little information about Vance's public life. A letter by Marianna Long, Vance's great granddaughter, identifies members of her family and comments on the disposition of other papers left at the Vance estate.
86:
MARTIN O. ALLISON AND JOHN ALLISON PAPERS,
1777-1846.
8 items.
Chenango County, N.Y.
Letters from Francis Armstrong, Florida, New York L?]; John Barbour, Wilkes, Ohio; David and Ann Armstrong, Milton, New York [?]; and others concerning such topics as securing a minister for Florida, crops, hard times, Locofocos, migration to Texas, price of wheat in New York State, and other matters.
87:
WILLIAM H. ALLISON PAPERS,
1851-1860.
8 items.
Richmond, Va.
Chiefly letters to William H. Allison from his mother, written while he was a student at Richmond.
88:
JOSEPH ALLRED PAPERS,
1819-1864.
37 items.
Randolph County, N.C.
Business and personal correspondence of Joseph Allred; land deed of Mahlon Allred; list of subscribers for building a church at New Union [?].
89:
BENJAMIN ALLSTON PAPERS,
1856-1878.
13 items.
Charleston, S.C.
Military and personal correspondence of Benjamin Allston (1833-1900), Confederate officer and Protestant Episcopal minister, and some executive correspondence of Robert Francis Withers Allston (1801-1864), including three letters relative to an engineering project in progress on the Savannah River in 1858. Included also are several letters to "Ben" Allston from another minister, W.B.W. Howe, all mentioning the desirability of reserving a portion of church auditoriums for Negro worshipers, and personal letters from feminine correspondents.
90:
PHILLIP ALLWOOD COMMONPLACE AND LETTER BOOK,
1793-1804.
1 vol. (504 pp.)
Wandsworth, Surrey, England.
Records of many literary and scientific matters investigated by Allwood, an English clergyman educated at Cambridge University. Several letters related to the review in the British Critic of his Literary Antiquities of Greece (London: 1799).
91:
LEONARD ALMAN PAPERS,
1862-1864.
18 items.
North Carolina.
Letters to Alman's wife, Caroline, written by Alman's comrades, chiefly Dan. P. Boger, describing experiences with the 7th North Carolina Volunteers and imprisonment, probably at Camp Lookout, Maryland. There are accounts of several battles in Virginia, including a skirmish at Orange Court House, 1862.
92:
JOHN ALMON PAPERS,
1769 (1771-1772).
48 items.
London, England.
Almon (1735-1805) was a bookseller and political pamphleteer. The collection includes letters from John Calaraft (1726-1772) and drafts of notes for Almon's replies. The principal topics include the politics of the Ring's ministers and their opposition, and the politics of contending factions in the city of London. Frequently mentioned are Almon's trial, 1770, for publishing Junius'
"Letter to the King;"
the Portsmouth fire, 1771; revenues in Ireland and England; the health of the Princess of Wales; continental diplomacy and military affairs, especially as regards the fates of Poland and Turkey and the prospects of war; the stock market decline; and Spanish activity in the West Indies. Persons mentioned prominently include John Burgoyne, Edmund Burke, Lord Chatham, Jeremiah Dyson, the Duke of Grafton, John Home, Henry Luttrell, Lord Mansfield, William Nash, Lord North, Lord Rockingham, John Sawhridge, Lord Shelburne, Lord Temple, Lord Townshend, and John Wilkes.
93:
A.D. ALMOND PAPERS,
1865-1866.
5 items.
Charlottesville (Albemarle County), Va.
Merchants' bills to A.D. Almond and A.T. Almond.
94:
J.W. ALSTON PAPERS,
1918.
1 item.
France.
Army orders.
95:
WILLIAM ALSTON PAPERS,
1861-1885.
3 items.
Henderson (Vance County) N.C.
One letter describing a Civil War camp, and two accounts from William Alston's store.
96:
ALUMINUM COMPANY OF CANADA, LIMITED, PAPERS,
1915-1968.
4 items and 3 vols.
Montreal, Canada.
Four published brochures and two albums of photographs with a forward and summary of company history by T.L. Brock. The albums concern James Buchanan Duke's visits to the Saguenay region of Canada, 1915, and to Quebec, 1925. The collection concerns Duke's role in the development of the hydroelectric resources of the Lake St. John and Saguenay River system of central Quebec, his formation of the Quebec Development Company, and agree ment with Arthur Vining Davis to form the Aluminum Company of Canada, Ltd.
97:
JOHN AMBLER PAPERS,
1788-1864.
26 items.
Richmond, Va.
Personal and business correspondence of Ambler (1762-1836), a planter. Two letters from William Tucker of Amherst County, Virginia, concern agriculture; one from Robert Ambler to Beverly Ambler relates to army life during the Civil War; and one from Chapman Johnson to Ambler concerns the Norton estate, to which Mrs. Ambler was one of the heirs. There are also business and other personal items including the draft of a play and an essay on the importance of study.
98:
PHILIP ST. GEORGE AMBLER PAPERS,
1856-1879.
6 items.
Washington (Rappahannock County), Va.
Correspondents include Conway Robinson, Robert C. Stanard, and John Ambler.
99:
AMBLER-BROWN FAMILY PAPERS,
1780-1865.
4 items.
Charles Town (Jefferson County), W. Va.; Fauquier County, Va.
