Abstracts and indexes provide citations to papers dealing with specific topics in ethics instruction and current ethical issues. Since most chemists are very familiar with online systems, these are emphasized below, with evaluations of the major databases.
The ISI Citation Databases are a very good source for recent papers on research ethics in chemistry. These indexes search the major journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities and return not only citations (usually with abstracts), but also the article's bibliography and a list of articles which have cited the original article to date. It is most useful to combine a search in the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index to get both science and education articles. Many universities now subscribe to the ISI Indexes online through the "Web of Science" at <http://www.isiknowledge.com/wos>. The most fruitful searches are done using the searches "ethics AND chemi*" or "ethics AND teaching" in the Subject field of the Advanced Search.
The comprehensive general indexes are also a good source for citations. In particular, Expanded Academic Index ASAP and the EBSCO databases (especially MasterFILE Premier and ERIC) return several articles not found using the ISI Databases. Be careful when constructing a search; the best searches are similar to "ethics AND chemi* AND educat* NOT medical NOT human". Education Abstracts also contained a number of useful citations and reviews of books dealing with ethics instruction. The Cambridge Scientific Abstracts turns up a few conference proceedings which deal with chemical research ethics. The Duke online databases are available at <http://library.duke.edu/metasearch/db>.
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.