Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Chemical and Physical Properties

E

Note

You can find most of these topics in the online CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics. Try there first!

The constants listed here are relevant chemistry reference resources in the Duke Perkins/Bostock Library. If you know of a resource which is not on the list but should be, please contact Meghan Gamsby.

Electrical Conductivity

Ref. QC100 .U5735 no. 33 -- Electrolytic conductance and the conductances of the halogen acids in water. U.S. National Bureau of Standards, 1970. NSRDS-NBS no. 33.
Ref. TP151 .25 -- Lange's handbook of chemistry, 11th-14th eds. McGraw-Hill.
Ref. QD1 .T43 v.2 -- Organic solvents: physical properties and methods of purification. 4th ed. Wiley, c1986.
Perkins/Bostock pc's (look for Crossfire icon on desktop) -- Gmelin Crossfire
Journal of chemical documentation, v.10, 1970, p.59.

Electrode Potentials

Ref. QD557 .M44 1980 -- CRC handbook series in inorganic electrochemistry, v.1-8. CRC Press, [1980]-.
Ref. QD560 .M44 1974 -- Electrochemical data, pt.1, v.A. J. Wiley [1974-
Ref. QD571 .S74 1985 -- Standard potentials in aqueous solution. M. Dekker, c1985.
Ref. QD272 .E4 C17 1977 -- CRC handbook series in organic electrochemistry, v.1-7, CRC Press, [1977]-.
Ref. QD571 .A64 1982 -- The encyclopedia of chemical electrode potentials. Plenum Press, c1982.
Ref. QD63 .O9 C52 1971 -- Selected constants: oxidation-reduction potentials of inorganic substances in aqueous solution. Butterworths, 1971.
Perkins/Bostock pc's (look for Crossfire icon on desktop) -- Gmelin Crossfire

Electron Affinity

Stacks and Ref. QD65 .H35, Ready Ref: Perkins and Bostock- ask at desks -- CRC handbook of chemistry and physics. CRC Press.
Ref. TP151 .25 -- Lange's handbook of chemistry, 11th-14th eds. McGraw-Hill.
Perkins/Bostock pc's (look for Crossfire icon on desktop) -- Gmelin Crossfire
NIST WEB -- NIST positive & negative ion energetics. U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology, Standard Reference Data Program

Equilibrium Constants

Stacks and Ref. QD65 .H35, Ready Ref: Perkins and Bostock- ask at desks -- CRC handbook of chemistry and physics. CRC Press.
Ref. TP151 .25 -- Lange's handbook of chemistry, 11th-14th eds. McGraw-Hill.
Ref. QD65 .U563 1951 -- Tables of chemical kinetics, homogeneous reactions. & suppl.1-2 U.S. National Bureau of Standards.
Ref. QD1 .T43 v.2 -- Organic solvents: physical properties and methods of purification. 4th ed Wiley, c1986.
Ref. QD511 .B7 no. 85 -- Handbook of proton ionization heats and related thermodynamic quantities. Wiley, c1976.
Ref. QD511.8 .B369 1989 -- Thermochemical data of pure substances. VCH, c1989.
Ref. QD502 .E9 1972 -- Evaluated kinetic data for high temperature reactions, v. 1-4. Butterworths, 1972-.
Ref. QD561 .P451982 -- Ionisation constants of inorganic acids & bases in aqueous solution. Pergamon Press, 1982.
Stacks QD305 .H5T738 1986 -- TRC thermodynamic tables - hydrocarbons. Thermodynamics Research Center, 1985-
Stacks QD458 .T45 1986 -- TRC thermodynamic tables - nonhydrocarbons. Thermodynamics Research Center, 1986-
Ref. QD561 .P45 1982 -- Ionisation constants of organic acids in aqueous solution. Pergamon Press, 1979.
Ref. QD273 .P4 1965 -- Dissociation constants of organic bases in aqueous solution. Butterworths, 1965.
Ref. QD273 .P4 1965 Suppl. -- Dissociation constants of organic bases in aqueous solution: supplement 1972. Butterworths [c1972]
Ref. QH345 .H347 1975 -- CRC Handbook of biochemistry and molecular biology. CRC Press. 1975-77.
Perkins/Bostock pc's (look for Crossfire icon on desktop) -- Beilstein Crossfire
Perkins/Bostock pc's (look for Crossfire icon on desktop) -- Gmelin Crossfire

Extinction Coefficient

Ref. QC437 .A9-- Absorption spectra in the ultraviolet and visible region, v.1-24. Academic Press, [1961- v. 1-].
Ref. 535.844 S126S (ask at Perkins Ref. Desk) -- Sadtler ultra violet spectra. Sadtler Research Laboratories, 1964-.
Ref. QC291 .H5 1967-- Handbook of ultraviolet & visible absorption spectra of organic compounds. Plenum Press Data Division, 1967.
Ref. QC462.85 .P471992 -- UV-visible atlas of organic compounds. 2nd ed. VCH, 1992.
Ref. QH345 .H347 1975 -- CRC Handbook of biochemistry and molecular biology. CRC Press. 1975-77.
Perkins/Bostock pc's (look for Crossfire icon on desktop) -- Gmelin Crossfire
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified November 18, 2010 4:00:56 PM EST