Divinity School Library
about  |  hours  |  directions  |  staff
Home
Research Tools
Help Desk
Ask A Librarian
Document Delivery (ILL)
Request Forms
Research Guides
Library Services
Computing Help
Citation Help
Facilities
Library Info
Spotlight

Home > Help Desk > Research Guides
Help Desk
Help Desk

Major Subject Guides in Religion

Biblical Studies
A research guide incorporating catalog searches, databases, websites, and reference works for Old and New Testament.

Historical Studies
A research guide incorporating catalog searches, databases, websites, and reference works for American Christianity, Church History, and Historical Theology.

Ministerial Studies
A research guide incorporating catalog searches, databases, websites, and reference works for Christian Education, Church Ministry, Liturgical Studies, Pastoral Care, Preaching, Spirituality, Religion and Society.

Parish and Denominational Studies
A research guide incorporating catalog searches, databases, websites, and reference works for Parish and Denominational Studies.

Religious Studies
A research guide incorporating catalog searches, databases, websites, and reference works for Christianity, Judaism, Islam, and Asian Religions.

Theological Studies
A research guide incorporating catalog searches, databases, websites, and reference works for Christian Theology, Christian Ethics, Black Church Studies, and World Christianity.

Other course & subject guides

LibGuides: courseguides and other subject guides
Courseguides developed for specific courses, research guides for specific tools, and other subject guides developed by Duke librarians.

Biblical Exegesis (PDF)
A guide for using library resources in completing a exegetical paper.

Biblical Commentary from Historic Sources
A research guide containing Scriptural indexes, commentaries, and tools for finding a variety of pre-modern commentaries.

Data & Statistics
A guide highlighting resources for finding data and statistical resources in religion.

Ethics
A research guide incorporating catalog searches, databases, websites, and reference works for Moral Education and Development, Organizational Ethics, and Civic and Global Ethics.

Image Resources for Biblical Studies
A guide for finding and using biblical images from ARTstor and other websites.

Methodist History Resources (PDF version)
Basic resources useful for research in Methodist history.

Random Bibliographies
Short "reading lists" or bibliographies of books and articles on various topics as well as potential search strategies for further research.

Research help

Finding Book Reviews
Contains information on using appropriate print and electronic sources for finding book reviews.

Guide to Research Guides
A bibliography of general and religious research guides.

LC Call Numbers for the Bible (PDF)
All the books and journals in the Divinity School Library are arranged by Call Number. This list will allow you to browse the stacks for a particular book of the Bible.

Out of Print books (PDF)
Contains information about dealers of theological out-of-print materials as well as search engines, online bookstores, and other guides.

 
 

Privacy policy | Comments, questions, or suggestions?

Creative Commons License