Duke Libraries

Ask us now

British Biography

Scotland

The Edinburgh Almanack; Or Universal Scots and Imperial Register. Edinburgh: Oliver and Boyd.
Special Collections Library A-22 Edinburgh
Library has: 1812, 1814-1815, 1817-1820, 1822, 1824, 1827, 1829, 1831, 1836
The most detailed, comprehensive register available here for the civil, military, and ecclesiastical officials of Scotland, including some general British listings. The rolls of freeholders throughout the country are an unexpected feature. Some private organizations and businesses are also included.

Oliver and Boyd's Edinburgh Almanac and National Repository... Edinburgh: Oliver & Boyd, etc., 1836-
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only)
Library has: 1850, 1860, 1863, 1867, 1869-1871, 1876-1887, 1890, 1894, 1900-1901, 1910, 1913.
Like the earlier Edinburgh Almanack, also by Oliver and Boyd, this register is the most detailed, comprehensive source available here for the civil, military, and ecclesiastical officials of Scotland, including some private organizations and businesses and some general British listings. Some volumes have geographical supplements for extended coverage of selected counties.

The Scots Magazine. Edinburgh: Sands, Brymer, Murray and Cochran, 1739-1826. 97 vols.
Special Collections Library E-15B s434
Library has: Vols. 1-96, 1739-1825.
The gentlemen's magazine of Scotland. Births, marriages, deaths, and civil, military, and ecclesiastical appointments were reported for Scots at home and abroad. Indices in each volume, but surnames only were cited. No general index.

The Aberdeen Almanac and Northern Register. Aberdeen: Printed By D. Chalmers and Co., 1835-1937
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only)
Library has: 1839
Civil, military, and ecclesiastical register, including some private organizations and businesses, for Great Britain and the empire, Scotland, the city and county of Aberdeen, and the counties of Banff and Kincardine. The regimental listings, unlike those in the Royal Kalendar, provide the names of captains, lieutenants, and ensigns as well as majors and colonels.

The County Directory of Scotland. Edited by W. W. Halliburton. Edinburgh: R. Grant, 1862.
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only)
Especially convenient because its two major parts are an alphabetical list of personal names with addresses and an alphabetical list of residences and towns with names of residents (limited in the case of towns).

Douglas, Sir Robert, Bart. The Peerage of Scotland: Containing an Historical and Genealogical Account of the Nobility of That Kingdom, from Their Origin to the Present Generation: Collected from the Public Records… 2nd Edition. Revised and Corrected. Edinburgh: G. Ramsay and Company, 1813. 2 vols.
Special Collections Library, Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only)
Other editions also available in full text in Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
Both volumes have lengthy indices, not only of peers, but also of families connected with them by intermarriage.

Paul, Sir James Balfour, 1846-1931, ed. The Scots Peerage; Founded on Wood's Edition of Robert Douglas's Peerage of Scotland Containing an Historical and Genealogical Account of the Nobility of that Kingdom... Edinburgh: D. Douglas, 1904-1914. 9 vols.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks 929.7201 P324S
The entries provide an unusual amount of biographical information for a peerage. The ninth volume is an index.

Alumni Registers

School registers are not usually listed in this bibliography. They are valuable sources, and those available here for Scotland include the registers of the University of Aberdeen and the University of Glasgow.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified March 6, 2007 1:22:44 PM EST