Duke Libraries

Ask us now

African American Periodicals

African American Periodicals at Duke

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

  • The page lists magazines, journals, and newspapers for or about the black community.
  • Search the catalog for call number, location, and information regarding possible electronic access.
  • For help with finding journals, see How to Find Journals.

Title

Publication Information

Duke Holdings

A

About... Time Rochester, N.Y. : About... Time Magazine 1992-
African American Review Indiana State University, 1992. 1992-
Afro-Americans In New York Life And History Buffalo, N.Y.: Afro-American Historical Association of the Niagara Frontier 1981-
American Visions Washington, D.C. : Visions Foundation, 1986- 1986 -
Amistad New York : Vintage Books, 1970-1971. 1970-1971
Annual Report Of The Director Of The Association Washington, D. C., Association for the Study of Negro Life and History, Incorporated. 1922 -1924 ; 1926 - 1937 ; 1944

B

BANC! Nashville, Tenn., Fisk University Library, Special Collections. 1970 - 1975
Black Academy Review: Quarterly Of The Black World Buffalo, N.Y. : Black Academy Press, 1970-1996. 1995 ; 1996
Black American Literature Forum Terre Haute, IN: School of Education, Indiana State University 1976 - 1991
Black Americans : A Statistical Sourcebook Boulder, Colo. : Numbers & Concepts, 1990- 1990-1998

Black Americans Information Directory
for 1998 - see:
(African Americans Information Directory)


Detroit : Gale Research, 1990-1993. 1990-1995

Black Aging
for 1978 - 1991 see:
(Journal of Minority Aging)

Durham, N.C. : Black Aging, Inc., 1975-1978. 1975 - 1978

Black Art
for 1985 - see:
(International Review of African American Art)

Jamaica, N.Y., Black Art, Ltd. 1976 - 1984
Black Arts Annual. New York : Garland Pub., 1989- 1987 - 1990
Black Books Bulletin Chicago, Institute of Positive Education. 1971 -1976 ; 1980
Black Books Bulletin. Words Work Chicago, Ill. : Institute of Positive Education, 1991- 1991 -
Black Child Atlanta, GA: Interrace Publications, 1995 1995 -
Black Collegian New Orleans, La., Black Collegiate Services 1972 - 1975
Black Congressional Monitor Washington, D.C. : Len Mor Publications 1990 –
Black Creation New York, Institute of Afro-American Affairs at New York University, 1970-1975. 1971 - 1973
Black Enterprise E. G. Graves Pub. Co. 1970-
Black Heritage Reston, Va., S. C. Watkins. 1977 - 1982
Black Images Toronto, Black Images. 1972 - 1975
Black Issues In Higher Education Reston, VA: Cox, Matthews and Associates, Inc., 1984- 1984 -

Black Law Journal.
for 1987 - see:
(Nat'l Black Law Journal)

Los Angeles, etc.: Published in cooperation with the UCLA Center for Afro-American Studies
The Black Liberator Chicago : Black Liberator Alliance, 1969- Feb. 1969 ; Mar.1969
The Black Man Millwood, N.Y., Kraus-Thomson Organization, 1975. 1933 - 1939
Black masks Bronx, NY: Beth Turner, 1984 1995-
Black Music Research Nashville, Tenn. : Fisk University, Institute for Research in Black American Music, 1981- 1980 –
The Black Perspective In Music Cambria Heights, N.Y. Foundation for Research in the Afro- American Creative Arts 1973 - 1990
Black Politics Berkeley, Calif. : Black Politics, 1968-69. 1968 - 69
Black Professional : The Insider's Guide To Career Savvy Baltimore, MD : Career Communications Group 1995 -
Black Renaissance / Renaissance Noire Bloomington, IN : Indiana University Press, 1996 1996 -
Black Sacred Music : A Journal Of Theomusicology Duke University Press, 1987-1995 1987 - 1995
The Black Scholar San Francisco, Calif., etc.Black World Foundation 1969 –
Black Sports New York, Black Sports, Inc. 1971 -1977
The Black Vanguard Danville, Ill. : Black Vanguard, 1968- holdings not listed
Black World Chicago, Ill., Johnson Pub. Co. 1969 - 1976
The Bronzeman Chicago, Ill. : Fireside Publications June 1931-Oct. 1932 Sept. 1933
The Brown American Westport, Conn., Negro Universities Press, 1970. 1936 - 45

C

CAAS Report/ UCLA Center For Afro-American Studies Los Angeles, CA : The Center, 1989- 1990 ; 1992/1994
currently received serial
Callaloo Lexington, Ky.,: Callaloo 1976 - 1986 ; 1988 –
Carolina Times Durham, NC: United Publishers May 1, 1937-1943; 1949-1977; Nov. 1978-1994 on microfilm;
also current issues
Christian Recorder Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 1854 - 1902 (scattered issues); available online in African-American Newspapers database
CLA Journal Baltimore: College Language Association 1957-
Color Charleston, W. Va. : Color, Inc., 1944 1944 - 1957
Color Line Westport, Conn., Negro Universities Press, 1970. 1946 - 1947
Colored American New York, New York 1840 - 1841;
available online in African-American Newspapers database
Colored American Magazine New York, Negro Universities Press, 1969 1900 - 1909;
The Competitor Pittsburgh, Pa., The Competitor, 1920-1921. 1920 - 1921
Contributions in Black Studies. Amherst, Mass., Five College Black Studies Executive Committee 1979 - 1987 ; 1993/1994

CORE
for 1977 - see:
(Equal Opportunity Journal)

New York, N.Y. : CORE Publications, 197- 1973-1978
The Crisis New York, N.Y. : Crisis Pub. Co., 1910 1935 -

E

Ebony Chicago : Johnson Pub. Co. 1945 -
Emerge New York, N.Y. : Emerge Communications, Inc., 1989- 1993 -
Essence New York, Essence Communications, Inc., etc. 1971 - 1974 ; 1975 -

Equity & Excellence in Education
for 1986-1992 see:
(Equity & Excellence)

Westport, CT: Greenwood Pub. Group, 1993 1993 -

F

First World ; an International Journal of Black Thought Atlanta, First World Foundation 1977 -
lacks v. 2,     no. 1
Frederick Douglass Paper  Rochester, New York 1841 - 1895;
available online in African-American Newspapers database
Freedom's Journal New York, New York available online in African-American Newspapers database
Freedomways ; a Quarterly Review of the Negro Freedom Movement New York: Freedomways Associates 1961 - 1985.

H

Half-century Magazine New York : Negro Universities Press, 1969. 1916 - 1925
Heart & Soul Emmaus, Pa: Heart & soul 1994 -

Headway
for 1995-1996 see:
(National Minority Politics)

Richberg Communications, 1996 1996 -
Howard Journal of Communications Howard University School for Communications, Center for Communications Research, 1988. 1993 -
Howard Law Journal Washington, D.C.: Howard University School of Law,1955 1955 -
The Howard Review Washington, D.C. : Howard University, 1923-1925. 1923 - 1925

I

International Review of African American Art
for 1976-1984 see:
(Black Art)

Santa Monica, Calif.: Museum of African American Art, 1984 1985 -

J

Jet Chicago, Johnson Pub. Co. 1970 -
Journal of Afro-American Issues Washington, D.C., etc., Educational and Community Consultants Associates 1972 - 1977
Journal of Black Psychology Cincinnati, Ohio: National Association of Black Psychologists 1975 -
Journal of Blacks in Higher Education New York,: CH II Publishers, 1993 1993 -

Journal of Minority Aging
for 1975-1978 see:
(Black Aging)

Durham, N.C., National Council on Black Aging. 1978 - 1980 ; 1983 -1984 1985 - 1991
Journal of Negro Education Washington, etc.: Bureau of Educational Research 1932 - 1991 ; 1993 –
Journal of Negro History Washington DC. Association for the Study of Negro Life and History, Inc., 1916- 1916 -
Journal of Research on Minority Affairs Baltimore, Md. : Research Institute on Minority Affairs, Coppin State College, c1990- 1990 -

L

Liberator New York, N.Y. : Liberation Committee for Africa, -1971. 1968 - 1971
Lincoln Review Washington, Lincoln Institute for Research and Education 1979 - 1995
Lincoln University Research Journal Jefferson City, Mo. : Lincoln University,1947 Spring 1947

M

The Messenger New York, N.Y. : Negro Universities Press, 1969. 1917 - 1928

Midwest Journal
for 1947-1956 see:
(Lincoln University Research Journal)

Jefferson City, Mo., Lincoln University 1948 - 1956
Monthly Summary of Events and Trends in Race Relations. Nashville, Tenn. : Social Science Institute, Fisk University, 1943-1948. 1943 - 1947/48

N

National Black Law Journal
for 1971 - 1986, see:
(The Black Law Journal)

