The East Asian Library has an impressive collection of books with images about China. An easy way to find them is to perform a 'subject begins with' search of 'China -- Pictorial works'. The following are some representatives in several categories:
Social Life | History (Revolution & War) | Antiquities | Architecture | Art | Beijing | Hong Kong | Taiwan | Tibet | Travel & Culture | Ming Qing | Foreign Relations | Chinese Wit & Humor | Motion Pictures | Buddhist/Buddhism | Women | Historical Figures | Other
Social Life
- 中国故事:当代中国纪实摄影 Zhongguo gu shi : dang dai Zhongguo ji shi she ying = Contemporary Chinese documentary photography | East Asian Collection | DS721 .D36 2001
- 图说中国百年社会生活变迁 (1840-1949) Tu shuo zhong guo bai nian she hui sheng huo bian qian (1840-1949) East Asian Collection | DS754.14 .T874 2001
- 激情时尚: 70 年代中囯人的艺术与生活 Ji qing shi shang : 70 nian dai Zhongguo ren de yi shu yu sheng huo
Lilly Library: Stacks | 709.51 X6, J61, 2002
- 老行当Shen, Ji. Lao hang dang = Old trades | East Asian Collection | DS721 .S436 2002
- 十九世纪中国市井风情:三百六十行 = Customs and conditions of Chinese city streets in 19th century : 360 professions in China | East Asian Collection | ND2070.G83 A4 1999
- 老照片 Lao Zhao Pian | East Asian Collection | DS755 .L263
History
- 中国近代史参考图录 Zhongguo jin dai shi can kao tu lu | East Asian Collection | DS755 .C52365 1981
- 中国近百年历史图集, (1840-1978) Zhongguo jin bai nian li shi tu ji (1840-1978)
East Asian Collection | DS761 .C7 1979
- 孙中山与南京临时政府 Sun Zhongshan yu Nanjing lin shi zheng fu = Dr Sun Yat-sen and the Nanjing provisional government | East Asian Collection | GX11030 LSC
- 中华民国历史图片档案 Zhonghua Minguo li shi tu pian dang an | East Asian Collection | DS774 .Z47496 2002
- 中国古代印刷图册 Zhongguo gu dai yin shua shi tu ce = An illustrated history of printing in ancient China
East Asian Collection | Z186.C5 Z466 1998
History--Revolution & War
- 怒吼的黄河: 抗日战争的中国美术 Nu hou de Huanghe: kang Ri zhan zheng de Zhongguo mei shu
East Asian Collection | DS777.533 .N846 2005
- 侵华日军的自白来自"一・二八", "八・一三"淞沪战爭 Qin Hua Ri jun de zi bai : lai zi "yi, er ba", "ba, yi san" Song Hu zhan zheng = Qinhurijundezibai | East Asian Collection | DS777.5316.S52 Q56 2002
- 外国人镜头中的八国联军: 辛丑条约百年图志 Wai guo ren jing tou zhong de ba guo lian jun : Xin chou tiao yue bai nian tu zhi = The Eight-power allied forces through foreigners' camera : an illustrated record of the protocol of 1901, 1900-1901 | East Asian Collection | DS771.5 .W275 2001
- 中国人民解放军历史资料图集 Zhongguo ren min jie fang jun li shi zi liao tu ji
East Asian Collection | UA837 .C4864 2002
- 庚子事变摄影图集: 原名《北淸亊变写真帖》 Ogawa, Kazumasa, 1860-1930. Geng zi shi bian she ying tu ji : Yuan ming "Bei Qing shi bian xie zhen tie" =Souvenir of the allies in north China| East Asian Collection | DS770 .O4312 2000
- 南京大屠杀: 历史照片中的见证 Shi, Young. Nanjing da tu sha : li shi zhao pian zhong de jian zheng = The rape of Nanking : an undeniable history in photographs | East Asian Collection | DS797.56.N365 S554 1999