Typescripts of documents largely relating to the genealogy of several related families of Westmoreland and Fauquier counties, Virginia, and Jefferson County, West Virginia; the early history of Richmond, Williamsburg, Yorktown, and Alexandria, Virginia and Washington, D.C.; and sidelights on outstanding figures of the Revolution and the early Republic. The diary of Lucy Johnson Ambler of Fauquier County, 1862-1863, 17 pp., comments on major Civil War battles, civilian morale and hardships, and depredations by Union troops. Copies of family letters, 1780-1823, largely between Betsy (Ambler) Garrington, Ann (Ambler) Fisher, Mildred (Smith) Dudley, and Frances Cairnes, refer to Virginia events and the history of the Ambler, Jacquelin, Marshall, Burwell, and Washington families; social life and religion of the Revolutionary War era; hardships caused by British military activities in the Virginia Tidewater, the impact of French troops on social life, the parentage of Lewis Warrington, the Mount Vernon household of George and Martha Washington, and the early city of Washington. There are also several memoirs of the marriage of John Marshall and Mary Willis (Ambler) Marshall. A memoir of Governor Thomas Brown of Florida, "Account of the Lineage of the Brown Family," 1865, 170 pp., beginning with the emigration from England of Edwin (or Edward) Brown in 1608, describes the social life, customs, and politics of Virginia up to the Civil War. There are references to the Templemen, Washington, Collins and related families, tobacco planting, the Revolutionary War, the invention of post office boxes, education, gambling, economic effects of the War of 1812, Virginia militia during that war, transat lantic travel in 1820, and settlement in Jefferson, Westmoreland, Berkeley, and Fauquier counties, Charles Town and Harpers Ferry. A photocopy of a letter by Elizabeth (Brown) Douglas of Key West, Florida, ca. 1850, describes the captured slave ship Mohawk and conditions on board.
100:
AMERICAN COLONIZATION SOCIETY PAPERS,
1851.
2 items.
Jefferson County, Miss.
Power of attorney from John S. Chambliss to Captain David Bone of Natchez relating to his claim for services rendered the society; and supporting affidavit of J.E. Calhoun of Claiborne County.
101:
AMERICAN FEDERATION OF HOSIERY WORKERS PAPERS,
1941.
2 vols.
Philadelphia, Pa.
Mimeographed briefs pertaining to wages. One was prepared by the American Federation of Hosiery Workers (Independent) and presented to the Hosiery Industry Committee under the provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act. The other brief was presented to the Seamless Hosiery Industry Committee by the National Association of Hosiery Manufacturers, Inc.
102:
AMERICAN LITERATURE PAPERS,
1927-1966.
3,494 items.
Durham, N.C.
Records of American Literature, a quarterly journal of literary history, criticism, and bibliography published since 1929 by Duke University Press with the cooperation of the American Literature Group of the Modern Language Association. Included are minutes of the group, 1931-1937, 1941, 1944; reports of standing committees, 1941-1942, 1945-1947, 1950; reports of literary meetings of the group, 1930-1941; the charter for American Literature; annual reports of the journal, 1929-1930, 1933, 1935-1947; correspondence, 1926-1954, of chairmen of the editorial board Jay Broadus Hubbell, Clarence Gohdes, and Arlin Turner chiefly with editors, advisers, and reviewers. Topics include organization, planning, and operation of the journal; editorial policies; nomination of editors and members of the advisory editorial board; subscriptions; reviews and reviewers; other editorial matters; program planning for annual meetings of the group; special project plans; bibliographies; committee reports. The major portion of the collection consists of correspondence with Roy Prentice Baster, 1931-1953, 42 items; Walter Blair, 1929-1966, 94 items; Edward Scullery Bradley, 1926-1965, 243 items; William Braswell, 1929-1966, 61 items; William B. Cairnes, 1928-1932, 99 items; Killis Campbell, 1927-1936, 109 items Oscar Cargill, 1933-1964, 36 items; Harry Hayden Clark, 1927-1957, 140 items; Oral Sumner Coad, 1929-1954, 41 items; Harold Milton Ellis, 1928-1943, 45 items; Norman Foerster, 1927-1953, 118 items; James David Hart, 1942-1954, 38 items; Emory Holloway, 1930-1952, 73 items; Howard Mumford Jones, 1928-1954, 108 items; Ernest Erwin Leisy, 1927-1955, 184 items; Thomas Ollive Mabbott 1928-1964, 146 items; Tremaine McDowell, 1928-1955, 100 items; Kenneth Ballard Murdock, 1927-1956, 279 items; Gregory Lansing Paine, 1928-1950, 150 items; Fred Lewis Pattee, 1928-1948, 102 items; Henry August Pochmann, 1929-1954, 62 items; Ralph Leslie Rusk, 232 items; Robert Ernest Spiller, 1927-1952, 302 items; Arlin Turner, 1935-1951, 26 items; Warren Austin, 1930-1951, 73 items; and Stanley Thomas Williams, 1927-1954, 252 items.
103:
AMERICAN WRITERS PAPERS,
1814-1969.
167 items and 1 vol.
