Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Canadian Government Resources

Parliamentary Papers

Online Full-text Documents
Many Canadian Parliamentary Documents are available in full-text format through the Canadian Parliament Web Site.

General Guides to Parliament and Parliamentary Papers

The Canadian Directory of Parliament, 1867-1967. Ottawa: Public Archives of Canada, 1968. 
Perkins/Bostock Reference: JL131 .C363 1968

This guide is more than a directory; it is a biographical dictionary of members of parliament and includes governmental appointments as well as information about parliamentary careers. Appendices include lists of representatives from the various Canadian provinces throughout the time period, lists of senators and their dates of appointment, and a list of parliaments including dates of elections, dates convened, prorogued and dissolved.

Canadian Legislatures
Perkins/Bostock Stacks: JL179 .C362

Includes general information on Canada's political process, election results, and composition of Federal and Provincial legislatures. Library has 1984-1985, 1987/88, 1992.

Canadian Parliamentary Guide
Latest in  Perkins/Bostock Reference: JL131 .C363; earlier years in Stacks.  Years before 1909 are in Microfilm N3842.

Information in this guide ranges from the members of the British royal family to biographical sketches of members of provincial legislatures as well as lists of staffs of executive ministries and of the Governor General's office. 
Library has 1862/64; 1867; 1869; 1871-1881; 1883; 1885; 1887; 1891; 1897/98; 1898/99; 1901; 1903; 1905; 1909-2002; 2005.
Many of these articles are also available through CPI. Q

Adam. Margaret. Guide to the Principal Parliamentary Papers Relating to the Dominions, 1812-1911. Edinburgh: Oliver & Boyd, 1913. 
Perkins/Bostock Reference: Z2021 .C7 A3 1913

British Parliamentary Papers regarding Canada are listed on pages 3-36. Arrangement is chronological and information includes session, volume and page numbers of the British Parliamentary Papers each item is in.

Hardisty, Pamela. Publications of the Canadian Parliament; a detailed guide to the dual-media edition of Canadian Parliamentary proceedings and sessional papers, 1841-1970. Washington: U.S. Historical Documents Inst., 1974.
Library Service Center: Use Request Link in Catalog

Pre-Confederation (1841-1866) Legislative Council

Canada. Journals of the Legislative Council of the Province of Canada, v 1-16, 1841-1866.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks Oversize: 328.711 C212J (Use request Link in Catalog) and Microfilm.
Library has v. l-4, 1841-1844/45 and appendices for v. 3-15 in print and v. 1-16 in the Microforms Dept.

Legislative Assembly

Canada. Parliament. Debates of the Legislative Assembly of United Canada, 1841-1867. 1970- 
Perkins/Bostock Stacks: J103 .J2

Thirteen volumes (covering 1841-1856) have been published so far of this "hansard" reconstructed from contemporary newspaper reports of parliamentary proceedings. In the first volume several chapters discuss the early history and records of the first Canadian parliaments.

Canada. Parliament. Canadian Mirror of Parliament
Special Collections Library Service Center: Use Request Link in Catalog (Reading Room Use Only)
Library has 1846-1864.
In lieu of an official Hansard there were at various times quasi-official newspapers which reported in some detail the debates in Parliament. This is one of the more long-lived of these papers. 

Canada. Parliament. Legislative Assembly. Journaux
Perkins/Bostock Stacks: Use Request Link in Catalog and Microfilm N4416

Library has v. 6-10, 1847-1851 of these French-language journals.

Canada. Parliament. Legislative Assembly. Journals.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks: Use Request Link in Catalog and Microfilm N4416
Library has v.11, 1852/53; v. l3, pt. 2, 1854/55; v.14-17, 1856-1858; v.23, 1864; v.25-26, 1865-1866, and v. l-5, 1841-1846; v. 12-13, 1854-1854/55; v. 18-26, 1860-1866 on microfilm. There are also appendices containing various government reports in both sets of Journals. See catalog for exact volumes.

Canada. Parliament. Sessional Papers of the Parliament of the Province of Canada v. 18-26, 1860 - 1866. 
Microfilm N4989

Confederation

Parliamentary Debates on the Subject of the Confederation of the British North American Provinces, 3d session, 8th Provincial Parliament of Canada. Quebec, 1865. 
Library Service Center: Use Request Link in Catalog

Lapin, Murray A., comp. Index to Parliamentary Debates on the Subject of Confederation of the British North American Provinces 1865. Ottawa, 1951. 
Perkins/Bostock Stacks: z342.71 L313I (Use Request Link in Catalog)

Post-Confederation, 1867

Canada. Parliament. Senate and House of Commons. Parliamentary Debates
Perkins/Bostock Stacks: J103.C2 C373

Library has v. 1-2, 1870-1871, first parliament, 3d and 4th sessions.