- 香港日佔時期 Gao, Tianqiang. Xianggang Ri zhan shi qi | East Asian Collection | DS796.H757 K37 1995
- 鐵證如山 Tie zheng ru shan : Riben jun fa qin Hua zui e shi lu | East Asian Collection | GX12361 LSC
- 紀念辛亥革命七十周年Ji nian xin hai ge ming qi shi zhou nian | East Asian Collection | DS773.4 .C515 1981
Antiquities
- 古文物称谓图典Luo, Xizhang. Gu wen wu cheng wei tu dian | East Asian Collection | DS715 .L84 2001
- 古文物称谓图典Luo, Xizhang. Gu wen wu cheng wei tu dian | East Asian Collection | DS715 .L84 2001
- Missions archéologiques françaises en Chine : photographies et itinéraires, 1907-1923. Edouard Chavannes, 1907 ; Victor Segalen et Augusto Gilbert de Voisins, 1909 ; Henri Maspero, 1914 ; Victor Segalen, Augusto Gilbert de Voisins, Jean Lartigue, 1914 ; Victor Segalen, 1917 ; Jean Lartigue, 1923 | Lilly Library: Stacks | DS715 .M58 2005
- Treasures of China: [an armchair journey to 352 legendary landmarks]
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | N7340 .T743 1988
Architecture
- 中国现代美术全集.建筑艺术Zhongguo xian dai mei shu quan ji. Jian zhu yi shu
Lilly Library: Stacks | 720.9510904 Z63, 1998
- 北京古建築Jian zhu ke xue yan jiu yuan (China). Jian zhu li lun ji li shi yan jiu shi. Beijing gu jian zhu
Lilly Library: Stacks | 722.11156 P377, 1959
Art
- 西方人眼里的中国情调: 伊凡・威廉斯捐赠十九世纪广州外销通草纸水彩画Xi fang ren yan li de Zhongguo qing diao : Yifan Weiliansi juan zeng shi jiu shi ji Guangzhou wai xiao tong cao zhi shui cai hua = Views from the west : collection of pith paper watercolours donated by Mr Ifan Williams to the city of Guangzhou
Lilly Library: Stacks | 751.4220951 X6, 2001
- Musée Albert Kahn. Chine, 1909-1934 : catalogue des photographies et des séquences filmées du Musée Albert Kahn / [publié sous la direction de Jeanne Beausoleil ; rédaction des notices Sophie Couëtoux ... et al.] = Zhongguo : A'erbei Ken'en bo wu guan zhao pian ji dian ying jing tou zu tu lu / [zhu bian Zhenna Baosuolei ; shuo ming zhuan xie Agui'e ... et al.] = China, 1909-1934 : catalogue of the photographs and films [sic] sequences from the Musée Albert-Kahn
Lilly Library: Stacks | DS710 .M85 2001
- 中国戏剧图史 Liao, Ben, 1953- Zhongguo xi ju tu shi | East Asian Collection Oversize | PN2871 .L535 2000
- 老商标Lao shang biao | Lilly Library: Stacks | 741.60951 L298, 1999
- 中國巫儺面具藝術 Zhongguo wu nuo mian ju yi shu = The Art of Chinese Ritual Masks
Lilly Library: Stacks | 731.750951 C559, 1996
- 中国烟标艺术大全 Zhongguo yan biao yi shu da quan | Lilly Library: Stacks | 741.60951 Z63, 2001
Top of Page
Beijing Photographs
Hong Kong Photographs
Taiwan Photographs
- 叶永烈目击台湾: 叶永烈纪实摄影选集 Ye, Yonglie. Ye Yonglie mu ji Taiwan : Ye Yonglie ji shi she ying xuan ji
East Asian Collection | DS799.24 .Y43 2003
- 台灣世紀回味 Taiwan shi ji hui wei = Scanning Taiwan, 1895-2000 | East Asian Collection | DS799.5 .T357 2001
- 布袋戲李天祿藝師 Guo, Duanzhen. Bu dai xi : Li Tianlu yi shi
