Please note that this list is intended to serve only as a guide to research collections available in the Newspapers and Microforms Department, located on the first floor of Bostock Library. As such, it includes no individual works on or from the period described. A listing of relevant newspaper titles is provided for those titles on film with runs of three years or more.
Accounts audited of claims growing out of the revolution in South Carolina
Call Number: M6243
Format: Microfilm
Adams Papers
Call Number: N253
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Adams, John: 1735-1826
Adams, John Quincy: 1767-1848
Adams, Charles Francis: 1807-1886
(+ guide)
American Biographical Archive
Call Number: M6445
Format: MicroficheA one-alphabet cumulation of almost 400 of the most important English-language biographical reference works of the United States and Canada, originally published between the 18th and early 20th centuries.
American Periodicals Series
Call Number: various 400's
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Eighteenth century (APS I)This set consists of a collection of rare 18th century American periodicals including the earliest published works of many outstanding American writers.
American Revolution
Call Number: N412-414
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Letters and manuscripts about and lists of prisoners of war
Backus, Isaac
Call Number: N640-642
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Isaac Backus papers, 1724-1806, from the holdings of the Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention
British Headquarters (Sir Guy Carleton) papers, 1747 (1777)-1783
Call Number: N4947
Format: Microfilm
Burke, Thomas
Call Number: N938
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Thomas Burke papers, 1780-1782, from the holdings of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
City Directories of the United States
Call Number: various
Format: Microfiche, Microfilm
Congregational Churches in Massachusetts
Call Number: N1131
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Conventions, records, 1758-1789, from the holdings of the Congregational Library, Boston.
Early American Imprints, 1639-1800
Call Number: M5554
Format: MicroficheThis collection includes the full text of non-serial items (Books, pamphlets, and broadsides) printed between 1639 and 1800 in the United States.
First Baptist Church (Boston, MA)
Call Number: N1398
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Minutes, 1665-1797
Gallatin, Albert
Call Number: N1482
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Papers of Albert Gallatin, 1761-1849. (+ guide)
Garrettson, Freeborn
Call Number: N1477
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Papers, journals, 1752-1826, from the holdings of the Rose Memorial Library, Drew University.
Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature
Call Number: N4387, N4388
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Segment I: Printed books through 1800Includes the combined titles from the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration in Boston.
Great Britain. Colonial Office. America and the West India.
Call Number: N1590
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Military correspondence: 1773-1782
Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons.
Call Number: N4582
Format: Microprint
Holdings: Journals, 1547-1900
Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons.
Call Number: N4583
Format: Microprint
Holdings: Journals, 1731-1906
Index to Early American Periodicals to 1850
Call Number: N2303
Format: Micro-opaque
Jackson, Andrew
Call Number: N1833
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Andrew Jackson papers, 1767-1845. (+ guide)
Jefferson, Thomas
Call Number: N1834
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Thomas Jefferson papers, 1651-1826. (Index on the first 4 reels)
Knox, Henry
Call Number: N1900
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Microfilms of the Henry Knox papers, 1750-1806. (+ guide)
Landmarks of Science
Call Number: N4492
zMicrofilm, Microfiche, MicroprintThis edition covers micro-reproductions of scientific monographs and journals from the 15th to the early 20th centuries.
Lee Family Papers, 1742-1795
Call Number: N1993
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Lee, Arthur: 1740-1792
Lee, Richard Henry: 1732-1794
Lee, William: 1739-1795
(+ guide)
Lincoln, Benjamin
Call Number: N2020
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Benjamin Lincoln Papers, 1733-1810. (+ guide)
Manuscripta
Call Number: N2287
Format: MicrofilmThis collection includes "microfilms of rare and out-of-print books" in the fields of religion, philosophy, history, and related areas. Many primary and secondary sources are included in these titles, dating mostly from the 16th to 18th centuries.
Middleton, Arthur, 1742-1787
Call Number: M5312
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Arthur Middleton papers, 1767-1783. (+ guide)
The Negro in the Military Service of the United States, 1639-1886
Call Number: N4368
Format: Microfilm
Pinckney Family Papers, 1703-1847
Call Number: M5849
Format: Microfiche
Read, Jacob
Call Number: N3896
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Jacob Read papers: 1778-1798
Records of ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War
Call Number: M6133
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Series A-F
Rockridge County (VA)
Call Number: N3729
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Records: 1778-1848, from the holdings of the Virginia State Library
Royal Society of Arts (London, England)
Call Number: N2848
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: The American correspondence: 1775-1840
Guard Books: 1775-1780
Loose Archives: 1775-1840
Shaker Collection, 1723-1952
Call Number: N4999
Format: Microfiche
Smith, Hezekiah
Call Number: N2959
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Hezekiah Smith papers, ca. 1762-1805, from the holdings of the Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention.
Spanish Archives of New Mexico
Call Number: N2504
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: 1621-1821, in the Archives Division of the State of New Mexico Records Center
Spencer, William
Call Number: N3103
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: William Spencer papers, 1789-1790, from the holdings of the Virginia Historical Society
Upcott Collection of Literary Autographs, 1765-1830
Call Number: N4489
Format: Microfilm
Virginia. Council of State.
