Web Databases and free resources
- Web of Science
- Web of Science includes all the ISI citation indexes. Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts. It indexes 5,300 major journals, covering 2000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts. Our backfile goes back to 1988 at this time. This is the best source of articles for the past 22 years' worth of science writing, and has the added benefit of keeping track of articles which cite one another. VERY USEFUL!
- AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill
- Provides the full text of over 7,000 articles, 115,000 definitions, and 1,200 biographies of scientists.
Sources include the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology, and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms. Also offers weekly news articles, biographies, research updates, and lists of other resources.
Updated weekly.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
- The place to go when you are looking for chemical and physical property information.
- SciFinder Scholar (web version)
- Digital access to the Chemical Abstracts Database (1967- present) is available to Duke users via the web. NEW USERS register at: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=D59F824E-86F3-5055-4F18-66FDCD3FC79B. Our license limits use to six simultaneous users on campus. Consequently, please remember to logout when you are finished so other users can access the database. To access the database off campus, your computer must be running VPN software. The license agreement also restricts use. As Duke users you are responsible for following it to the letter. For more information about the capabilities of Scifinder go to: http://www.cas.org/SCIFINDER/
- Ingenta
- An online periodical article delivery and current awareness service.
- American Chemical Society Journals
- Full electronic access to all ACS journals back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
- Sigma Aldrich
Beilstein/Gmelin via Reaxys
- Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, ReactionsPlus, and the tables and facts from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic chemistry are available via the web. A database rich with data and references going back to the early 20th century, even earlier in some cases. There are several web tutorials for Reaxys.
- NIST Chemistry WebBook
- Recently updated, this date produced by the National Institute of Standards and Technology contains thermodynamic and property data for a wide range of compounds. In addition to data, tables give references to the literature.
- Brookhaven National Laboratories Protein Data Bank
- Searchable protein database. Contains data about each protein, bibliographic references, and molecule visualization with links to VRML browsers so you can see the images. Also included are links to other resources with information.
- Thermodynamic Data and Property Calculation Sites on the Web
- UIC Thermodynamics Research Laboratory list of thermodynamic and related data and calculation sites on the Web.
- KnowItAll AnyWare
- A powerful platform-independent web browser interface to the entire KnowItAll U database collection of chemical data. KnowItAll U is a spectroscopy resource for research and teaching. AnyWare supports IR, Raman, H1 NMR, C13 NMR, XNMR, and MS technique keywords and contains over 1.3 million spectra. In addition, KnowItAll U includes Bio-Rad's spectroscopy, cheminformatics, and chemometrics software, the KnowItAll Informatics System.
- Chemicool Periodic Table
- A clickable periodic table, giving information for each element in table form. Energies, Oxidation & electrons, Appearance & characteristics, Reactions, Other forms, Radius, Conductivity, and Abundance.
- International Critical Tables Web Version
- This classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties, it is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering.
Study Guides
- WWW Living-Book of Physical Chemistry
- Online presentation of a Physical Chemistry book of 1000+ pages. Includes more than 1000 solved problems. Maintained by Bishop's Unversity, Quebec, Canada.
- Enzyme Biochemistry Chapter
- A textbook chapter covering enzyme kinetics: basic kinetics, Michaelis-Menten equations, measuring Vmax and Km. Includes practice problems. From the MIT Biology Hypertextbook, copyright 1998.
- An Introduction to Enzyme Kinetics
- A course in enzyme kinetics produced by Dr. Peter Birch of the Department of Biological Sciences at the University of Paisley. The course is designed to introduce you to the theoretical concepts and practical techniques associated with the use of kinetics as an enzymological tool. It is divided into a series of chapters which can either be followed in sequence as a complete course, or used as a reference book for help with individual areas.
Research Integrity
The world of chemical research changes daily, but the ethical standards for research integrity are a constant. It is vitally important to understand the bases for integrity and to be able to evaluate your own practices. Follows are some resources on research integrity and ethics which you will find useful:
Software
To get software to run MATLAB from your dorm room/home computer the Course Documents section of all Blackboard courses associated with pchem has instructions.
If you are not on duke network, you may need to first run VPN. To get free VPN software from OIT, go to:
http://www.oit.duke.edu/remote_access/vpn.html
Evaluating Web Resources
When using any resource for data, it is important that you know how reliable that resource is. With print materials it is fairly easy to judge, who is the editor/author? Is the material published or sponsored by a reliable organization? Is the data referenced? The same is true of data you find on the Web. Remember that it is very easy to "publish" on the Web. So it is very important that you learn to evaluate what you find there. Here are a few sites that give information on learning how to evaluate Web resources.
Citing Electronic Sources
When writing up your lab reports you will need to cite the sources you used. For print sources, there are books such as the ACS Style Guide. Some of the newer style guides include information on citing Internet resources. There are also many Web sites that give this information. Here are a few.