Miscellaneous letters of American authors, editors, and other literary figures, primarily relating to literary topics. There are also a few drafts, poems, and other manuscripts, and clippings. Writers include Charles Francis Adams, Jr., W. Hervey Allen, Jr., J.D. Anders, Susan B. Anthony, Irving Addison Bacheller, J.H.A. Bone, Mary Louise Booth, Arthur Brisbane, S.P. Brockwell, William Crary Brownell, William Cullen Bryant, Frances (Hodgson) Burnett, H. Witter Bynner, Henry Colburn, F. Marion Crawford, John Ross Dix, Mortimer Drummond, Augustine Joseph Hickey Duganne, James Thomas Fields, Francis Fontaine, Mary Wilkins Freeman, Hamlin Garland, Caroline Gilman, Edward Everett Hale, James Hale, John Judson Hamilton, William Harden, Robert Lewis Harrison, Gerhart Hauptman, Julian Hawthorne, George W. Humphreys, Alexander Johnston, Mary Johnston, George Kennan, B.A. Konkle, H.E. Krehbiel, William John Lawrence, Henry Charles Lea, Anna Leonowens, Henry Cabot Lodge, Samuel Longfellow, Abbott Lawrence Lowell, Hamilton Wright Mabie, Mary McCarthy, William McFee, John Bach McMaster, Robert Whitehead McNeely, Margaret (Mitchell) Marsh, James Brander Matthews, Henry Louis Mencken, Richard Kendall Munkittrick, Charles E. Norton, Fitz-James O'Brien, John Williamson Palmer, Bliss Perry, William Lyon Phelps, Parker Pillsbury, Josiah Quincy, Allen Raymond, Louis Rhead, Dominique Rouquette, Charles Monroe Sheldon, Robert E. Sherwood, William Lukens Shoemaker, Katherine Drayton Mayrant Simons, Francis Hopkinson Smith, Arthur Stedman, George Sumner, John Reuben Thompson, Frederick Tuckerman, Henry T. Tuckerman, Louis Untermeyer, Gertrude de Vingut, Carolyn Wells, John H. White, Ella (Wheeler) Wilcox, and others. The anonymous manuscript volume, unbound, discusses various versions and editions of Shakespeare's Hamlet, as well as editors, critics, and plagiarists.
104:
ELECTA E. (RAY) AMES AND FORDYCE W. AMES PAPERS,
1849-1931.
246 items.
DeRuyter (Madison County), N.Y.
Largely letters from the Ames's son, Frank, and from Electa Ames's sister, Jane C. (Ray) Warren, and Jane's husband, Jared W. Warren. The Warrens, of Rutherford County, Tennessee, discuss schools and teaching there, and in one letter of August 27, 1863, describe the treatment of slaves, Civil War conditions in Tennessee, and a battle which took place on or near their property. Two letters are from Electa Ames's brother, J. M. Ray, a Union soldier.
105:
FISHER AMES PAPERS,
1790, 1801.
2 items.
Dedham (Norfolk County), Mass.
A letter, 1790, from Federalist leader Ames to U.S. Judge John Lowell of Massachusetts concerns legislation to prevent frauds in the payment of North Carolina veterans of the Revolutionary War, and reviews the character of John Jay. A letter, 1801, to Benjamin Bourne evaluates an unidentified applicant for an editorial position with a Federalist paper.
106:
JAMES TYLER AMES PAPERS,
1865.
2 items.
Chicopee (Hampden County), Mass.
Letters, November 2 and 18, 1865, from W.M. Mitchell in Milledgeville and in Dougherty County, Georgia, seeking to interest Ames, a munitions manufacturer, in investments in cotton plantation land.
107:
JESSIE (DANIEL) AMES PAPERS,
1902-1946.
1 item.
Tryon (Polk County), N.C.
Photocopy of a history, or possibly preparatory notes for a work on the founding of the Woman's Division of the Commission on Interracial Cooperation in 1920 and a brief summary of its activities up to 1940. Included is a narrative, minutes, speeches, and reports. Jessie Ames, general field secretary of the commission, added marginal comments in 1946.
108:
JACOB AMICK AND [JOHN AMICK?] PAPERS,
1813-1873.
2 vols.
Randolph County, N.C.
A tenor book and account book, 1813-1854, 73 pp., contains rules of harmony, notes for sacrea songs, and a few farming accounts; accompanied by a ledger, 1854-1867, 66 pp.
109:
AMNESTY OATHS OF EX-CONFEDERATES,
1862-1867.
18 items.
AMNESTY OATHS OF EX-CONFEDERATES
110:
RICHARD AMOS PAPERS,
1850 (1858-1869) 1893.
108 items.
Ayresville (Stokes County), N.C.
Family letters, most of which were written before the Civil War from Shelby County, Indiana, where one of the Amos brothers had settled.
111:
KARL JOACHIM ANDERSEN PAPERS,
1882-1899.
46 items.
Copenhagen, Denmark.
Letters, in the English, French, and German languages, from conductors and musicians in Western Europe, Russia, and America, to Andersen, a Danish flautist. Correspondents include Paul Taffanel, 1883-1895, 11 items; G. Dumon, 1888, 2 items; Johann Heinrich Wilhelm Barge, 1882-1888, 8 items; W. Bukovsky, 1894, 1 item, Albert Fransella, 1890-1896, 3 items; Moritz Furstenau, 1883-1888, 4 items; R. Kukula, 1887-1890, 6 items Oskar Kohler, 1889, 2 items; Wilhelm Popp, 1887, 1 item; Robert E. Steel, 1899, 1 item; Richard Unger, 1891, 1 item, Theodor Winkler, 1883-1896, 3 items; F. Waterstraat, 1882-1888, 3 items.
112:
ADEN ANDERSON PAPERS,
1842-1854.
5 items.
Frederick County, Md.
Land deeds.
113:
ALBERT ANDERSON PAPERS,
1909.