East Asian Collection Oversize | 791.53092 K96, P976, 1998 In process-LC
- 臺灣原住民衣飾文化傳統,意義, 圖說 Li, Shali. Taiwan yuan zhu min yi shi wen hua : chuan tong, yi yi, tu shuo = Culture of clothing among Taiwan aborigines : tradition, meaning, images | Lilly Library: Stacks | 391.0095124 L693, T129, 1998
Top of Page
Tibet
- 影像日记在西藏 Zhu, Yong, 1966- Ying xiang ri ji zai Xizang = Visual diary on Tibet
East Asian Collection | DS786 .Z489 2003
- Seeing Lhasa: British depictions of the Tibetan capital 1936-1947| Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DS786 .S39 2003
- The face of Tibet | Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DS786 .C464 2001
- 中国西藏文化大图集 Zhongguo Xizang wen hua da tu ji = Comprehensive picture album of China's Tibetan culture East Asian Collection | DS786 .Z47 2001
- Tsarong, Dundul Namgyal, 1920- What Tibet was : as seen by a native photographer
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DS786 .T675 1990
- Tibet, the sacred realm : photographs, 1880-1950 | Library Service Center: | 951.504 T553, 1983 LSC
Travel & Culture
- 三峡记忆 Wang, Yipei. San Xia ji yi | East Asian Collection | DS793.Y3 W386 2003
- 三峡记忆 Wang, Yipei. San Xia ji yi | East Asian Collection | DS793.Y3 W386 2003
- 中国少数民族头饰文化 Zhongguo shao shu min zu tou shi wen hua | East Asian Collection | GT2110 .Z466 2002
- 西行 25° Pan, Shiyi. Xi xing 25 ̊= Go West 25 ̊| East Asian Collection | TR680 .P24 2003
- 中国旧宅楼 Zhongguo Jiu zhai gou = China Jiuzhaigou Valley | East Asian Collection | DS706.Z466 1998
Ming Qing
- 中国旧宅楼 Zhongguo Jiu zhai gou = China Jiuzhaigou Valley | East Asian Collection | DS706.Z466 1998
- 晚清映像:西方人眼中的近代中国 Shen, Hong. Wan Qing ying xiang : xi fang ren yan zhong de jin dai Zhongguo = The image of old China in the western perspective | East Asian Collection | DS755 .S44 2005
- 话说从十五世纪出发 Yujia. Hua shuo cong shi wu shi ji chu fa | East Asian Collection | DS753.2 .Y726 2004
- 清史图典:清朝通史图录 Qing shi tu dian : Qing chao tong shi tu lu | East Asian Collection | DS754 .Q558 2002
- 紫禁城帝后生活, 1644-1911 Zi Jin Cheng di hou sheng huo, 1644-1911 | Lilly Library: Stacks | 725.17 T999, 1982
- 晚清明信片集粹 Liu, Boxian. Wan Qing ming xin pian ji cui | East Asian Collection | DS761.2 .L57 2003
Top of Page
Foreign Relations
- 以史为鉴,世代友好: 中日民间交往五十年, 1952-2002 Yi shi wei jian, shi dai you hao :Zhong Ri min jian jiao wang wu shi nian, 1952-2002 = Rekishi o kagami to shi, sese daidai no yuko o : Chu-Nichi minkan koryu 50-nen, 1952-2002 | East Asian Collection | DS740.5.J3 Y5 2002
- 中英協議圖片集:香港舊時代的終結新里程的開始 Zhong Ying xie yi tu pian ji : Xianggang jiu shi dai di zhong jie, xin li cheng di kai shi. | Library Service Center: | GX5904 LSC
Chinese Wit & Humor (or Caricatures & Cartoons )
- 国漫画史话 Bi, Keguan. Zhongguo man hua shi hua | East Asian Collection | NC1696 .B525 2005
- 上海memory :张乐平画笔下的三十年代 Shanghai memory : Zhang Leping hua bi xia de san shi nian dai
East Asian Collection | NC1312.C6 S4 2005
