Art and image resources online
Art in general:
- Asian Historical Architecture : contains over 6450 photos of 457 sites across seventeen
countries. The geographical parameters of the site are limited to areas
heavily influenced by Buddhism, Confucianism, or Hinduism.
- Asian Art Includes associations, exhibitions, articles, and galleries. The exhibition part has Buddhist art image photographes.
- American Institute of Indian Studies : has over 125,000 photographs on a broad subjects including sculptures.
- Buddhist Art WWW Virtual Library
- China (through the Jacques-Edouard Berger Foundation's World Art Treasures)
Art: database of images and links to related site
- Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art
Countries covered in the collection include India, Afghanistan,
Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, China, Japan, Thailand,
Indonesia, and Myanmar (Burma). Works range from approximately 2500
B.C.E. to the present, and documentation includes contemporary religious
activities in various parts of Asia. Contains predominantly Buddhist
material, but also includes Hindu, Jain, Islamic, and other works.
- The International Dunhuang Project
- Gerald & Rella Warner Postcards collected in Taiwan by Gerald and Rella Warner during Gerald's service as US Consul between August 26, 1937 and March 8, 1941. Warner Taiwan Postcards contains 201 postcards and 139 b/w commercial photographs from that period.
- The Lin Chia-feng (林佳楓) Family Postcard Collection: from Lafeyette College, contains 370 colonial-era postcards (1900-1945) from Taiwan, Japan,
Korea and China. Industry, tourism, colonial governance, monuments,
festivals, and public works are prominent themes.
- The Michael Lewis Taiwan Image Collection: 517 colonial-era (1895-1945) postcards from Japanese governed Taiwan.
- Art and China's Revolution, Asia Society exhibition, 2008 艺术与中国革命 Chinese art (1950s-1970s)exhibitions.
- Artspeak China:
online collaborative encyclopedia of contemporary Chinese art. It is
bilingual, Wikipedia-style reference guide to contemporary Chinese art,
allowing readers to create or edit articles in one language with their
efforts reflected in the other. Content is searchable and
cross-referenced via internal links and accompanied by an illustrated
timeline of historical and arts events
- The Huntington Archive: "China: 5,000 Years" : online exhibition of Chinese art from 1850 to present
- Literature in Line: Lianhuanhua Picture Stories From China Electronic edition of the exhibition at The Ohio State University Cartoon Research Library, April 25, 1997 - June 13, 1997.
- Lianhuanhua - picture storybook 连环画: from the Asia Collection, Hamilton Library, University of Hawaii at Manoa
Last modified September 2, 2011 11:17:05 AM EDT