See also the complete list of Databases for Britain and Ireland
- Historical Abstracts Contains citations and abstracts to books and articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Royal Historical Society Bibliography A comprehensive index to books, articles, and primary sources about the history of Britain, Ireland, and the British overseas from the Roman period to the present day. Now includes Texts and Calendars, Irish History Online and London's Past Online. Available to all users.
- BHI British Humanities Index
BHI is a current awareness tool that provides abstracts from over 400 daily newspapers, weekly magazines and academic journals of international standing, with over 240,000 records dating back to 1962.
- Periodicals Index Online
Indexes over 15 million articles in over 4500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences back as far as 1665. Now includes some full text.
- Victorian database online
An interdisciplinary database for nineteenth-century British studies
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Provides the full text of the second edition of the famous historical dictionary of the English language.
- The Times Digital Archive
Search The Times (London) from 1785-1985 in full-text; provides facsimile reproductions of full pages or specific articles. HINT: search in full-text rather than keyword to get the best retrieval.
- Global Books in Print
Find books published in the UK, Ireland, Australia, Canada and New Zealand.
- Eighteenth Century Journals II
Journals from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center collection of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals