Duke Libraries

Ask us now

British Parliamentary Papers

Members of Parliament

Registers

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Members of Parliament: return to two orders of the Honorable the House of Commons, 1878. 2 v. Perkins/Bostock Reference. JN672 .A55 1878b

Part 1 covers the Parliaments of England, 1213- 1702. Part 2 covers the Parliaments of Great Britain, 1705- 1790, Parliaments of the UK, 1810- 1874, and parliaments for Scotland, 1357-1707, and for Ireland, 1559-1800. Chronological lists of M.P's including residence, constituencies and dates of return. The index includes a listing of M.P's for the parliament of 1880-1885.

Dictionaries and Directories

DodOnline - website with lists of MPs, constituencies, committee members, etc.  (Duke doesn't subscribe but there is basic information freely available.)

Dod's Parliamentary Companion. London, 1832-
Library has: 1833,1838,1841-1865,1867-1909 on microfiche and 1957 to date. Perkins/Bostock LibraryStacks  JN500 .D7   Latest in Reference.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Perkins/Bostock Library Reference  |DA28 .O95 2004 
The standard biographical dictionary of deceased Britons of note.

Who's Who 1849- Perkins/Bostock Library  Stacks  |DA28 .W6 Latest in Reference.

Library has 1899 to date with a few gaps

Who was Who Perkins/Bostock Library Reference DA28 .W65  

A companion to Who's Who, containing biographies of those who died.

The Times Guide to the House of Commons Perkins/Bostock Library Stacks   JN672 .T6   Latest in Reference

Includes full results of the polling, biographies of members and unsuccessful candidates, photographs of all members, and a complete analysis, statistical tables and a map of the General Election. Library has volumes covering each election .

Powick, F. Maurice and Fryde, E.B. Handbook of British Chronology 2d ed. London, 1961. Perkins/Bostock LibraryReference  DA1 .G853 no.2, 3rd ed

As well as including lists of monarchs, dukes, marquesses and earls, the book details officers of state and archbishops and bishops for the whole of the British Isles from the Anglo-Saxon period through to 1985.  Also has a comprehensive list of English and British parliaments which includes dates and assembly places.

Judd, Gerrit P. Members of Parliament, 1734-1832. New Haven:Yale University Press, 1955. Perkins/Bostock Library  Reference  JN672 .J8 1955  

A statistical study of M.P.'s showing economic and social status, educational and professional data, length of service, etc., with a "checklist of members" which gives citations to sources such as University alumni registers, DNB, etc.

The Parliaments of Scotland : burgh and shire commissioners Scottish Academic Press for the Scottish Committee on the History of Parliament, 1992-1993. Perkins/Bostock Library Stacks   JN1263 .P37 1992

See also: Voting records of the House of Commons,1760-1820

Last modified July 19, 2007 3:36:46 PM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.