Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Chinese Studies

By Subject

Anthropology | Art History | Business | Disease | Economics | Education | Environment | Film Studies | History | Images | Language and Linguistics | Laws and Regulations | Literature | Maps | Media | Philosophy & Religion | Politics | Sociology | Statistics | Tibet | Women's Studies

Anthropology


Art History

Business

  •  GlobalEDGE (TM) from Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI, US. The site has wealth of  information, insights, and learning resources on doing business in China.
Disease & Medcine
  • Princeton East Asian Library Digitized Medical Texts.The East Asian Library of Princeton University has for the past few years been engaged in the digitization of some of its rare books… Full processing and the provision of enhanced navigation to each title will only take place at the end of the ongoing project.
  • Peter Parker Collection (from Yale) This digital collection consists of 80 paintings of Chinese patients with large tumors or other major deformities. The portraits were painted by Chinese artist Lam Qua in 1830s, under the commission of Peter Parker, the first protestant medical missionary to China.

  • Harvard University Library's Open Collections on disease and contagion, presents thousands of full-text documents and
    publications: The "Related Links" tab leads to even more digitized resources.

Economics

Education


Environment


Film studies

  • Asian Film Connections (Asia Pacific Media Center, Annenberg Center for Communication, University of Southern California, CA, USA) Key features of the Website include: (1) A list of all films made in China, India, Japan, Korea, and Taiwan from 1998 on, including basic information such as synopses, filmmakers, cast, length, format, and availability of prints. (2) Eight to fifteen highlighted films and directors from each country, with detailed information and video clips. (3) A list of all internationally awarded films of each country from 1988 on Reviews, essays, interviews and filmographies, plus reprints from Asia's leading film journals, such as Cinemaya and Movie/TV Marketing. (4) Press kits and contact information. (5) Links to other relevant websites.

  • Hong Kong Film Archive (Leisure and Cultural Service Department) Official web site, including Archive Functions, Public Access Facilities, Film Programmes and Seminars, Exhibitions, Archive Collections, Newsletters, Publications.

  • Hong Kong Movie Database (Ryan Law, Hong Kong, China)including film database, photos and reviews of Hong Kong films.

  • 臺灣電影資料庫

  • 中國電影(Chinese Film)(China Film Archive, PR China) Database by 中國電影館(China Film Archive) on films produced in the PRC, but also from Hong Kong and Taiwan. It contains film descriptions, pictures and biographical data from the film industry.

  • 中国电影资料馆 电影百年 (Lists of Chinese movies by production years)

  • 中国影视库 (Lists of Chinese movies by genre, by production year and by production region)

  • 央视国际 电影频道 (Lists of Chinese movies by genre, by production year, etc.)
  • 中國電影資料庫 (Lu Pin, Hong Kong, China) A very extensive database covering Chinese films made in mainland China (from 1905 till present), Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other regions. This tool is searchable (title, actors, etc. etc.) in English and in Chinese, includes information on awards, and has a section on "News about Chinese Movies". Some film data in the database even give full text film critiques.

  • 中国音像电影网

History

Cultural Revolution

Images

  • 50 years inside the People's Repulic An online exhibition of photos & writings by 25 distinguished Chinese & Western photographers, with an essay by Rae Yang.

  • A Visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization mainly for K-12 education

  • Bucklin China Archive - Looking at China in 1924 : In 1923, Harold Bucklin took his family on a remarkable journey from 
    Providence, Rhode Island to Shanghai, China, where he produced an exquisite body of work of large format photographs of Pre-
    Revolutionary China using a Graflex camera.

  • China: A Traveling Exhibit 1903-1904: R. Harvey Sargent, a topographer with the U.S. Geological Survey, joined
    a Carnegie Institutionresearch mission that took him 1,800 miles across the vast interior of China. Along the way, Sargent documented his observations with photographs of the land and the peasants from which the Chinese Revolution was to come.
  • Chinese Cultural Studies: ImagesThis page contains a summary of all the picture files available on Brooklyn College Core 9 Chinese Culture Web site." Maintained by Paul Halsall, Brooklyn College.

