Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Business

Bibliographies and Indexes

Bibliographies

Strauss' Handbook of Business Information, Rita W. Moss, Libraries Unlimited, 2004.
Perkins-Bostock Reference Desk HF1008 .M677 2004

This is the most recent and most authoritative book describing publications (print and electronic) relevant to the field of business.  The first half of the book covers general resources, while the second half treats specific topics, such as Stocks, Bonds, Futures, Insurance, and Real Estate.  The earlier edition, by Diane Wheeler Strauss, published in 1988, is still valuable enough that it is also kept at the Reference Desk in Perkins. 

Business Information Sources,  Lorna M. Daniells, University of California Press, 3rd ed., 1993.
Perkins/Bostock Reference HF1008 .D365 1993

Although this volume pre-dates the internet, it is still a valuable resource for starting research in any sub-field of business, and devotes time to the way business information is organized as well as describing specific resources.

Business Journals of the United States, William Fisher, ed., Greenwood Press, 1991.
Perkins/Bostock Reference HF1008 .B875 1991

Organized alphabetically by title (heavily cross-referenced for title changes), with page-long descriptive histories of the publications including bibliographies, lists of editors, and special issues.

International Bibliography of Business History, Francis Goodall, ed., Routledge, 1997.
Perkins/Bostock Reference  HF1008 .G663 1997

Paragraph-long descriptions of 4400 resources, organized largely by the type of business or trade (coal mining, petrochemicals, wine & spirits, railways, etc.)  Also includes general resources and historical works on the banking and finance industries.

Indexes

Business Periodicals Index (1958-1993)
Perkins/Bostock Reference HF1 .B8756

Canadian Business Index (1980-1992)
Perkins/Bostock Reference HF1 .C363

For more recent material, see the list of Business databases (includes index-only and full-text).

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified February 9, 2009 9:04:58 AM EST