Call Number: N3511
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Journals: 1776-1852
Virginia. Governor.
Call Number: N3510
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Executive letter book: 1780-1860
Welsh Neck Baptist Church
Call Number: N3743
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Minutes, 1737-1952, from the holdings of the Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention
Wesley, Charles
Call Number: N3431
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Charles Wesley papers: anthems, words and music, 1775-1803, from the holdings of the Huntington Library.
Whitefield, George
Call Number: N3426
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Papers, 1737-1779
The following newspaper titles are available in the Newspapers and Microforms Department, located on the first floor of Bostock Library, in micro-format. These titles have runs of three years or more. Dates in brackets [ ] indicate scattered issues and the newspapers and microforms card catalog, located at the rear of the first floor of Bostock Library, should be consulted for exact holdings.
CONNECTICUT
Connecticut Courant and Weekly Intelligencer (Hartford, CT)
Call Number: N4196
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: [1764-1816]Connecticut Gazette and Universal Intelligencer (New London, CT)
Call Number: N301
Format: Microprint
Holdings: 1763-1820New Haven Gazette and Connecticut Magazine (New Haven, CT)
Call Number: N299
Format: Microprint
Holdings: 1786-1789
GEORGIA
Gazette of the State of Georgia (Savannah, GA)
Call Number: N285
Format: Microprint
MARYLAND
Maryland Gazette (Annapolis, MD)
Call Number: N4793
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: [1745-1839] Holdings are scattered and many issues are incomplete
MASSACHUSETTS
American Herald (Boston, MA)
Call Number: N2712
Format: Microprint
Holdings: 1784-Oct. 1789Boston Chronicle (Boston, MA)
Call Number: N290
Format: Microprint
Holdings: 1767-1770Boston Evening Post (Boston, MA)
Call Number: N270-271
Format: Microprint
Holdings: 1735-1775, Oct. 20, 1781-Jan. 10, 1784Independent Chronicle (Boston, MA)
Call Number: N289
Format: Microprint
Holdings: 1776-1820
Note: Title varies: Independent Chronicle and Universal Advertiser. Published earlier in Salem, MA under title: Essex Gazette and in Cambridge, MA under title: New England ChronicleMassachusetts Historical Society (Boston, MA)
Call Number: N2297
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: The Harbottle Dorr Collection of annotated Massachusetts newspapers, 1765-1776Massachusetts Spy (Boston, MA)
Call Number: N290
Format: Microprint
Holdings: 1770-1775
NEW JERSEY
New Jersey Journal (Chatham, NJ)
Call Number: N3658
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Feb. 16, 1779-Sept. 10, 1783New Jersey Journal (Elizabeth, NJ)
Call Number: N3657
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: May 10, 1786-Apr. 12, 1814
Apr. 19, 1814-Feb. 27, 1821Political Intelligencer (New Brunswick & Elizabethtown, NJ)
Call Number: N3698
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Oct. 14, 1783-May 3, 1786
NEW YORK
New York Gazette (New York, NY)
Call Number: N302
Format: Microprint
Holdings: 1759-1767New York Gazette Mercury (New York, NY)
Call Number: N3665
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: 1752-1783
Note: Title varies: New York Mercury, and, New York Gazette and Weekly MercuryRivington's New York Gazetteer (New York, NY)
Call Number: N3674
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Mar. 18, 1773-Dec. 17, 1783
NORTH CAROLINA
18th Century North Carolina newspapers (Raleigh, NC: NC Dept. of Archives and History)
Call Number: S5971
Format: Microfilm
PENNSYLVANIA
Carlisle Gazette (Carlisle, PA)
Call Number: N273
Format: Microprint
Holdings: 1785-1817Pennsylvania Chronicle (Philadelphia, PA)
Call Number: N306
Format: Microprint
Holdings: 1767-1774Pennsylvania Gazette (Philadelphia, PA)
Call Number: N4831
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Dec. 24, 1728
1729-1789Pennsylvania Journal and Weekly Advertiser (Philadelphia, PA)
Call Number: N4832
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: 1742-1793Pennsylvania Ledger (Philadelphia, PA)
Call Number: N308
Format: Microprint
Holdings: 1775-1778Pennsylvania Packet and Daily Advertiser (Philadelphia, PA)
Call Number: N4833
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Oct. 27, 1771-1790Philadelphia Evening Post (Philadelphia, PA)
Call Number: N307
Format: Microprint
Holdings: 1775-1789Wochentliche Philadelphische Staatsbote (Philadelphia, PA)
Call Number: N319
Format: Microprint
Holdings: 1762-1779
SOUTH CAROLINA
South Carolina newspapers, 1732-1782 (Charleston Library Society)
Call Number: N4857
Format: Microfilm
VIRGINIA
Alexandria Gazette (Alexandria, VA)
Call Number: N4730
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Feb. 5, 1784-Mar. 30, 1816Virginia Gazette or the American Advertiser (Richmond, VA)
Call Number: N3693
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: [1782-1786]Virginia Independent Chronicle (Richmond, VA)
Call Number: N3690
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: [1786-1789]