  • Historical Photographs of China A joint project by School of Humanities, University of Bristol, UK & Institut d'Asie Orientale (IAO), Lyon, FranceThe photographs archived here come from the collections of a Chinese diplomat, foreign businessmen, staff of the administrations in the Chinese treaty ports, missionaries, and officials of the Chinese Maritime Customs Service. They shed light on political events such as the 1925 May Thirtieth incident, on working and social life, on treaty port architecture, commercial history, the history of dress and fashion, and of course the history of photography in China. They were taken by talented amateur photographers, by foreign snap-shotters, professional studio photographers, and others. These images were taken, acquired or bought by those living or visiting China.
  • Hong Kong Picture Archive

  • Korean War Historical Images  Historical images from the Korean War. Public Domain - not for commercial use. Please credit Department of Defense and photographer (see attached captions.)
  • Literature in Line: Lianhuanhua Picture Stories From China Electronic edition of the exhibition at The Ohio State University Cartoon Research Library, April 25, 1997 - June 13, 1997.

  • Virtual Shanghai This extremely useful database is part of the IAO-Databases Project and contains 1213 images (May 2002). The images contain basic metadata (often including a short description) and are searchable according to the following criteria: title/subject; keywords - general; date; estimated periods; location; action; caption on print; caption on support; support; author; nature; repository; published; keywords - street name; misc. information. Combined search is possible, as is access via different albums (river; street; school; church; building).

  • Scenery Pictures of China(CND InfoBase)Tourist shots divided into three series. The first, "The Land of Beauty," includes the "top ten scenic sites." The second series is of "Natural Landscapes," and the third is "Ancient Buildings." Also includes links to other sites with pictures of China, including a lot of good modern Hangzhou scenes and Time Magazine's "A Day in the Life of China."

  • Cultural Revolution

  • Taiwan:

    • The Michael Lewis Taiwan Image Collection:  A collection of 530 colour postcards from the period March 1918-
      February 1933.
    • Formosa: This digital library gathers together a large body of primarily European and American images of the island of Taiwan -- called Formosa' by foreign visitors in the 19th Century -- and its various eoples. These textual representations, woodcuts, maps, and inguistic data were originally published in European and North merican books and journals during the 19th Century, but are not asily accessible to those interested in the history of Taiwan today. sers are encouraged to examine the engravings, woodcuts, etchings nd sketches of landscapes, people, architecture, boats and mplements by selecting increasing magnifications of those Images ncluded in the library."

  • Thomas H. Hahn Docu-Images : Contains
    1. Chinese modern art, including avant-garde photography;
    2. Urbanization and architecture (both historical and modern);
    3. Sacred sites, sacred mountains, and contemporary religious "theme parks";
    4. The city of Tianjin (formerly known as Tientsin);
    5. Views of the cities of Fuzhou and Yangzhou.
    6. Impressions of Tibet (scanned photographs from my visit in 1986).
    7. Historical photographs of China (from 1870 up to ca. 1955).

  • The Tibet Album: British Photography in Central Tibet 1920-1950
  • World Bank Photo Library A unique collection of over 50,000 images featuring global development.

  • 国学网站图片库

  • 人民网图片part of ren min wang.

Language & Lingustics

  • Chinese Character Genealogy (Zhongwen Zipu) It is online edition of Chinese Characters: A Genealogy and Dictionary, which uses the new (zipu) system of character trees, distributed by Far Eastern Publications at Yale.

  • Chinese Characters Dictionary Web The major Chinese character dictionaries on the web are interlinking at a character-to-character level, allowing visitors to quickly jump across dictionaries to check the same character entry without having to search again for the character. Find a character in any of the above dictionaries and you can follow the blue links, jumping between more than a dozen dictionaries spread across seven countries and four continents.

  • Learning Chinese Online. This page was created and maintained by Dr. Tianwei Xie Dept. of Asian and Asian American Studies, California State University at Long Beach.

  • MDBG Chinese English Dictionary It is constructed by using 2 publicly available dictionaries (Unihan & CEDICT), integrating them in one search interface. It offers some features not found in most other online chinese dictionaries. easy to use and for both simplified and traditional. Also available is translation to and from English to Chinese.

  • C-E and E-C dictionary

  • Online Chinese Tools: includes tools for learning Chinese, romanization converter, calendar converter, English-Chinese, Chinese-English dictionaries, etc.

  • 汉语网

  • Online Kangxi character dictionary
    Free online access to the 47.000+ characters in the dictionary, first published in 1716, based on a reprint of the Tongwen shuju edition (1895-97). Users can search for single characters or their Unicode code-points (UTF-32, omitting leading zeros), browse the contents by radical, or simply "leaf" through the dictionary.

