Duke Libraries

Ask us now

British Biography

India and Asia

The India Office and Burma Office List... London: Harrison and Sons, Ltd., etc.
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only)
Library has: 1806 (Bound with 1806 Royal Kalendar), 1825, 1851, 1858, 1863, 1872,1892, 1913, 1938, 1940. The most complete listing of the civil, military, and ecclesiastical establishment for India and Burma. In the earlier years civilian residents can also be found as well as the establishments of other colonies in Asia. Sometime in the 20th century an extensive biographical section was added. The title has varied, and the East India Register and Directory of 1803-1844 was cataloged as an earlier part of this series.

The Asiatic Journal and Monthly Register for British India and Its Dependencies. London: Printed for Black, Parbury and Allen etc., 1816-1845. 72 vols.
Special Collections Library E-15A A832J
Library has: 1816-1845.
Each volume has several sections in which news of persons is reported, including births, marriages, deaths, civil and ecclesiastical appointments, passengers on ships, and military appointments, promotions, and furloughs. The arrangement is by political divisions of India. Coverage extended over other colonies from the Cape of Good Hope to China.  General index of minimal use. Name indices in Vols. 1-6 (1816-1818) only.

Memorials of Old Haileybury College... Westminster: A. Constable and Company, 1894.
Special Collections Library E#18841
Haileybury was founded in 1805 by the East India Company for the training of its civil servants. This volume has a biographical register of the students during 1806-1857 when the school, then known as the East India College, was operated by the Company.

Haileybury College, Hertford, Eng. Haileybury Register, 1862-1900. Edited by S. Milford, M.A. 3rd ed. London and Bungay: R. Clay and Sons, Limited, 1900.
Library Service Center (use Request link in catalog)
The Register contains biographical sketches of the alumni during 1862-1900. Members of the military and clergy may be found as well as civil servants, not only in India but elsewhere.

Asiatic Annual Register. London: Printed by J. Debrett, etc., 1800-1812.
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only)
Library has: 1801-1802.  Also available in Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
Includes sections for births, deaths, and marriages, and civil and military appointments. No indices.

Great Britain. India Office. Catalogue of the Home Miscellaneous Series of the India Office Records. By Samuel Charles Hill. London: Printed by H. M. Stationery Off. for the India Office, 1927.
Perkins Reference CD1051.I5 H54 1927
Extensive index of names, often including some identification either in the index or text. Records began in 1600's, and the bulk of them are from the 18th and 19th centuries.

Great Britain. India Office. Record Branch. List of Marine Records of the Late East India Company, and of Subsequent Date, Preserved in the Record Department of the India Office, London. London: 1896.
Perkins Reference HE823 .A15 1896
Long index of names of ship captains as well as indices for ships and subjects. The list of ship journals and logs covers the period from 1605 to 1856.

East India Company (English). Fort William - India House Correspondence and Other Contemporary Papers Relating Thereto. Delhi: Manager of Publications, 1949-
Perkins/Bostock Stacks 382.0942 E13F
Many personal names, often with identifications, are in the indices of the volumes. This set currently covers most of the period, 1748-1800.

Civil and Military Lists for India

Army registers have usually been excluded from this bibliography, since they can often be easily located in the online catalog. However, the registers for India and certain administrative parts, such as Bengal, Bombay, and Madras, are entered under a variety of subject headings, and a list of some of those works, as well as of some civil lists, is a convenience. The reader should remember that various British works, including many in this bibliography, contain Indian personnel.

India. Army. Bengal Army. List of the Bengal Army.
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only)
Library has: 1853, 1854, 1856.

The Bombay Almanac, Directory, and Register. Bombay: Printed at the Times’ Press, 1841-
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only)
Library has: 1842.

The Bombay Register and Almanac. Bombay: Gazette Press.
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only)
Library has: 1802.

Crawford, Dirom Grey. Roll of the Indian Medical Service, 1615-1930... London: W. Thacker, 1930.
Perkins/Bostock Microforms Microfiche N58
Medical Center Library, History Reference Reading Room WZ140.J14 C85r 1930

Hodson, Vernon Charles Paget. List of the Officers of the Bengal Army, 1758-1834. Alphabetically Arranged and Annotated with Biographical and Genealogical Notices. London: Constable, 1927-1947.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks DS434 .H6 1927

Madras (Presidency). Military Dept. List of the Army for 1787, Corrected Up to 1801. Madras: Printed by the Superintendent, Government Press, 1909.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks 355.095482 qM183L

Madras (Presidency). A List of the Civil, Military and Medical Officers of His Majesty’s and the Honorable Company's Services on the Establishment of Fort Saint George. Madras: J.B. Pharoah.
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only)
Library has: March 31, 1836.

The Times of India Directory and Year Book Including Who’s Who. Bombay.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks DS405 .I3
Library has: 1954-1984

Tupp, Alfred Cotterell, 1840-1914. The Indian Civil Service List for 1885…  Allahabad: Printed at the Government Press, 1885.
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only)

Whitaker's Naval and Military Directory and Indian Army List… London: J. Whitaker and Sons, 1898-
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only)
Library has: 1899.


Last modified March 2, 2007 2:56:58 PM EST

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870