Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Chemistry

CH110 LAB

Note

If you are confused and can't find what you need you have a couple options.

 

  • Review the videos
  • Talk to Meghan during her office hours
  • Chat with Meghan when she's online

 

Basics

Electronic

  1. ChemSpider - http://www.chemspider.com/
  2. NIST Chemistry WebBook - http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/
  3. CRC online -  http://db.library.duke.edu/search?N=0&Nty=1&Ntk=Keyword&Ntt=004943176&sugg=
  4. Hazard.com - http://www.hazard.com/
  5. Household Products Database - http://hpd.nlm.nih.gov/
  6. Chemicalland21 - http://chemicalland21.com/

Print

  1. CRC (on Ready Reference shelves in Perkins Library)
  2. Aldrich Catalog (on Ready Reference shelves in Perkins Library)

Databases and Dictionaries

  1. Web of Science - Use database to search for research articles, it is a very powerful, multidisciplinary database.
  2. Access Science - A science and technology encyclopedia, use this to help you understand the science.
  3. CHEMnetBASE - An online collection of multiple chemical dictionaries
  4. Oxford Reference Online - a collection of dictionaries and encyclopedias that can be searched all at once.  Includes chemistry, biochemistry, and general science dictionaries.

Material Safety Data Sheets and Safety Information

 

  1. CHEMINFO http://ccinfoweb.ccohs.ca/cheminfo/search.html
  2. Duke's MSDS subscription database http://ccinfoweb.ccohs.ca/msds/search.html
  3. Hazard.com http://hazard.com/msds/index.php
  4. MSDS FAQ from ILPI http://www.ilpi.com/MSDS/
  5. Hazard Diamond http://www.ilpi.com/msds/ref/nfpa.html
  6. Toxicological Abbreviations and Glossary http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro/iupacglossary/annex1.html

 

ACS Citation Style Help

 

  1. Help from Penn State
  2. Help from Williams College
  3. Help from Trinity College
  4. The ACS Style Guide in the library's catalog

 

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified August 28, 2012 4:09:19 PM EDT