OCLC/Worldcat Bibliographic Database Contains more than 32 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world; each record lists libraries which hold the title. Separate editions have different records. Serial holdings (years, volumes) are not identified. Describes these types of items: books, computer data files, computer data files, computer programs, films and slides, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, and videotapes. Chinese, Japanese and Korean records shared with RLIN.
RLIN Bibliographic Database - Eureka Provides bibliographic descriptions of items held in comprehensive research libraries and special libraries in RLG member institutions, plus over 100 additional law technical, and corporate libraries. Covers 1700s to the present (emphasis on 20th century materials). Chinese, Japanese and Korean records shared with OCLC/Worldcat; record display and indexing differs. Can be searched using Chinese, Japanese and Korean characters; requires unicode.
Union Catalog of Japanese University and College Libraries Requires Japanese software for searching. There are 3 different front ends for this database: WebCat [Classic], WebCat Plus—Associate, and WebCat Plus-Unify. In WebCat Plus not only can you see which Japanese libraries own the titles or issues you seek, but many monograph records have tables of contents provided. WebCat Plus—Associate offers a new feature as well. It searches the database for the terms you provide and then lists other terms appearing in the same titles.
Bookplus Provides information on books published since 1926 to the present (about 1,740,000 titles). Includes contents of recently published books. Published by Nichigai.
Books.or.jp Includes 610,000 titles as of December 2001 and titles received from publishers since then. Sponsored by the Japan Book Publishers Association. Opened on 9/9/97. Also has links to the home pages of various publishers. Requires Japanese software.
TRC WWW Server TRC operates a server with new books of the day, new books of the week, and new books published since the beginning of 1980. The database contains 900,000 titles. Most recent entries have a brief description of the contents of the book along with full bibliographic data and a description of the author, his affiliations and other recent titles. About half have a picture of the cover of the book. Extremely useful. Requires Japanese software to use.
Asahi Shinbun Book Review Database This database of roughly 15,000 records compiled since 1988 can be searched by keyword. With a few exceptions, the book reviews can be read for free.
Printed Bibliographies
Books and Articles on Oriental Subjects Published in Japan.
Tōhōgaku kankei chosho rombun mokuroku [serial].
東方学関係著書論文目録 [Tokyo] Tōhō Gakkai.
Perkins/Bostock Library: East Asian Collection | Z3001 .B665
Tōyōgaku Bunken Ruimoku 東洋学文献類目
Kyoto Daigaku. Jinbun Kagaku Kenkyujo.Kyoto, Japan [s.n.]
Perkins/Bostock Library: East Asian Collection | Z3001 .K99
Includes books and journal articles. Also includes materials published in Western languages.
Modern Chinese society; an analytical bibliography.
Author: Skinner, G. William (George William), 1925-, Hsieh, Winston, Tomita, Shigeaki, Joint Committee on Contemporary
China. Subcommittee on Chinese Society.
Published: Stanford, Calif., Stanford University Press, 1973.
v. 1. Skinner, G. W., ed. Publications in Western languages, 1644-1972.
v. 2. Skinner, G. W. and Hsieh, W., editors. Publications in Chinese, 1644-1969.
v. 3. Skinner, G. W. and Tomita, S., editors. Publications in Japanese, 1644-1971.
Perkins/Bostock Library: East Asian Reference | HN733.5 .M634 1973
Nihon Kenmei Tosho Mokuroku = Subject Guide to Japanese Books
日本件名図書目録 / Tokyo: Nichigai Associates.1956/69,PT.1-9; 1977/84, PT.3-4,11-12,14,16,19; 1985-1987, 1989-present.
Perkins/Bostock Library: East Asian Collection | Z3301 .N524
The summary volumes for 1956/69 and 1977/84 are for selected subjects. The annual compilations from 1985 to the present cover all fields and include an author index.
Book page. Hon no nenkan. 本の年鑑。 / Formerly Bukkupeji ブックページ
Bukkupeji Kankokai. Annual.
Perkins/Bostock Library | East Asian Collection | Z3301 .B89
Arranged by subject. Includes brief description of contents.
Bukkyō bijutsu bunken mokuroku; 1960-1969.
Tokyo, Chūō Kōron Bijutsu Shuppan, Shōwa 48 [1973].
Perkins/Bostock Library | East Asian Collection | N8193.A4 B855 1973
The T. L. Yuan bibliography of western writings on Chinese art and archaeology.