6 items.
Raleigh (Wake County), N.C.
Business letters to James M. Templeton, Jr.
114:
CHARLES M. ANDERSON PAPERS,
1852-1893.
1 item and 1 vol.
Mount Solon (Augusta County), Va.
A tailor's account book, probably kept by Anderson, with entries to 1873 (largely 1852-1858); also a receipt, 1893.
115:
EDWARD C. ANDERSON PAPERS,
1861-1863.
7 items.
Savannah, Ga.
Two letters of Anderson, Confederate agent in France and England, to his family concern Union arms purchases and European support for the South; one letter, 1862, describes the plight of a Northerner in Savannah and economic conditions in that city.
116:
EDWIN ALEXANDER ANDERSON, JR., PAPERS,
1915-1918.
13 items and 1 vol.
Wilmington (New Hanover County), N.C.
Papers relating to Anderson's duty at the Naval War College, 1915-1916, include material on the logistics and battle tactics of submarine warfare. Relating to his service as commander of the American Patrol detachment in the Caribbean, 1917-1918, is the typescript of a war diary describing fleet operations, political affairs in Guatemala and Honduras, and the relations between the two countries.
117:
FRANCIS THOMAS ANDERSON PAPERS,
1828 (1850-1858) 1915.
443 items.
Fincastle (Botetourt County), Va.
This collection concerns also the activities of Joseph Reid Anderson (1813-1892). Included are business papers pertaining to mining operations and Francis Thomas Anderson's Cloverdale Furnace, a part of the Tredegar Iron Works; miscellaneous letters and papers concerning the sale of slaves, collection of debts, rental of property, teaching, and school tuition. Included also are a charge for the ministry of A.B. McCorkle; two summonses; and a printed plea, March 4, 1846, addressed to Anderson, seeking funds to help the widow and children of John Hampden Pleasants, "recently killed in a duel."
118:
GEORGE ANDERSON PAPERS,
1870-1885.
24 items.
Glasgow, Lanarkshire, Scotland.
Letters addressed to Anderson, a British politician, relating to such topics as army reform, 1870; Gladstone's refusal to go to Glasgow, 1871; burials legislation, 1878; Gladstone's political plans, farmers and prices, and the Scottish Church, 1879; Mecca and Portugal, 1881-1883; government expenses, 1883; and electoral procedure, 1884.
119:
JAMES ANDERSON PAPERS,
1782.
1 item.
Monkshill, Aberdeenshire, Scotland.
Anderson's refutation of the charge that he had plagiarized Josiah Tucker's Cui Bono, July 4, 1782.
120:
JAMES A. ANDERSON PAPERS,
1935.
1 item. (22 pp.)
Tuscaloosa, Ala.
Mimeographed copy of a speech by James A. Anderson before the Tuscaloosa Kiwanis Club on Union General James H. Wilson's raid into central Alabama, 1865.
121:
RICHARD HERON ANDERSON PAPERS,
1864.
1 item.
Savannah, Ga.
Manuscript extract from Confederate General Anderson's account of the operations of the I Corps of the Army of Northern Virginia after Longstreet was disabled until Spotsylvania Court House.
122:
V.V. ANDERSON PAPERS,
1820 (1847-1890) 1921.
873 items and 8 vols.
Calahaln (Davie County), N.C.
Personal, business, and political correspondence, accounts, legal papers, diaries, and bills and receipts of members of the Anderson family of Davie County. Records of C.J. Anderson, storekeeper and census enumerator for western North Carolina, 1880 and 1890 censuses, include instructions on liquor manufacturing and marketing and on the counting of persons. Records of Charles Anderson, justice of the peace of Davie County, include material on court cases, estate settlements, and state and local politics, 1872-1891. There are deeds and contracts relating to land acquisition by the family; teaching certificates and teachers' records; and letters relating to religion, camp meetings, temperance, slave purchases, and the treatment of slaves. Civil War letters of A.A. Anderson and A.J. Anderson relate to service in Ewell's division and describe training camps, clothing, equipment, discipline, sickness, minor engagements in Virginia, the effects of conscription, and hospital conditions. There are materials on civilian commodity prices, the collection of back pay of deceased soldiers, and poems about the war. Postwar letters relate to farming, livestock diseases, bee keeping, and tobacco. There are some postmaster's records from Calahaln, 1889-1899. Printed materials include local newspapers, forms, political broadsides, and agricultural pamphlets. The volumes include a brief pocket diary, 1913; a teacher's roll, 1891-1892; a ledger of Anderson and Brothers, 1868 (1868-1870) 1877 a ledger of C. and G.J. Anderson and Company, 1854-1858; and an account book of C. Anderson and Brother, 1858-1861.
123:
Z.W. ANDERSON BAND BOOK,
1865.
1 vol. (108 pp.)
Wilkes County, Ga.
A hand-written book of tunes used in the Confederate Army. Anderson served with the 37th Georgia Regiment. Included are notes on the surrender of Joseph E. Johnston's army.
124:
ANDREAS MICHAEL ANDREADES PAPERS,
1933.
1 item.
Athens, Greece.
Letter relating to Andreades' presentation to a professor Scott of a copy of his book, Philippe Snowden: L'homme et sa politique financière (Paris: 1930).
125:
BENJAMIN ANDREW PAPERS,
1783, 1786.
2 items.
Liberty County, Ga.
Promissory note to James Dunwody, and a petition from John McLean to the Chief Justice of Georgia for the collection of a debt.
