Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Chemical and Physical Properties

S

Note

You can find most of these topics in the online CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics. Try there first!

The constants listed here are relevant chemistry reference resources in the Duke Perkins/Bostock Library. If you know of a resource which is not on the list but should be, please contact Meghan Gamsby.

Meghan Gamsby, Subject Librarian

233F Perkins Library | meghan.gamsby@duke.edu | 919.660.1578

Solubility

Stacks and Ref. QD65 .H35, Ready Ref: Perkins and Bostock- ask at desks -- CRC handbook of chemistry and physics. CRC Press.
Ref. TP151 .25 -- Lange's handbook of chemistry, 11th-14th eds. McGraw-Hill.
Ref. QD1 .T43 v.2 -- Organic solvents: physical properties and methods of purification. 4th ed Wiley
Ref. QD66 .S4 1958 -- Solubilities, inorganic & metal-organic compounds: a compilation of solubility data from the periodical literature. v.1-2.Van Nostrand, 1958-1965.
Ref. QD251 .D538 -- Dictionary of organic compounds. 6th ed. Chapman and Hall
Stacks QD411 .D53 1995 -- Dictionary of organometallic compounds. 2nd ed. Chapman and Hall, 1995.
Ref. 547.070321 E24 D554 1988 -- Dictionary of organophosphorus compounds. Chapman and Hall, c1988. (ASK LIBRARIAN - BEING RECATALOGED)
Ref. QD415 .A25 D53 1994 -- Dictionary of natural products. Chapman & Hall, 1994-
Ref. QP701 .C2941987 -- Carbohydrates. Chapman and Hall, 1987.
Ref. QH345 .H347 1975 -- CRC Handbook of biochemistry and molecular biology. CRC Press 1975-77
Ref. QP701 .C29 1989 -- Dictionary of alkaloids. Chapman and Hall, 1989.
CHEMNETBASE -- Dictionary of natural products (Duke only)
CHEMNETBASE -- Dictionary of organic compounds (Duke only)

Specific Gravity see Physical Constants

Specific Heat see also Heat Capacity

Stacks and Ref. QD65 .H35, Ready Ref: Perkins and Bostock- ask at desks -- CRC handbook of chemistry and physics. CRC Press.
Ref. QC100 .U5735 no. 2 -- Thermal properties of aqueous uni-univalent electrolytes. National Bureau of Standards, 1965 NSRDS-NBS 2.
Ref. QC100 .U5735 no. 21 -- Kinetic data of gas phase unimolecular reactions. National Bureau of Standards. NSRDS-NBS 21
Ref. QC161 .H557 1955 -- Tables of thermal properties of gases; comprising tables of thermodynamic and transport properties of air, argon, carbon dioxide. U.S. Dept. of Commerce, National Bureau of Standards, 1955.
Ref. TP151 .25 -- Lange's handbook of chemistry, 11th-14th eds. McGraw-Hill.
Ref. QD65 .S584 2003 -- Perry's chemical engineers' handbook. 6th ed. McGraw-Hill, c2003.
NIST Chemistry WebBook

Specific Rotation

Ref. QD291 .T55 1950 -- Physico-chemical constants of pure organic compounds. Elsevier, 1950

Stability Constants see also Equilibrium Constants

Ref. TP151 .25 -- Lange's handbook of chemistry, 11th-14th eds. McGraw-Hill.
Ref. QD503 .M37 v.1-6 -- Critical stability constants. Plenum Press, c1974-
Ref. QD503 .S54 2d ed. -- Stability constants of metal-ion complexes. 2d ed. Chemical Society, 1964. and Stability constants of metal-ion complexes : supplement.
Perkins/Bostock pc's (look for Crossfire icon on desktop) -- Gmelin Crossfire
NIST WEB -- NIST Critical stability constants of metal complexes database. U.S. Dept. of Commerce, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Standard Reference Data Program, 1995. NIST standard reference database, 46

Surface Tension

Ref. QD1 .T43 v. 2 -- Organic solvents: physical properties and methods of purification. 4th ed Wiley, 1986
Ref. QD291 .T55 1950 Physico-chemical constants of pure organic compounds. Elsevier, 1950
Ref. QD305 .H5 T738 1985 -- TRC thermodynamic tables - hydrocarbons. Thermodynamics Research Center, 1985-
Ref. QD458 .T45 1986 -- TRC thermodynamic tables - nonhydrocarbons. Thermodynamics Research Center, 1986-
Ref. TP200 .D38 1985 -- Data compilation tables of properties of pure compounds. Design Institute for Physical Property Data, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, c1985.
Journal of chemical documentation, v.10, 1970, p59
Perkins/Bostock pc's (look for Crossfire icon on desktop) -- Beilstein Crossfire
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified November 19, 2010 11:10:09 AM EST