- 罐齋雜記 Huang, Yongyu, 1924- Guan zhai za ji | East Asian Collection | PN6222.C5 H845 1997
- 澀女郎 Zhu, Deyong. Se nü lang | East Asian Collection | GX9701 LSC
Motion Pictures
- 老电影 1930-1949 Lao dian ying 1930-1949 = Old movies | East Asian Collection | PN1993.5.C4 X54 2004
- 香港电影图志 Xianggang dian ying tu zhi = Records of the Hong Kong Cinema
East Asian Collection | PN1993.5.H6 H75 1998
Top of Page
Buddhist/Buddhism
Mural painting and decoration, Buddhist -- Dunhuang Caves
Sculpture, Buddhist
- 中国南北朝佛造像艺术 Zhongguo Nan bei chao fo zao xiang yi shu = Zhongguo nanbeichao fozaoxiang yishu
East Asian Collection | NB1912.B83 Z36 2005
- 中國藏傳佛教雕塑全集 Zhongguo Zang chuan fo jiao diao su quan ji | Lilly Library: Stacks | 704.948943 Z63, 2002
- 海外遺珎.佛像 Hai wai yi zhen. Fo xiang | Lilly Library: Thomas Room | 704.948943 H149, 1986
- 龍門石窟造像全集 Longmen shi ku zao xiang quan ji | Lilly Library: Stacks | NB1912.B83 L664 2002
- 佛教初傳南方之路: 文物圖錄 Fo jiao chu chuan nan fang zhi lu : wen wu tu lu = Bukkyō shoden nanpō rūto
Lilly Library: Stacks | NK1676 .F655 1993 c.1
Women
- 世界屋脊上的女人 Wu, Xinhua. Shi jie wu ji shang de nü ren = Tibetan women | East Asian Collection | TR681.W6 W88 2004
- 从小脚女人到社会半边天 Cong xiao jiao nü ren dao she hui ban bian tian
East Asian Collection | HQ1767 .W828 2003 c.1
- 百年中囯女性形象 Chen, Huifen, 1954- Bai nian Zhongguo nü xing xing xiang
East Asian Collection | HQ1767 .C465 2002
- 中国云南农村妇女自我写真集 Zhongguo Yunnan nong cun fu nü zi wo xie zhen ji = Visual voices, 100 photographs of village China by the women of Yunnan Province | East Asian Collection | HQ1769.Y86 C45 1995
Top of Page
Historical Figures
- 邓颖超 Deng Yingchao | East Asian Collection | DS778.D47 D464 2004
- 一代伟人毛泽东:纪念毛泽东诞辰110周年 Yi dai wei ren Mao Zedong : Ji nian Mao Zedong dan chen 110 zhou nian
East Asian Collection | DS778.M3 Y53 2003
- 國民政府主席林森先生勳業紀念集 Guo min zheng fu zhu xi Lin Sen xian sheng xun ye ji nian ji
East Asian Collection | DS777.488.L55925 G85 2003
- 胡适及其友人 Hu Shi ji qi you ren, 1904-1948 | East Asian Collection | GX10683 LSC
- 纪念鲁迅美术选集 Ji nian Lu Xun mei shu xuan ji | Lilly Library: Stacks | 709.51 Y43C
Other
- 抗击非典2003,中国 Kang ji fei dian 2003, Zhongguo ; Kang ji fei dian 2003 Zhongguo
East Asian Collection | RA644.S17 K364 2003
- 犹太人在中国 Youtai ren zai Zhongguo = The Jews in China | East Asian Collection | q 951.004924 Y83 2001
- 中华农器图谱 Zhonghua nong qi tu pu | East Asian Collection | S676.5 .Z465 2001
- 中国近代商标简史 Zuo, Xuchu, 1958- Zhongguo jin dai shang biao jian shi = Zhongguo jindai shangbiao jianshi
East Asian Collection | T301.V2 Z856 2003
- 红灯记 Hong deng ji | East Asian Collection | PN1993.5.C6 H664 1970
- 中国沙漠治理图片集 Zhongguo sha mo zhi li tu pian ji = China tames her deserts : a photographic record
East Asian Collection | GB618.7 .C52 1977
- 珠穆朗玛峰地區科学考察图片集: (1966-1968) Zhumulangma feng di qu ke xue kao cha tu pian ji : (1966-1968)
East Asian Collection | DS486.E8 C55 1974