Duke Libraries

Ask us now

British Biography

Directories and Registers

Royal Kalendar. 1733-1865.
Perkins/Bostock Microfilm N4387
Some also available in Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Library has: Incomplete but extensive, 1733-1865.
The most comprehensive register available here for the civil, military, and ecclesiastical establishment of Great Britain and the colonies. Some private organizations and businesses are also included. Contents vary over the years.  Several titles are either interfiled chronologically with the Royal Kalendar, or else are shelved with it, and the above entry for Royal Kalendar, 1733-1865, refers to this combined series. Indices are rare (1816 edition has one). The volumes have tables of contents.

Boyle's Fashionable Court and Country Guide, and Town Visiting Directory, Corrected. London: Saunders and Otley, etc, 1921-1925.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks 914.21 B792
Library has: 1799, 1838, 1847, 1901
The premier source for locating individuals in the fashionable areas of London. Persons are listed alphabetically with their addresses. Another section lists streets alphabetically with the persons or organizations residing there arranged by address numbers. Also includes limited directory of public officials, offices, and some organizations and businesses.

Pigot and Co.'s Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of the Counties of Bedford, Cambridge, Essex, Herts, Hintingdon, Kent, Middlesex, Norfolk, Northhampton, Rutland, Suffolk, Surrey and Sussex. London: J. Pigot, 1840.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks 382.0942 P633
Library has: 1840
Substantial lists of businesses and business and professional people are scarce, and this volume includes an unusually extensive (262pp.) classified directory for London. The book is arranged by counties and then by localities. Several towns and villages are often grouped together under one place, and care must be taken to locate the proper listing. Nobility, gentry, and clergy are included with the commercial directory for each place.  Pigot published other editions for London and various counties during 1822-1842.

The Post-Office London Directory... Comprising…Official, Streets, Commercial...Parliamentary, Postal…and Banking Directories… London: B. Critchett, etc., ca.' 1800-
Perkins/Bostock Stacks DA679 .A14 Library has: 1828, 1833, 1857, 1944, 1953-54, 1958, 1961-62, 1972 The 1833 edition is, like Pigot and Co.'s Directory, one of the few old, extensive business directories available here for London and vicinity. It also includes country bankers and others in Scotland and Ireland. The 1857 directory lists only streets and not persons or businesses.

Thom's British Directory and Official Hand-Book of the United Kingdom… London: 1862-
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only) 354.42 T479
Library has: 1862.
A most detailed directory of the civil, military, and ecclesiastical establishment, including many private organizations and businesses. The extensive county and borough section provides good coverage of the provinces. There are lists of: the army (including India); the militia; the navy and royal marines; civil and diplomatic services of England; civil services of Scotland; the government and civil departments of Ireland; the lord lieutenants, deputy lieutenants, and magistrates of counties; and the deputy lieutenants, magistrates, etc., of boroughs.

National Telephone Company, London. The Telephone Directory. London.
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only) 914.21 N277T
Library has: 1898-1899.
This directory includes England, Wales, Scotland, and Ireland, and is a source of both personal and business names and addresses.

The British Almanac... London: Stationer’s Co.1828-1914.
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only) 914.2 B862AL
Library has 1830-1845, 1847-1852, 1854-1866, 1868-1874 1878-1889, 1891-1894, 1897.
Contains a register of the major civil, military, and ecclesiastical officials of Great Britain, Ireland and the colonies, including some educational institutions and other private organizations and businesses.

Other Directories

The library has a substantial and growing collection of directories on the national, county, and local levels. Many of these books are remarkably detailed. Consult the subject subheading 'Directories' under appropriate geographic names in the online catalog.

Two bibliographies of directories cite the British libraries in which they can be found:

Norton, Jane Elizabeth, Guide to the National and Provincial Directories of England and Wales, Excluding London, Published Before 1856. London: Offices of the Royal Historical Society, 1950.
Perkins Reference DA1 .G853 no.5

Goss, Charles William Frederick, The London Directories, 1677-1855; A Bibliography with Notes on Their Origin an Development…London: D. Archer, 1932.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks 016.91421 G677L

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified March 1, 2007 3:49:21 PM EST