  • Postry Sky Quarterly Poetrysky.com (Poetrysky.org) is the first bilingual poetry website in the world publishing both English and Chinese versions of contemporary poetry and their translations. It was founded by Yidan Han based in Providence, Rhode Island, USA in December 2004.

 Top of Page

Law and regulation

  • Asian Law Links

  • CEI Legal Database国信中国法律网Includes laws and regulations from 1949 to 2001, full text. Subscription required.

  • 中国法律大全at Beijing City Business Management Center. An extensive collection of Chinese laws and regulations, available fulltext free. Including the most recently published laws and regulations.

  • 北大法律信息网

  • 易信法苑 from Beijing Government Economic Information Center) An extremely rich site on Beijing and Chinese national law and regulations, jointly provided by the Beijing Government Legal Affairs Office and the Beijing Government Economic Information Center. The site also includes a powerful search engine.

  • 法令法規 (Laws and Regulations) (Yam Web Navigator, Taiwan) Annotated links to sites related to Taiwanese law.

  • 香港法例資料庫 HK Bilingual Laws Information System (Department of Justice, Hong Kong Government, China) The database contains the statutory Laws of Hong Kong in English and Chinese (about 95000 A4 pages). In addition, it also contains selected constitutional documents, including the Sino-British Joint Declaration, Basic Law of the HKSAR and Chinese National laws applying to Hong Kong. An English/Chinese Glossary of terms used in the Laws will be available soon." Site contents: Hong Kong Letters Patent; Hong Kong Royal Instructions; Standing Orders of the Legislative Council; Revised Edition of the Laws Ordinance; Laws (Loose-leaf Publication) Ordinance; Sino-British Joint Declaration; Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region; Chinese National laws applying to HK. 

Literature

Maps

  • Chinese civilization in time and space by Academic Sinica, Taiwan. Extremely useful web site linked map and times. Maps are based on 中国历史地图集。

  • China Historical GIS (Geographic Information System) (CHGIS) (Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA) The CHGIS project has been established under the aegis of the Harvard-Yenching Institute and Harvard University with a three-year grant from the Henry Luce Foundation. The CHGIS will establish a standardized coding system to identify historical administrative units and settlements for different periods in Chinese History. It will provide a base GIS platform for spatial analysis, temporal statistical modeling, and representation of selected historical units as digital maps. The project [which builds on the work of the late Robert M. Hartwell - T.M. Ciolek] intends to make the multi-lingual base GIS available to the scholarly community at no charge through download sites throughout the world.

  • China Dimensions Provided by the Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN), USA, this site "offers access to a unique data collection that has been designed to facilitate a wide range of natural science and socioeconomic research and educational activities. [...] You will find a variety of socioeconomic data in this site, including Geographic Information System (GIS) databases that cover the administrative regions of China, presented at a scale of 1:1,000,000. These databases may be integrated with agricultural, land use, environmental, and socioeconomic data to track China's economic growth, population increases, and environmental change"

  • Maps of Asia (The Perry-Casta?eda Library Map Collection, University of Texas at Austin, USA) The maps are mainly produced by the US Central Intelligence Agency. Shaded relief maps are available for China (and parts of it), Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macau, and Singapore (and many other Asian states and regions). For some parts there are even political, economic, demographic, and still more maps.

  • Map Machine - Maps of the World (The National Geographic Society, USA) Low resolution online maps of all officially recognised countries of Africa, Asia, Europe, Nth and Sth Americas, Oceania. Downloadable (PC & Mac formats) physical & political maps of the continents. A catalog of other high quality online cartographic resources." (Cited from the Asian Studies WWW Monitor Sept. 1997).

  • 中國古地圖 Chinese Ancient Maps (Geography Dept., HK Baptist University, Hong Kong, PR China) Scanned images of 54 ancient maps from China, available as thumbnail and jpeg (no further enlarging possible). For each map name and era is given.

