How To Use MagazinePlus
For Further Assistance
Head, IAS, Librarian for Japan & Korea
- Contains citations of book and journal articles, not full text.
- Includes 9396 Japanese language periodicals and 102 Western language journals published in Japan and held by the National Diet Library which are indexed in Zasshi kiji sakuin (hereafter Zassaku); the number of titles has increased dramatically from 1995, so not all titles have full coverage. For a complete list of NDL periodicals indexed in Zassaku, see http://www.ndl.go.jp/jp/data/opac.html (includes date for beginning of coverage). Time span 1975- present. Covered subject areas include the humanities and social sciences, medical science, pharmacology, and science and technology.
- Also includes 165 popular and business magazines indexed in Janaru indekkesu from 1981-present. JI indexes short articles not included in Zassaku.
- The Gakkai nenpō ronbunshū file indexes articles in annual university publications in the social sciences and humanities, essays in festschrift, conference papers and books published by research organizations between 1945 and 1992 and annuals, research reports and books published by scholarly associations from 1945 to 1995.
- Can search on keywords, titles, authors/editors, journal name, publisher, ISSN
- Terms can be entered in kanji, hiragana, katakana, roman letters and numerals. Search both kanji and hiragana using "or" (いずれかを含む) when the hiragana is a frequent alternative; for example, when you search for kokoro as a key word, using hiragana yields 1076 citations, kanji 4162 and one or the other, 4704.
- Japanese has a built in adjacency function; characters placed together without a space will be searched as a compound (eg 戦争責任）
- If the title includes 「・」or「．」omit it.
- Authors' names should be entered last name, first name without a space; e.g.日外太郎、KeeneDonald. When entering the reading, use katakana.
- Chinese and Korean names have kanji, Japanese reading, and the Chinese/Korean reading.
- When searching corporate names, it is best to search both the abbreviation and the full name, e.g. ＮＴＴと日本電信電話.
- Terms may be combined -- and［必ず含む], or［いずれかを含む], not［含まない] in any field.
- Words separated by a space are used as alternate search terms、when いずれかを含む is selected.
e.g. 内閣 政権 国会 政治
- Can limit by date or date range.
- Default is all, but results depend on data in the database. For some journals, from 1975. For some books from 1945.
- Years should be input as four digits; months as two digits. Either two byte or one byte numbers can be used.
- Can limit to journals or to collected works (includes annual publications). Default is both.
- The help button brings up a new screen. To get out, close the window.
- Current awareness feature from Zassaku: view tables of contents of various journals arranged by subject. Clicking on this opens a new window; to return to the main screen close the window.
- Current awareness feature from Janaru indekkesu: view new citations for the last week organized by subject.
- You can display up to 1000 records. If your search retrieves more than that, you need to limit it.
- You can limit the number of records displayed on one page to 20, 50, 100 and 200 records per page. Increasing the limit facilitates printing or emailing the records to yourself.
- Results can be displayed in chronological order or the reverse.
- Detailed results open a new browser window; to return to the main list of results, close the window.
- If Duke holds the title, an icon will display which will take you to the online catalog to see the call number and years we own. NOTE: This function is done by linking ISSN; not all journals have ISSN and not all records have ISSN in them on either MagazinePlus or the Duke online catalog.
- Results can be printed using the browser printer
- Results can be emailed using the browser mail function (check to make sure that the fonts transfer).
Last modified August 1, 2007 12:30:39 PM EDT