Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Chinese Studies

Statistical Databases

Duke has access to several statistical databases that deals with China or covers China as a part: 

China Data Online (Bilingual)

Focuses on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China. Census Data for1982, 1990, 1995 and 2000. Statistical yearbooks at national, provincial and city level.

Economist Intelligence Unit (English)

A full-text database that provides (in PDF and HTML) an overview of economic, political, market, investment, and trading conditions for more than 180 countries. Includes the following EIU publications: Country Reports, Country Profiles, Business Operations Reports, Country Finance, Country Finance Alert, Investing, Licensing and Trading.

International Financial Stats (English)

International statistics on all aspects of international domestic finance. Time series summarizing covering over 200 countries and areas. Includes all the series appearing on the IFS country pages, exchange rate series for all Fund member countries (plus Aruba and the Netherland Antilles), major Fund account series, and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS world tables. The Country, World, and Commodity Prices Tables, as presented in the monthly printed copy of IFS, are available as selection options. The Economic Concept View provides a cross-country view of the concepts in the IFS by individual or groups of countries. Files may be downloaded in Excel (.xls), HTML, and ASCII (csv and tab delimited) formats.

LexisNexis Statistical (English)

Indexes statistics on population and demographics, business and financial activities, domestic and international trade, government programs, health, and politics published by the U.S. government (American Statistics Index), international intergovernmental organizations (Index to International Statistics), and some publications by private organizations and state government agencies (Statistical Reference Index). Full text or links to the full text are available for some of the indexed sources.

WDI Online (English)

World Development Indicators online offers access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 207 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2000, where data are available. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Allows comparison between countries, and the option to export data as Excel or ASCII.

Last modified August 6, 2008 2:38:02 PM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.