  • 唐宋代歷史地圖 (Historical Maps of the Tang and Song Dynasties) (Wanglu zhan shu du 網路展書讀, Yuanzhi Univ., Taiwan) A collection of several historical maps of Tang and Song China. This page is part of the extensive Wanglu zhan shu kan database project, which is a collaborative project of the Yuanzhi Univ. 元智大學 (Taiwan), Peking Univ. 北京大學(China), Washington Univ. (USA), Academia Sinica 中央研究院 (Taiwan), and the National Central Library 國家中央圖書館(Taiwan).

  • 京板天文全圖: Capital Edition Of A Complete Map (Of The World Based On) Astronomy (Richard J. Smith, Electronic Text Center for the Asian Studies, Rice University, Houston, TX, USA) A digitized historical map 'Jingban Tianwen Quantu' by Ma Junliang [18th c.], with information on the Qing dynasty administrative boundaries of China, her cities, mountain ranges, overland travel routes, river systems, lakes, coastal communications, deserts, as well as other prominent landmarks. To benefit from site one needs a Java-enabled Web browser on a speedy computer and have a really fast network connection" (T.M. Ciolek, WWW Asian Studies Monitor).


Media

Philosophy & Religion

  • Buddhism
  • Taoism/Daoism
  • Chinese Philosophical Etext /Archive

  • Chinese Unicorn : contains a full-length book about the Chinese unicorn throughout history, as well as a blog.
  • Virtual Religion Index This is a subside of the award-winning "Virtual Religion Index". All links are annotated, often stating authors and sources. Most links do work. There is a site-map on the "home" page, but no search. There is also an "East Asian Studies" section with links to Confucian, Taoist, and Shinto resources.

  • 马克思主义文库


Politics

  • China 89'Provides documents and pictures on student movement in 1989
  • The Gate of Heavenly Peace (Long Bow Group, Inc.) THE GATE OF HEAVENLY PEACE documents the history of the 1989 movement and reflects the drama, tension, humor, absurdity, heroism, and many tragedies of the six weeks from April to June in 1989." Very useful, not only for its information on the film THE GATE OF HEAVENLY PEACE (Tiananmen) made by Carma Hinton but also for numerous documents about the Beijing spring of 1989 and the symbolism of the Tiananmen Square.
  • 六四檔案
  • China Leadership Monitor offers authoritative assessments of trends in Chinese leadership politics and policy. you’ll find articles from the current issue as well as an archive of back issues, and subscription information.

  • Cultural Revolution:
  • China Politics Links : a site by Prof. William A. Joseph, Department of Political Science, Wellesley College, Wellesley, MA, US
  • China Tibet information center official web site with basic information on Tibetan including history, economics, pictures, religion, etc.

  • Digital Archive for Chinese Studies (DACHS) (Institute of Chinese Studies, University of Heidelberg, Heidelberg, Germany)

  • Facts & Figures, 2001; 2002 China

  • Foreign relations of the United States, 1964-1968 (Harriet Dashiell Schwar, United States Government Printing Office, Washington, 1998 ) This site is part of the U.S. Department of State website and contains declassified archival material on the diplomatic relations between the USA and China between 1964 and 1968. The material is presented in the Department of State's documentary series "Foreign policy and diplomacy of the United States". The documents in this volume are drawn from the files of the Department of State and the Bureau, Office, and other lot files of the relevant Departmental units. The volume also includes records from the Department of Defense and the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).

  • Human Rights Watch

  • 政策信息 government policy and analysis.

  • 中国网Includes government White Papers and China News from the People's Republic of China. Links to some of very useful information, such as recent government laws and policy, important government official speeches.

  • 中国选举与治理网Established by The Carter Center and the Research Center on Chinese Local Governance at Beijing University. It provides Chinese officials at all levels a resource center for governance and election affairs and gives scholars worldwide the opportunity to study Chinese politics and offer reform measures. Users can access news, articles, academic papers, laws and regulations, and data on Chinese elections and governance on all levels. The site also features exclusive reports on election and governance matters commissioned by the China Elections Project at The Carter Center.

  • 毛泽东文集1-8 卷 Full text

  • Selected Works of Deng Xiaoping in English.

  • 邓小平文选 in Chinese

  • 勞改基金會 (The Laogai Research Foundation, Washington, DC, USA) A non-profit organization [est. in 1992 by Hongda Harry Wu] dedicated to collecting information about China's "vast system of forced labor camps."