Los Angeles, Calif.: UCLA School of Law, 1987 1987 -
National Era Washington, D.C. 1847-1858;
available online in African-American Newspapers database
National Freedman New York : National Freedmen's Relief Association, 1865-1866. 1865 - 1866
National Negro Health News. Westport, Conn., Negro Universities Press, 1970. Holdings In Docs Shelflist

Negro Digest
for 1969-1976 see:
(Black World)

Chicago, Johnson Pub. Co. 1942 -1951 ; 1968

Negro American Literature Forum
for 1976-1991 see:
(Black American Literature Forum)

Terre Haute, IN: School of Education, Indiana State University Fall 1967-Spring 1976
Negro Educational Review Jacksonville, Fla.: Negro Educational Review, inc. 1950 -
Negro Handbook New York : Wendell Malliet and Company, 1942 - 1949 ; 1966

Negro Heritage
for 1977-1982 see:
(Black Heritage)

Reston, Va.etc. S. C. Watkins. 1970 - 1977
Negro History Bulletin Washington, Association for the Study of Negro Life and History. 1937 -
Negro History Week New York: [s.n.] 1950-1953
Negro In West Virginia Charleston: Bureau of Negro Welfare and Statistics, 1922 1923-24 ;1939-40 ; 1947-48 1948 - 1952
Negro Story Westport, Conn. : Negro Universities Press, 1970. 1944 - 1946
Negro Worker Hamburg, Germany : The Committee, 1931 1931 - 1937
Negro Year Book Tuskegee Institute, Ala. : Negro Year Book Pub. Co., 1912- 1912 - 1952
New South Atlanta, Ga. : Southern Regional Council, 1946-1973 1946 – 1973
North Star  Rochester, New York available online in African-American Newspapers database

O

Obsidian II Dept. of English, North Carolina State University, 1986- 1986 - 1995
Opportunity New York, National Urban League, etc. 1923 - 1949

P

Phelps-Stokes Fellowship Studies Athens, Ga. : The Fellowship, 1913-1951. vols: 1-15
Phylon Atlanta, Ga. : Atlanta University, [1960] - 1992 1940 - 1987 ; 1992
The Principia New York : M.B. Williams, 1859-1864. July 21, Sept.8,15,29 1860; Mar.16, June 29, Aug.3 1860; Jan.18, Nov.13 1862 ; June 9 1864
Provincial Freeman  Chatham, Canada West [Ontario] available online in African-American Newspapers database
Public Culture Philadelphia, PA : The Project 1988 -

R

Race and class
for 1959-1974 see:
(Race)

London, Institute of Race Relations, 1974- 1974 -
Radical Abolitionist. New York, N.Y. : Central Abolition Committee, 1855 1855 - 1858
Reconstruction Cambridge, MA : New Departures, Inc., 1990-1994. 1990 - 1994
Renaissance 2 New Haven: Afro-American Cultural Center at Yale 1971-1975
Research In Religion And Family : Black Perspectives New York : P. Lang Holdings Not Listed
Review Of Black Political Economy Atlanta, etc.: National Economic Association 1976/77 –

S

Sage Sage Women's Educational Press, 1984-1995 1984 - 1995
Sauti, The Inner City Voice Detroit, Mich. :s.n. holdings not listed
Sepia Fort Worth, Tex.: Sepia Pub. Co. 1970 ; 1972 - 1974
Southeast Perspective Magazine. Raleigh, N.C. : Keith Publishing, 1996 1997 -
Southern Changes Atlanta, Ga.: Southern Regional Council 1978 -
State of Black America New York National Urban League. 1979-1981; 1983-1996 ; 1998 -

U

Umoja Boulder, etc.: University of Colorado at Boulder, etc. 1973 - 1975 ; 1977 - 1982

V

Voice of the Negro New York: Negro Universities Press, 1969. 1904 - 1907
Voices Of The African Diaspora Ann Arbor, Mich. : Center for Afroamerican and African Studies, University of Michigan, 1990?- the CAAS research review. 1992 - 1994

W

Western Journal Of Black Studies Pullman, Wash.: Black Studies Program: Washington State University and Washington State University Press 1977 -

Y

YSB. (Young Sisters And Brothers) Washington, DC : Paige Publications: c1991- 1993 - 1996

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

/research/subject/guides/african-american-periodicals/index.html

Table of Contents

  • African American Periodicals at Duke

Contact Subject Librarian


Last modified October 10, 2007 2:15:23 PM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870