Senate

Canada. Parliament. Debates of the Senate of the Dominion of Canada. 1870- 
Perkins/Bostock Stacks: J103.J2 C373

Library has: 1876-1957/58 (3d-23d parliaments), 1958-1960 (24th parliament, sessions 1-3), 1962 (24th parliament, session 5), 1963-1984/1986 and standing order.

Canada. Parliament. Senate. Debates of the Senate of the Dominion of Canada.
Microfilm: N4418

Library has: 1871-1878.

Canada. Parliament. Senate. Journals of the Senate of Canada.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks: J103 .J3 and Perkins Microfilm
Library has: v. 1-85, 1867/68-1945; v.87-104, 1946-1958; v.106-111, pt. 1, 1960-1964/65; v. 112, pt. 1, 1965; v.113, pt. 1, 1966/67; v. 114, pt. l, 1967/68; v.115, pt. 1, 1968/69; v.116, pt. 1, 1969/70; v.117-129, 1970-1986/87, and v.83-89, 1943/44-1947/48; v.103-106, 1957/58-1960 on microfilm.

House of Commons

Canada. Parliament. House of Commons. Debates of the House of Commons, official report. 1875- 
Perkins/Bostock Stacks: J103 .K2

Library has: v. 1-276, 1875-1950, 1951-1988/89 and standing order. An index for each session through 1923 is in the last volume of that session. From 1924 the index is a separate volume for each session.

Canada. Parliament. House of Commons. Journals
Perkins/Bostock Stacks: J103.K2 C373

Library has: v. 1-49, 1867-1914; v.51 -53, 1915- 1917; v.55-99, 1919-1955; v.101-108, 1956/57-1962; v.110-130, 1963-1988/89 and standing order. 
Perkins Microfilm: N4420

Library has v.49-54, 1914-1918; v.98-102, 1953/54-1957; v.107-109, 1960/61-1962/63. There are indexes in each volume and some standing committee and commission reports in the form of appendices are also bound into the backs of volumes.

Canada. Parliament. House of Commons. General Index to the Journals of the House of Commons of the Dominion of Canada and of the Sessional Papers of Parliament from 1867-1930
Perkins/Bostock Stacks: 328.714 C212JA (Use Request Link in Catalog)

Library has: 1867-1876, 1877-1890, 1891-1903, 1904-1915, 1916-1930.

Sessional Papers

Canada. Parliament. Sessional Papers, 1867/68-1925
Perkins/Bostock Stacks: 328.714 C212S (Use Request Link in Catalog)

Library has: v.1-65, 1867/68-1925 (v.46, 53, 56 are incomplete). Sessional Papers are reports from government departments rather than from Parliamentary committees or commissions.

Canada. Dominion... Annual Departmental Reports.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks:  J103 .R1
Library has: 1924/25; 1925/26, v.2-4; 1926/27-1929/30.

Canada. Parliament. House of Commons. Unpublished House of Commons. Sessional Papers
Perkins Microfilm: S5823a

Library has: 12th Parl, 6th session, v4-13, 1916; 12th Parl., 7th session, 1917 to 16th Parl. 1926/30; 17th Parl., 2d session, 1931 to 4th session, 1935; 18th Parl. 1st session, 1936 to 4th session, 1939.

Statutes

Canada Gazette Part I; Part II
Perkins Microfilm: S264
Library has: part 1, v.94, 1960 to date; part 2, v.88, Dec. 1954, and v.94, 1960 to date. 
Law Library has part 3, v. 1, Dec. 1974 to date.

Published under the authority of the Statutory Instruments Act, the Gazette consists of three parts, the first two being in Perkins Library on microfilm through 1983 and in microfiche from 1984 to date. Part 1 contains material required by federal statute or regulation to be published in the Gazette and excludes items identified as being required to be published in either parts 2 or 3. Part 2 includes Statutory Instruments (regulations) and other classes of statutory instruments and documents as specified. Part 3 contains Public Acts of Parliament and their enactment proclamations. Part 3 is in the Law Library.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified January 30, 2008 3:34:03 PM EST