126:
BENJAMIN WHITFIELD ANDREWS PAPERS,
1848-1885.
5 items.
Logan's Store and Patten's Home (Rutherford County), N.C.
Business and personal letters; subjects include mining in Arkansas, 1857, and commodity prices, South Carolina, 1885.
127:
CHARLES H. ANDREWS PAPERS,
1846 (1874-1882) 1885.
75 items.
Madison (Morgan County), Ga.
Letters of Andrews and his wife to their son, Louis H., 16 items, describe the life of small farmers raising cotton, cane, and other crops. Letters, 30 items, from Confederate veterans provide information for Andrew's projected history of the 3rd Georgia Regiment. Among the correspondents are John F. Jones, Reuben B. Nisbet, Joseph E. Johnston, and Jubal A. Early. Miscellaneous material, 29 items, includes letters from John McIntosh Kell, Adjutant General of Georgia, to C.H. Andrews and Son regarding insurance on the insane asylum at Milledgeville; and an incomplete manuscript history of the 3rd Regiment by J.W. Lindsey and Andrews.
128:
CHARLES WESLEY ANDREWS PAPERS,
1808-1901.
3,643 items and 1 vol.
Shepherdstown (Jefferson County), W. Va.
Family and other letters and documents relating to the Page, Meade, Lee, and Custis families of Virginia; the Robinson and Mines families of Maryland; and the Andrews family of New England; their movement westward from the tidewater following the Revolution; social life; the War of 1812; the treatment of slaves; manumission and colonization; plantation houses; doctrine of the Protestant Episcopal Church; travel in Europe, the Near East, and Africa; business activities and travel in the Middle West; and the Civil War. There are many letters by Ann Randolph (Meade) Page, her daughter Sarah Walker (Page) Andrews; Sarah's husband Charles Wesley Andrews, Matthew and Ann Randolph (Meade) Page; Mary (Randolph) Meade; Anna (Robinson) Andrews; and their relatives. There are also letters, 1839-1840, from Liberia by Robert M. and John M. Page, former slaves.
Letters of Bishop William Meade relate to the revival of the Protestant Episcopal Church in Virginia after 1815. The influence of the Oxford Movement in the U.S. and the resulting church division is shown in correspondence of C.W. Andrews from 1845 to his death in 1875. There are many letters and papers on religious matters by Andrews's parishioners while he was pastor at Shepherdstown, West Virginia. Much material, especially correspondence with Charles Pettit McIlvaine, relates to the effect of the Civil War on the church. Other prominent clergymen included in the collection are William Sparrow, James May, and John Seeley Stone. There are account books for religious tracts, the Evangelical Knowledge Society, and the Episcopal Church at Shepherdstown. A series of travel letters, 1841-1842, from C.W. Andrews to his wife and to the editors of the Episcopal Recorder (Philadelphia), review the state of religion in England, France, Italy, Greece, Egypt, Syria, and Africa, describing Bechuanas and Kaffirs in South Africa and missionary work in Sierra Leone. Included are details of buildings, monuments, antiquities, and scenery.
There are letters, 1851-1890, relating to the flour milling business of James Yeatman and George Robinson in Saint Louis, Missouri, letters from Matthew Page Andrews I describing his travels on the midwestern prairies in the 1850s, Indians, the Kansas constitutional struggle, land speculation and settlement. His love letters to Anna Robinson, later his wife, comment on his legal education and career.
M.P. Andrews's letters also describe secessionist sentiment, employment in the C.S.A. treasury, events in Richmond during the Civil War, and experiences in the 3rd Virginia Regiment in 1864-1865. His correspondence and that of C.W. Andrews and Charles McIlvaine describe the Civil War along the Potomac, the battles of Manassas and Antietam, details of military activity, office seekers in Richmond, newspaper reporting of the war, prices and shortages, censorship, treatment of Confederate wounded, and life under Federal occupation. Postwar family letters include many from C.W. Andrews II and Matthew Page Andrews II containing descriptions of school life and Virginia colleges during the 1880s.
Also in the collection are vestry minutes of the Zion Protestant Episcopal Church of Charles Town, West Virginia, 1816-1820, legal documents; passports; poems; sermons; C.W. Andrews's diary at Middlebury College, Vermont, 1826; clippings; account books; personal journals, diaries, and notebooks of family members, particularly of C.W. Andrews; scrapbooks; a register of the African Missionary Society, 1820; a subscription book, 1830, concerning the outfitting of freed slaves sent to Liberia; the Civil War diary, 1864-1865, of M.P. Andrews I; and a commonplace book of Mary Meade, 1832-1833. There is a key to families and places.
129:
EVERETT C. ANDREWS PAPERS,
1859-1888.
18 items.
New Haven, Conn.
Business papers; military orders; pension papers.
130:
GEORGE ANDREWS PAPERS,
1802.
1 item.
Dover (Strafford County), N.H.
Letter to George Andrews from [William?] Andrews describing his experiences moving to the Mississippi territory and local economic conditions in Natchez, Mississippi.
131:
JAMES O. ANDREWS PAPERS,
1859-1861.
8 items.
Chappell Hill (Washington County), Tex.
Personal and business letters addressed to William Harris of Williamston, North Carolina.
132:
WILLIAM B.G. ANDREWS PAPERS,
1862 (1863-1865) 1870.
27 items.
Pittsylvania County, Va.