  • 中國人權 (Human Rights in China, USA/Hong Kong) This site contains information, in both English and Chinese, produced by the organization, Human Rights in China. It includes regular press releases, reports, articles from the quarterly journal, China Rights Forum, organizational work reports, educational materials, action ideas and links to other sites. Subjects covered include political prisoners and dissent, legal reform, freedom of association, women's rights, workers' rights, children's rights and so on. Since its founding in March 1989, Human Rights in China has become one of the major sources of information about human rights conditions in the PRC."

  • 中国改革论坛

  • 中華民國政府公報電子全文

  • 改革开放论坛

  • 强国论坛

  • 中国国际战略研究网

  • 现代化网

  • 权威论坛

  • 中国外交论坛

  • China Confidential China Confidential has been reporting and analyzing political developments in China since 2005. Although repeatedly being cited by various sources (incl. BBC) the identity of its author "Confidential Reporter" has [as of May 2006] not yet been revealed.

  • EastSouthWestNorth东南西北 one of the most relevant blogs about current China. Also included are issues related to Taiwan and Hong Kong. Born 1949 in Shanghai and having spent 32 years in the US, its author Roland Soong currently lives in Hong Kong. In the real world Robert Soong is the chief technical officer for KMR, the world's second-largest media research firm.

Hong Kong

Taiwan

Sociology

Statistics

  • The Statistics of China(China Data Center, University of Michigan, USA): There is information on (1) Land and Resources, (2) Population, (3) Economy Indicators of Nation, (4) Economy Indicators of Regions, (5) Agriculture, (6) Manufacturing Industry, (7) Domestic Commerce, (8) Foreign Trade and Investment, (9) Finance and Taxation, (10) Energy, (11) Transportation and Communication, (12) Investment, Construction and City, (13) Science and Technology, (14) Mass Media and Culture and (15) Education, Public Health and Welfare. Primary resources. Data are presented in charts. The most recent data are of 1997.

  • China Dimensions: Provided by the Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN), USA. Site includes: (1) Administrative Regions; (2) Fundamental Maps; (3) Population and Public Health; (4) Economics; (5) Public Policies; (6) Additional China Data. Primary resources. Data reside on FTP and need to be downloaded. Data are of 1990s.

  • Asia and the Pacific in Figures 2000(Statistics Division, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP), Bangkok, Thailand): Statistical data include: (1) Population Statistics; (2) Social Statistics; (3) Employment; (4) Energy; (5) National Accounts; (6) External Trade; (7) Government Finance; (8) International Finance; (9) Production; (10) Price - Index Numbers; (11) Land Use; (12) Transport; (13) Tourism. Data available as HTML and MS Excel files. Primary resources. China statistic is one of the divisions. Most recent data are of 2003.

  • Can China feed itself? A System for Evaluation of Policy Options (Gerhard K. Heilig, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis, Austria) Age Groups; Business Skills; Diet Change; Disaster; Floods; Infrastructure; Land; Pollution; Population; Urbanization; Water; and many others (currently some 150 topics listed). Primary resources. Most recent data are of 1996. Data projections further into 2050.

  • Urban China Research Network (University at Albany, SUNY, Albany, NY, USA) Primary resources. Data are generated by categories and can be exported to Excel. Most recent data are of 1999.

  • AccessAsia (HDEP International, Hawaii, USA): Contains business list and directory. Can search but enhanced service needs registration.

  • 人口与劳动力数据库 - Primary dataset, including population and labor conditions. Can search by category, keyword, and other advanced features.

  • 中国自然资源数据库 - Primary scientific dataset which include graphics and raw figures of water resources, land resources, energy resources agriculture resources etc. Hosted by Institute of Geographical Sciences and Natural Resources Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences.

  • 中国外商投资企业名录数据库 - Domestic and foreign company catalog and directory. Fee based.

  • 外商在华投资政策和法规 - Policy and legal documents that regulate foreign investment in China. No data.

  • 中国中小城市网 – Top 100 economic development index of small and media cities in 2004.

  • 中华人民共和国国家统计局- National Bureau of Statistic of China. The gateway to dataset of many subcategories. Include links to provincial statistical websites.

  • 中国人口信息网 – Contains population database. Have search function.

  • 省级与市级统计信息网 - Sub pages of National Bureau of Statistics of China. Links to statistical websites of provinces and cities, international organizations, foreign countries.

Tibet

Women's Studies

Last modified September 10, 2009 1:32:51 PM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.