Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Chemical and Physical Properties

P

Note

You can find most of these topics in the online CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics. Try there first!

The constants listed here are relevant chemistry reference resources in the Duke Perkins/Bostock Library. If you know of a resource which is not on the list but should be, please contact Meghan Gamsby.

Partition Coefficients

Stacks and Ref. QD65 .H35, Ready Ref: Perkins and Bostock- ask at desks -- CRC handbook of chemistry and physics. CRC Press.
Ref. TD196 .O73 V47 2001 -- Handbook of environmental data on organic chemicals. 2nd ed. Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1983
Ref. 628.161 M787 G882 1996 -- Groundwater chemicals desk reference. 2nd ed. Lewis Publishers, 1996 (ASK LIBRARIAN - BEING RECATALOGED)
Experimental Log P (Octanol-Water) Database

Physical Constants

(Boiling Point, Freezing Point, Melting Point, Density, Refractive Index, Specific Gravity)
Stacks and Ref. QD65 .H35, Ready Ref: Perkins and Bostock- ask at desks -- CRC handbook of chemistry and physics. CRC Press.
Ref. RA1270 .F6 L49 1989 -- Food additives handbook. Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1989.
Ref. TD196 .O73 V47 2001 -- Handbook of environmental data on organic chemicals. 2nd ed. Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1983
Index table -- Aldrich catalog handbook of fine chemicals
Ref. TP151 .25 -- Lange's handbook of chemistry, 11th-14th eds. McGraw-Hill.
Ref. QD1 .T43 v.2 -- Organic solvents: physical properties and methods of purification. 4th ed Wiley, 1986
Ref. 541.36 C289M v.1-2 -- Melting and boiling point tables, v.1-2. Harrison, 1885-1887 (ASK LIBRARIAN, BEING RECATALOGED)
Ref. QD518 .U7 1963 -- Melting point tables of organic compounds. 3d ed. Interscience, 1963.
Ref. QD305 .H5 W54 -- Handbook of vapor pressures and heats of vaporization of hydrocarbons and related compounds. TRC, 1971.
Ref. QD77 .A155 1989 -- 100 modern reagents. Royal Society of Chemistry, 1989.
Ref. QD77 .D498 1993 -- Dictionary of analytical reagents. 1st ed. Chapman & Hall, 1993
Perkins/Bostock pc's (look for Crossfire icon on desktop) -- Gmelin Crossfire
Ref. QD155.5 .H361995 -- Handbook of inorganic compounds. CRC Press, 1995
Ref. QD148 .D53 1992-- Dictionary of inorganic compounds. 1st ed. & Supplements. Chapman & Hall, 1992
Ref. QD257.7 .H36 1994 -- Handbook of data on organic compounds. 3rd ed. CRC Press. 1994
Ref. QD291 .T55 1950 -- Physico-chemical constants of pure organic compounds. Elsevier, 1950
Ref. QD251 .D538 -- Dictionary of organic compounds. 6th ed. . Chapman and Hall
Stacks QD411 .D53 1995 -- Dictionary of organometallic compounds. 2nd ed. Chapman and Hall, 1995.
Ref. 547.070321 E24 D554 1988 -- Dictionary of organophosphorus compounds. Chapman and Hall, c1988. (ask librarian being recataloged)
Ref. QD291 .R28 1967 -- Handbook of tables for organic compounds identification. 3rd ed. CRC Press, 1967.
Stacks QD305 .H5T738 1986 -- TRC thermodynamic tables - hydrocarbons. Thermodynamics Research Center, 1985-
Stacks QD458 .T45 1986 -- TRC thermodynamic tables - nonhydrocarbons. Thermodynamics Research Center, 1986-
Ref. QD305 .A4 W39-- Physical & thermodynamic properties of aliphatic alcohols. American Chemical Society. 1973
Ref. QD415 .A25 D53 1994 -- Dictionary of natural products. Chapman & Hall, 1994-
Ref. QD416 .C75 1991 -- Dictionary of terpenoids. 1st ed. Chapman & Hall, 1991
Ref. QP701 .C2941987 -- Carbohydrates. Chapman and Hall, 1987.
Ref. QH345 .H347 1975 -- CRC Handbook of biochemistry and molecular biology. CRC Press 1975-77
Ref. QP752 .S7 D53 1991 -- Dictionary of steroids. 1st ed. Chapman & Hall, 1991
Ref. QV13 .M53 2001-- Merck index. 13th ed.
Ref. RS431 .A53 D53 1989 -- Dictionary of alkaloids. Chapman and Hall, 1989.
Ref. RS431 .A6 D53 1988 -- Dictionary of antibiotics and related substances. Chapman & Hall, 1988
Ref. TP200 .D38 1985 -- Data compilation tables of properties of pure compounds. Design Institute for Physical Property Data, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, c1985.
Journal of chemical documentation, v.10, 1970, p59
CHEMNETBASE -- Dictionary of natural products (Duke only)
CHEMNETBASE -- Dictionary of organic compounds (Duke only)
CHEMNETBASE -- Dictionary of drugs (Duke only)
Perkins/Bostock pc's (look for Crossfire icon on desktop) -- Beilstein Crossfire
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified November 19, 2010 11:07:17 AM EST