Personal letters from a Confederate soldier to his father, Thomas A. Andrews, and a poem by Ellen Easley. Topics include the death of a female slave; religion and preaching; marriages; commodity prices in Virginia; casualties; prisoners; the sieges of Suffolk, 1863, and Petersburg, 1865; the battles of Nashville, 1864, Gordonsville, 1864, and Sayler's Creek, 1865; Confederate government; sickness; conscription; election of officers in the 10th Battalion of Virginia Heavy Artillery; Confederate and Union generals; rumors about the Confederate peace commissioners, 1865; and rumors about Lee's call for the use of Negro troops.
133:
LIDA (DUKE) ANGIER PAPERS,
1948.
1 item.
Durham, N.C.
A biographical sketch of Mrs. Angier by her daughter, Carlotta Gilmore (Angler) Satterfield, discussing the family, the Duke Memorial Church, and philanthropy.
134:
MALBOURNE A. ANGIER PAPERS,
1895-1899.
3 vols.
Durham, N.C.
Malbourne A. Angier was a grocer and local political officeholder who served as mayor of Durham and county commissioner. He was the father-in-law of Benjamin N. Duke. This collection comprises two ledgers and a daybook of the M.A. Angier Co., a grocery business principally owned by Benjamin N. Duke. Other owners included Angier, James T. Stagg, Thomas J. Walker, and W.T. O'Brien.
135:
GEORGE ANGLE PAPERS,
1862-1872.
81 items.
Logan (Hocking County), Ohio.
Letters of an officer of the 90th Regiment of Ohio Infantry Volunteers, 1862-1863, discussing the Civil War in Kentucky and Tennessee, camp life, casualties, furloughs, health, hospitals, pickets, supplies, and the capture by Confederates of a train near Nashville. There are also letters by Angle's wife, Sarah, and daughter, Ella.
136:
FLORENCE WINTER ANKENEY PAPERS,
1897-1927.
132 items and 3 vols.
Hagerstown (Washington County), Md.
Miscellaneous correspondence, business, and legal papers, and patent medicine advertisements. Three ledgers, 1841-1893, contain accounts of a general store started by Samuel and Henry Troup and continued by John C. Ankeney.
137:
GABRIELE D'ANNUNZIO PAPERS,
1930.
1 item.
Gardone, Italy.
Photocopy of a report on Lt. Romano Manzutto written by d'Annunzio while he was general of the Division of Aeronautics.
138:
ANONYMOUS ACCOUNT BOOKS,
1793-1884.
19 vols.
Merchants' account books or unidentified account books from Augusta, Georgia, April 1796; Elkhorn, Pennsylvania, 1818-1871; Woodville, [Virginia?], 1819-1821; New Market, Virginia, 1823; [Lincoln County, Georgia?], 1831-1839 Davidson County, North Carolina, 1835-1839, Newton, North Carolina, 1866-1880; [Panola, Mississippi?], 1883-1884; and Virginia, 1838-1839. Physicians' account books from South Carolina, 1824-1831, and [Davidson County, North Carolina?], 1835-1839. Tobacco factor's account book from Virginia, 1821-1823.
Photographs of European scenes, prominent Europeans, and works of art.
Washington.
Photographs taken along the Columbia and Kettle rivers.
141:
ANONYMOUS BOOK OF POETRY.
n.d.
1 vol.
ANONYMOUS BOOK OF POETRY
142:
ANONYMOUS COMMONPLACE BOOK,
ca. 1830.
1 vol.
Poems and clippings of a religious character.
143:
ANONYMOUS DAYBOOK,
1769-1770.
1 vol. (176 pp.)
Louisa County, Va.
This daybook contains the records of what appears to have been a general store which operated either in the town of Louisa or in surrounding Louisa County, Virginia. The book contains the names of many of the inhabitants of the county and lists purchases, specifying quantities and prices. The last twenty-four pages of the daybook were used as a scrapbook, probably by Henrietta B. Hill, in the 1830s.
144:
ANONYMOUS DAYBOOK,
1789-1790.
1 vol. (500 pp.)
Prince William County, Va.
Shipments of tobacco are recorded from warehouses at Dumfries, Aquia, Boydshole, Colchester, Machodoc, and Quantico; the largest accounts are for the firm of Smith, Huie, Alexander and Company whose trade ineluded consignments to Rotterdam in the Netherlands. A large general account for Timothy Brundige, merchant of Dumfries, is dated September 25, 1789. James Reid's accounts are also prominent, especially relative to the ship Molly.
145:
ANONYMOUS DAYBOOK,
1828-1833.
1 vol. (68 pp.)
[Virginia?]
A merchant's record of customers, commodities, and commodity prices.
146:
ANONYMOUS DAYBOOK AND LEDGER,
1851-1855.
2 vols.
Wardensville (Hardy County), W. Va.
Records of a tannery or other dealer in hides and leather. Among the accounts are those of William S. Downs of Port Republic, Virginia.
147:
ANONYMOUS DAYBOOKS,
1881-1901, 1920-1924.
10 vols.
Abernethy, N.C.
Largely merchants' records.
148:
ANONYMOUS DAYBOOKS,
1792 (1820-1860) 1873.
11 vols.
Georgia, North Carolina, Virginia, and Massachusetts
Records of businesses in Georgia, North Carolina, Virginia, and Massachusetts.
149:
ANONYMOUS DIARY,
1865-1868.
1 vol. (296 pp.)
Baltimore, Md.
