Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Chemistry

Selected science databases

Web of Science (AKA Web of Knowledge)
Web of Science includes all the ISI citation indexes. Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts.  It indexes 5,300 major journals, covering 2000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts.  Our backfile goes back to 1988 at this time.  This is the best source of articles for the past ten years' worth of science writing, and has the added benefit of keeping track of articles which cite one another.  VERY USEFUL!
 
Science of Synthesis
A digest of synthetic methods in organic and organometallic chemistry from the 1800s to date. The methods have been selected for their quality, significance and relevance, and each one includes full experimental details and a bibliography to the primary literature. Includes access to all volumes of Houben-Weyl Methods of Organic Chemistry. Coverage includes Organometallics; Hetarenes and Related Ring Systems; Nitriles, Isocyanides, and Derivatives; Ketones; Heteroatom Analogues of Aldehydes and Ketones. Search by text or structure. This database will not be complete until 2008.

ChemNetBase

Contains several chemical reference tools with search capabilities and some table creation functions. These tools must be searched individually, but most allow searching by basic chemical properties (boiling point, molecular weight, density, etc). The following resources are included : Combined Chemical Dictionary (which includes Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, and Dictionary of Organic Compounds all of which can be searched separately), Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Dictionary of Drugs, Polymers: a property database, and Properties of Organic Compounds.

Expanded Academic Index
An expansion of the InfoTrac database that includes good coverage of basic chemistry journals from 1992. All ACS and IEEE journals are indexes as well as a number of other titles such as Science, Nature, PNAS, and Scientific American. There are extensive abstracts for many articles. There is full text for some articles, but not for science journals. This is an excellent place to start a search on a new topic because of the abstracts.
 
ProQuest Direct
ProQuest  is similar to Expanded Academic Index, but the list of journals covered, especially in full text, varies considerably from EAI. Articles are often available in both HTML and PDF versions.  The two databases are complementary and you should try both for maximum retrieval.
 
Beilstein/Gmelin via Reaxys
This web-accessible database allows structure searching as well as keyword searching of chemical (and physical) data going back a couple of hundred years. You must be at a Duke university IP address to access this database.
 
Chemical Abstracts via SciFinder Scholar on the web
Web access to the Chemical Abstracts Database (1907- present) is available to Duke users via the web. Our license limits use to six simultaneous users on campus. Remember to logout when you are finished. As Duke users you are responsible for following the license to the letter. NEW Duke users register at: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=D59F824E-86F3-5055-4F18-66FDCD3FC79B. You must be on campus, or accessing through VPN or ezproxy. For more information about the capabilities of Scifinder go to: http://www.cas.org/SCIFINDER/
Beilstein Abstracts on ChemWeb
Beilstein Abstracts is a powerful way to access titles, abstracts and authors of reports published in over 140 of the top journals in organic and medicinal chemistry from 1980 to the present. You may search by author, by words included in the abstract, by title (or words therein). You may also restrict your search to a certain journal, or time range. ChemWeb requires a free membership to search.
 
PubMed - Web Medline
PubMed is an experimental service under development at National Center for Biotechnology Information, (part of the National Library of Medicine). The National Library of Medicine produces MEDLINE, while the NCBI have created the popular Entrez service for molecular biologists. This version, therefore, comes from an authoritative and experienced source and contains features of special interest to researchers in molecular biology and genetics. PubMed offers access to MEDLINE data from 1966-present plus PreMEDLINE which contains records for articles published in MEDLINE journals which have not yet been indexed. Because PubMed is integrated with the Entrez system, retrieved articles containing sequence information will be linked to equivalent records in major molecular biology databases, GenBank, GenPept, etc. Another version is OVID MEDLINE 1966 to present offered by the Medical Center Library.
 
Applied Science and Technology
Covers 350+ international English-language periodicals in the applied sciences and technology. Indexes interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, discussions, corrections, continued articles, new product reviews, new product announcements, technically valuable editorials, technically valuable letters, tables, charts, diagrams, buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings; it also cites book reviews. Subjects include chemistry, engineering, computer technology, mathematics, data processing, physics, and energy-related disciplines. A good source of information on management, careers and employment, and financial trends in the scientific and technological fields. Covers October 1983 to date. Updated monthly.
 
Ei Compendex Web
Provides worldwide coverage of significant engineering and technical literature, including 175 disciplines and major specialties within these broad engineering areas: mechanical, civil, environmental, electrical, structural, process, materials science, solid state physics and superconductivity, bioengineering, energy, chemical, optics, air and water pollution, solid waste management, hazardous waste, road transportation, and transportation safety. Besides applied engineering, coverage also extends to manufacturing, quality control, and engineering management issues. Contains over three million English-language abstracts from over 2,600 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. Covers 1980 to the present. Updated quarterly.
 
AGRICOLA
Includes over 3 million citations to material acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. Indexes articles, audiovisual materials, books, book chapters, computer databases and software, maps, manuscripts, serials, and sound recordings. Subjects include agricultural economics, geography, agricultural engineering, home economics, animal science, human nutrition, chemistry, life sciences, energy, natural resources, entomology, plant diseases, cooperative extension, insect pests and their control, food science, rural sociology, forestry, and veterinary medicine. Covers 1970 to the present. Updated monthly.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts
Indexes over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. Subjects covered include aquaculture, aquatic organisms, aquatic pollution, brackish-water environments, conservation, environmental quality, fisheries, freshwater environments, limnology, marine biotechnology, marine environments, meteorology, oceanography, policy and legislation, wildlife management. Covers 1978 to the present. Updated monthly.
 
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Indexes over 1500 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Subjects covered include agricultural biotechnology; air quality; all forms of pollution: land, air, water, noise, solid waste, radioactive material, toxic emissions; aquatic pollution; bacteriology; ecology; energy resources; environmental biotechnology; environmental engineering; environmental impact statements (U.S.); hazardous waste; industrial hygiene; microbiology applied to industrial & environmental issues; risk assessment; safety science; toxicology; Êand waste management . Covers 1981 to the present. Updated monthly.
 
NTIS - National Technical Information Service
Provides access to the results of U.S. and foreign government-sponsored research and development. Subjects include biological, social, and physical sciences, mathematics, engineering, and business information. Covers 1983 to the present. Updated quarterly.
 
Carl UnCover (now Ingenta)
Provides citations to articles taken from tables of contents of nearly 17,000 English language periodicals. Enables user to request complete text of articles delivered via fax within 24 hours (for a fee). Covers October 1988 to the present. Updated daily.  The Chemistry Library has information on subscribing to UnCover through this web site.
 
Other Web Chemistry Resources
A listing of Web chemistry resources including databases of chemical structures, properties, hazard information; Web sites of chemical societies, publishers, and database vendors; information on meetings or job openings; links to Web sites on biochemistry, organic chemistry, and other subject-specific chemical sites.
 
 
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified December 17, 2011 5:14:25 PM EST