Melting and Boiling Points
Reference Books
- Dictionary of Organic Compounds. Multi-volume work. Arranged alphabetically by compound name. Gives alternate names, structure, some physical properties, some derivative information and literature references to syntheses, spectra, safety information. Has name and formula indexes. (Chem. Ref. 547.03 D554 6th ed.)
- Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds. Multi-volume work consisting of a major expansion of the organic tables in CRC Handbook. Arranged by parent compound. Good source for density and refractive indexes. Has name and formula indexes. (Chem. Ref. 547 H236 1994 Shelved on table outside library office)
- Aldrich Catalog Handbook of Fine Chemicals. Catalog of chemicals sold by the Aldrich Chemical Company. Arranged alphabetically by compound name. Gives physical properties and references to spectra and safety information. (Copies on table outside library office)
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Contains table on properties of organic compounds. Listing is by parent followed by substituted compounds. For example, to find methyl benzoate, look up Benzoic acid, methyl ester. (Copies on table outside library office)
CDROM Databases
- Properties of Organic Compounds. CD version of Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds. Both name and structure searchable. Gives spectra numbers for Sadtler and other spectra sets. (Single user version on CD workstation)
- Combined Chemical Dictionary. CD version of the Dictionary of Organic Compounds. Name and structure searchable. (Single user version on CD workstation)
Melting and Boiling Points of Derivatives
- Handbook of tables for organic compounds identification. A book of tables, arranged by parent functional group, i.e. acids, aldehydes, ketones, etc. Use the index to find compound number and page of the unknown (parent). Each table gives melting point, boiling point, refractive idex and density of the parent, followed a columnar arrangement of data for the most important derivatives. (Chem. Ref. 547.083 F829R 3d ed.)
- Dictionary of organic compounds. Physical property information for derivatives given in entry for parent compound. (Chem. Ref. 547.03 D554 6th ed.)
Spectra
Infrared Spectra
- Sadtler Standard Infrared Grating Spectra. Locate compounds using the Alphabetic or Molecular formula index. Compounds may be found in the main or supplementary indexes. Name index is arranged by parent compound. (Along the side wall of the library)
- Aldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra. You will find references to this in the Aldrich catalog. Name and formula indexes in back of vol. 3. A reference that looks like this FT-IR 1(3),1385D means Ed. 1 of the Aldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra, volume 3, p. 1385, spectra D. (Shelved in case outside library office)
- Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra. 3d ed. Name and formula indexes. (Shelved in case outside library office)
- Selected Infrared Spectral Data (Hydrocarbon Project). Formula index in last volume. Also search for compounds using the TRC disk index loaded on the CD workstation. (Chem. Ref. 535.842 A512C)
- Selectred Infrared Spectra Data (Data Project. Formula index in last volume. Also search for compounds using the TRC disk index loaded on the CD workstation.(Chem. Ref. 535.842 T355S)
- TRC Spectral Data - Infrared. Formula index in last volume. (Chem. Ref. 535.842 T738 1985) Index on CD workstation. Click on TRCI icon.
Nuclear Magnetic Resonance
- Sadtler Standard Spectra NMR Locate compounds using name and/or molcular formula index. Name index arranged by parent compound. Each entry includes proton assignments. (Along the side wall of the library)
- Aldrich library of NMR spectra. Ed. 2. Name and formula indexes in back of Volume. 2. Primary arrangement is by class of compound. (Shelved in case outside library office)
- Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT NMR Spectra. Ed. a. You will find references to this in the Aldrich catalog. Name and formula indexes in back of vol. 3. A reference that looks like this FT-IR NMR 1(3),243C means Ed. 1 of the Aldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra, volume 3, p. 243, spectra C. (Shelved in case outside library office)
- Handbook of Proton-NMR Spectra and Data. Locate compound using name and formula indexes in last volume. Each entry gives proton peak assignment. (Chem. Ref. 538.36 H236 1985)
- Selected NMR Spectral Data (Hydrocarbon Project). Formula index in last volume. Also search for compounds using the TRC disk index loaded on the CD workstation. (Chem. Ref. 538.3 A512S)
- Selected NMR Spectral Data (Data Project). Formula index in last volume. Also search for compounds using the TRC disk index loaded on the CD workstation. (Chem. Ref. 538.3 T355S)
- TRC Spectral Data, 1H NMR. Formula index in last volume. (Chem. Ref. 538.3 T783 1985) Index on CD workstation. Click on TRC icon.