The diary concerns family matters, public celebrations, and a storm in August, 1867, which is further described by a clipping from the Baltimore Sun.
Boston, M.A.
The author of this diary records the events occurring August 20, 1831, the first day of a trip from Boston to Albany, New York. He describes a journey from Boston to Providence by stagecoach and then into Long Island Sound on a steamboat. He reports the conversations of three South Carolinians traveling with him on such subjects as the tariff, nullification, secession, slavery, salaries for clergymen, and prostitution. He describes Providence and Newport, Rhode Island, and gives a detailed account of the accommodations of his ship, the Boston. Anecdotes about Washington Allston, the painter, and Thomas Cooper, the educator, are also recorded.
Natchez (Adams County), Miss.
Account of a trip by steamboat from Natchez to Houston, Texas.
152:
ANONYMOUS DIARY,
1843-1844.
1 vol.
Accomac County, Va., and Atkinson (Rockingham County), N.H.
This diary of a twenty-seven-year-old schoolteacher from New England, probably Atkinson, New Hampshire, records experiences and impressions in Accomac County, Virginia. Most of the entries concern his observations of the South and Southerners, and his opinions on such subjects as slavery, religion, and politics. He describes a meeting with Congressman Henry Alexander Wise. This volume was formerly cataloged as the diary of A. T. Allen.
153:
ANONYMOUS DIARY,
1854-1855.
1 vol. (164 pp.)
England.
Diary of a young Englishman's experiences on British transport ships carrying men and equipment to the Crimean War. Vessels included were the Palmerston, the Pyrenees, and the Mary Ann. Ports visited were Malta, Constantinople, Varna, Eupatoria, Sevastopol, Balaklava, and Genoa. There is comment on naval and military activities, two ship lists, and a number of colored drawings of ships, military personnel, and others.
154:
ANONYMOUS DIARY,
1861-1863.
1 vol. (62 pp.)
Gordonsville (Orange County), Va.
Diary of a Virginia woman which is concerned with local events of the Civil War. There is frequent mention of the activities of Confederate General Thomas Jonathan Jackson, whose troops often passed through the town going between Richmond and Charlottesville, and reflections on civilian life and economic conditions in the Confederacy.
155:
ANONYMOUS DIARY,
1861-[1865?].
2 vols.
Brock's Gap (Rockingham County), Va.
In 1861 the author of this diary traveled from Virginia to Texas to Tennessee, commenting at some length on people and places, and particularly on secessionist sentiment. The second volume contains Confederate Army memoranda centering around the 7th Virginia Regiment, Cavalry. Among the many places described in some detail are Charlottesville, Virginia; Holly Springs, Mississippi; New Orleans, Louisiana; Paris, Texas; and Grand Junction, Tennessee. There is a detailed description of the steamboat trip from New Orleans to Shreveport, and mention of Francis H. Hill, formerly of Virginia.
Bethania (Forsyth County), N.C.
This diary appears to have been kept by a woman who was a member of a large farm family. The brief entries are concerned with the details of farm life, such as baking, washing, cleaning house, visiting neighbors, going to church, and attending funerals and baptismal ceremonies.
This diary covers the period from April 6, 1878, to November 9, 1878, and describes the pilgrimage of an American lady to the museums and royal palaces of Europe. She toured through England, France, Germany, Sweden, Norway, and Russia. Among many other things, she reports on seeing Henry Irving in a play in London, visiting the Exposition Universelle in Paris, and meeting General and Mrs. Ulysses Simpson Grant in Norway.
Savannah (Chatham County), Ga.
A travel journal by a Savannah physician on a trip from Savannah to Greenville, South Carolina, containing road directions and comments on accommodations prices, and social customs. The journal also contains accounts of patients.
159:
ANONYMOUS HOUSEWIFE'S SCRAPBOOK AND DAYBOOK,
ca. 1877 and 1839-1840.
1 vol. (172 pp.)
Hedgesville (Berkeley County), W. Va.
ANONYMOUS HOUSEWIFE'S SCRAPBOOK AND DAYBOOK
160:
ANONYMOUS JOURNAL,
1849-1850.
1 vol. (110 pp.)
Columbia Furnace (Shenandoah County), Va.
Accounts for a general store which traded with the operators of the Columbia iron furnace and with the owners of other furnaces in the area.
161:
ANONYMOUS JOURNAL,
1853-1854.
1 vol. (396 pp.)
Hagerstown (Washington County), Md.
Records of a general merchant.
162:
ANONYMOUS JOURNAL,
1861-1865.
3 items.
Newtown (Fairfield County), Conn.
A journal kept by one of the officers of the steamer George Leary from April, 1864, to January, 1865. The journal describes transporting troops, wounded, and prisoners primarily between Fortress Monroe, Virginia, and the James River; contrabands to Philadelphia, New York, and Boston; and Confederate prisoners to Hilton Head, South -Carolina, to be exchanged for Union prisoners. Accompanying the journal is a picture of Captain Robert B. Benson and a bill, 1861, for Benson's share of the insurance on the ship Sultana and her cargo.
163:
ANONYMOUS LEDGER,
1861-1866.
1 vol.
Selma (Dallas County), Ala.
The record book of C. L. Ewing as superintendent of the Southern Railway Company, 1899-1901, is incorporated into this ledger.
164:
ANONYMOUS LEDGER,
1767-1776.
1 vol. (482 pp.)
New Bern (Craven County), N.C.