Yuan, T`ung-li, 1895-1965.London: Mansell, 1975.
Lilly: Stacks | 016.70951 Y94T
Religion
Chugoku kodai shahon shikigo shuroku.
Ikeda, On, 1931.Shohan.
Tokyo: Okura Shuppan, 1990.
Perkins/Bostock Library | East Asian Collection | Z106.5.C6 I343 1990
Bibliography of manuscripts, especially Buddhist.
Periodical Indexes
MagazinePlus
MagazinePlus indexes 14,000 periodicals published in Japan after World War II and 6000 volumes of collected works.Indexed periodical titles include scholarly periodicals from the National Diet Library's Zasshi kiji sakuin from 1975 to the present, popular magazines (monthlies and weeklies including sports and hobbies) indexed in Janaru indekkesu from 1981 to the present, 1300 Japanese economic and business magazines from 1981-1995, and 60 overseas
business magazines from 1984 to the present. Covered subject areas include the humanities and social sciences, medical science, pharmacology, and science and technology. The Gakkai nenpō ronbunshū file indexes articles in annual university publications in the social sciences and humanities, essays in festschrift, conference papers and books published by research organizations between 1945 and 1992 and annuals, research reports and books published by scholarly associations from 1945 to 1995. For help, see Guide to searching MagazinePlus. Zasshi kiji sakuin: Jinbun shakai hen. Ruiseki sakuinban.
雑誌記事索引:人文社会編 Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan, comp. Tokyo: Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan, 1948-
Holdings: Duke holds the complete set of index volumes from 1948/1954 to 1980/1984 and a partial set for 1985/1989; the online version begins with 1985.
Perkins/Bostock Library | East Asian Collection | EAC Z38
Usually referred to as "zassaku." Indexes articles of at least two pages in length that appear in over 1,800 Japanese journals for humanities and social sciences. Excludes essays and literary works. Weak in weekly magazines, both general and subject oriented.
Gakkai nenpō, kenkyū hokoku ronbun sōran = Contents List of Bulletins in Japan.
学会年報研究報告論文総覧
Tokyo: Nichigai Associates, 1995.
Perkins/Bostock Library | East Asian Collection | AI19.J3 G35 1999
Vol. 2, Jinbun, geijutsu hen = Humanities and Arts
Vol. 3, Shakai kagaku hen = Social Sciences
Vol. 5, Gengo, bungaku, gaikoku kenkyū hen = Language, Literature and Studies of Foreign Countries
Ōya Sōichi Bunko zasshi kiji sakuin sōmokuroku.
大宅壮一文庫雑誌記事索引総目録.
Tokyo: Ōya Sōichi Bunko, 1985. 13v.
Perkins/Bostock Library | East Asian Collection | AI19.J3 O9 1985
Oya Soichi Bunko sokango korekushon. Nihon no zasshi, Meiji hen. EA Ref Computer disk C-4 Oya Soichi Bunko sokango korekushon. Nihon no zasshi, Taisho hen. EA Ref Computer disk C-5 Author and subject index to articles in journal and popular magazines. Prepared for use as an index to journals in the Ōya Sōichi bunko, but it is useful as an index to a variety of popular weekly and monthly magazines, from the Meiji era to the mid-1980s.
Sōgōshi kiji sakuin 87/94 = Japanese General-interest-magazines Index 1987-1994.
総合誌記事索引 87/94 3v.
Tokyo: Nichigai Associates, 1995.
Perkins/Bostock Library | East Asian Collection | AI19.J3 S68 1995
Vol.1 Jinbutsu hen = Personal Names Index
Vol.2 Kigyō, dantai hen = Organization-names Index
Vol.3 Nyusu, jiken hen = News & Topics
Chinese and Japanese periodical holdings in the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Compiled by Amy Lan-huei Lee.
[Chapel Hill] : Distributed by the Academic Affairs Library, UNC-CH, Collection Development
Dept., East Asian Resources, [1989]
Perkins/Bostock Library | East Asian Collection | PN5360 .U558 1989
NII National Institute of Informatics
One of the inter-university research institutes which serve all university researchers in Japan. Provides telnet access to 31 databases for overseas users in a variety of disciplines, mostly in Japanese with some in English.
COPAC
COPAC is the online public access catalogue for some of the largest university research libraries in the UK and Ireland (Cambridge, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Leeds and Oxford).