Finding Films & Film Criticism
Looking for films in the catalog ?
- Feature films: search subject keywords "feature films China"; "feature films Taiwan" or "feature films Hong Kong".
- Documentaries: search subject keywords like "documentary China"; "documentary Taiwan"; "documentary Hong Kong".
- TV drama: search subject keywords like "television plays Chinese"
- Search director as author and limit the format to "video" in the advance search.
- Search film titles in Pinyin, consult Wade-Giles to Zhuyin to Pinyin Conversion Table if needed.
Film studies and criticism
Selected internet resources
Film Studies in general:
- Asian Film Connections (Asia
Pacific Media Center, Annenberg Center for Communication, University of
Southern California, CA, USA) Key features of the Website include: (1) A
list of all films made in China, India, Japan, Korea, and Taiwan from
1998 on, including basic information such as synopses, filmmakers, cast,
length, format, and availability of prints. (2) Eight to fifteen
highlighted films and directors from each country, with detailed
information and video clips. (3) A list of all internationally awarded
films of each country from 1988 on Reviews, essays, interviews and
filmographies, plus reprints from Asia's leading film journals, such as
Cinemaya and Movie/TV Marketing. (4) Press kits and contact information.
(5) Links to other relevant websites.
- Bibliography of performing arts in the east in Western languages
- The Chinese mirror: a journal of Chinese film history
- Chinese Taipei Film Archive
(in Chinese & English) Dedicated to the preservation of Taiwan's
film heritage: news; events; collections; publications; links
- The Database of Taiwan Cinema (in Chinese) New films; filmographies; bibliographies; index to major events; statistics; history, etc.
- Guide on the study of Media from MCLC (Modern Chinese Literature and Culture)
- Hong Kong Film Archive (in Chinese & English) Archive functions; public access facilities; programs & seminars; exhibitions; archive collections; newsletters & publication
- Hong Kong Film Critics Society Reviews & essays by members
- Hong Kong Movie DataBase Searchable by title or name & by English or Chinese
- The Illuminated Lantern Features on Hong Kong & Asian films, topically organized; reviews; yearbooks
- Official China Media Guide (A Complete Listing of Media Approved by the Central and Local Governments of the People's Republic of China
Film Festivals in Hong Kong, Mainland and Taiwan:
Last modified February 3, 2011 12:26:39 PM EST