Merchant's record book with accounts for many local people. The ledger shows trade with Philadephia in pitch, tar, turpentine, staves, grain, and other foodstuffs.
165:
ANONYMOUS LEDGER,
1794-1800.
105 ff. (unbound)
Perquimans County, N.C.
Merchant's ledger listing a wide range of manufactured and agricultural commodities with their prices. One of the larger accounts is for Exum Newby.
166:
ANONMYOUS LEDGER,
1806-1816.
193 ff.
Elkton (Cecil County), Md.
Account book of a tavern keeper. The ledger records taxes, investments in bank stock, and numerous references to stagecoach operations and tavern expenses.
167:
ANONYMOUS LEDGER,
1831-1838.
141 pp.
Lawrenceville (Gwinnett County), Ga.
Apparently the account book of a physician, itemizing visits, medicines, and prices.
168:
ANONYMOUS LEDGER AND SCRAPBOOK,
1848-1864, 1885-1896.
521 pp.
Augusta (Richmond County), Ga.
Ledger of a physician giving accounts for services and medicines. It was later used as a scrapbook for clippings on Confederate history and personalities and topics of interest to women.
169:
ANONYMOUS LEDGERS,
1817-1869, 1878-1931.
22 vols.
Merchants' records, personal accounts, and unidentified.
170:
ANONYMOUS LEGAL NOTEBOOK,
[before 1865].
93 pp.
Virginia.
ANONYMOUS LEGAL NOTEBOOK
171:
ANONYMOUS LEGAL NOTEBOOK.
n.d.
60 pp.
North Carolina.
Legal notes based on decisions made in North Carolina cases.
172:
ANONYMOUS LOGBOOK,
1767-1768.
1 vol.
New England.
This logbook records four commercial voyages among the English colonies in North American and the West Indies and also to England, involving the ships Joannah and Grizzel, with detailed references to cargo, destination, and customers, especially in connection with a voyage to North Carolina.
173:
ANONYMOUS MEDICAL NOTEBOOK,
1834-1836.
1 vol.
Virginia, Pennsylvania
Student notebook on lectures given by John Patten Emmet at the University of Virginia and lectures given by George Bacon Wood at the University of Pennsylvania, all of which were concerned with pharmacy.
174:
ANONYMOUS MEDICAL NOTEBOOK,
1850-1851.
1 vol. (173 pp.)
Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany.
Describes diseases and prescriptions and contains notes evidently on the lectures of Drs. Wilhelm Rapp (1794-1868) and Maximilian Adolph Langenbeck (1818-1877).
175:
ANONYMOUS MERCHANT'S ACCOUNT,
1765.
1 item.
Alexandria, Va.
One sheet listing credit customers including Jacob Hite, Thomas Monroe, and George Washington.
176:
ANONYMOUS NOTEBOOK,
1799-1895.
1 vol.
Digby (Digby County), Nova Scotia.
One section of this volume records the sale of goods salvaged from the wrecked ship Culloden. The other section contains the records of the Sissiboo Baptist Church and a note on Negro Baptists in Nova Scotia.
177:
ANONYMOUS NOVEL,
18th century.
1 item and 1 vol.
England.
Copy of a novel (280 pp.) by a woman, possibly from Hampshire.
178:
ANONYMOUS NOVEL:
"A LITTLE PICTURE."
n.d.
6 vols.
A sentimental novel with the setting in France and Germany during and after the Franco-Prussian War. The plot concerns romance between individuals of enemy nations.
179:
ANONYMOUS PAPERS,
17th century.
1 vol.
England.
Volume of sermons of an unidentified clergyman, presumably an Anglican.
180:
ANONYMOUS PHOTOGRAPH ALBUM,
early 1900s.
1 vol.
Virginia; North Carolina; Washington, D.C., New York.
Photographs from travel on the ocean and in Virginia; North Carolina; Washington, D.C.; and Niagara Falls, New York.
181:
ANONYMOUS PHYSICIANS' BOOK OF TREATMENTS AND REMEDIES,
1630.
1 vol. (660 pp.)
Germany.
ANONYMOUS PHYSICIANS' BOOK OF TREATMENTS AND REMEDIES
182:
ANONYMOUS POEM:
"EDWIN AND LAURA."
post-1825
4 vols.
[Virginia?].
Rough draft and revised copy of a narrative poem,
"Edwin and Laura,"
evidently written by a Virginian after 1825. There are descriptions of places in Virginia and critical observations on local customs. Topics include therapeutic springs in the western part of the state; popular writers and magazines; and the University of Virginia, its expensive operation, its faculty, and the hiring of foreigners for the faculty. A supplement describes mercenary Richmond merchants and lazy members of the legislature. Included also is a poem on drinking.
183:
ANONYMOUS SCRAPBOOK,
1864-1890.
14 items and 1 vol.
Martin County, N.C.
Clippings, for the most part on economic and political subjects, concerned with both state and national affairs.
184:
ANONYMOUS SCRAPBOOK AND LADY'S LEDGER,
1868-1872, 1836-1840.
1 vol. (570 pp.)
Scrapbook of newspaper clippings.
185:
ANONYMOUS SCRAPBOOK,
1898.
1 vol. (308 pp.)
Worcester (Worcester County), Mass.
Clippings and pictures about several Massachusetts regiments which served in Cuba in the Spanish-American War. Primary focus is on the 2nd Massachusetts Regiment.
186:
ANONYMOUS SONGBOOK,
1861-1862.
1 vol