Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Classics

Ancient History

 

Subject Headings:

Civilization, Ancient
History, Ancient
Rome, History
Greece, History

The Cambridge Ancient History.  London, Cambridge University Press, 1970-2005.
Perkins Reference --- D57 .C252 1970. 
14 volumes, individually edited by experts in the field, covering prehistory of the Middle East and Mediterranean through Late Antiquity.  Long articles give a detailed historical overview and include citations and suggestions for further reading.

Chronology of the ancient world: 10,000 B.C. to A. D. 799, H. E. L. Mellersh. Oxford: Helicon, 1994.
Perkins Reference -- CB311 .M4 1994. 
Presents decades-at-a-glance, with political, historical and cultural events and births and deaths of famous people; a general resource.

Chronology of the ancient world, E. J. Bickerman.  Ithaca, N.Y.: Cornell University Press, 1980.
Perkins Reference -- D54.5 .B5 1978. 
A very detailed treatment of the factual basis for modern scholarship's chronology of the ancient world; includes ancient calendars and chronological systems.

The Classical world bibliography of Greek and Roman history, ed., W. Donlan.  New York: Garland Pub., 1978.
Perkins -- DF211 .C537 1978. 
Bibliographic essays on historical topics originally published in the journal Classical World; not indexed as a volume.

Ancient Greece and Rome : a bibliographical guide, K. Hopwood.  Manchester [U.K.]; New York: Manchester University Press;  c1995.
Perkins Reference -- DE59 .H679 1995. 
Detailed annotated bibliography with a focus on historical events; there is also some coverage of social history and culture generally.

Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Warfare, I. G. Spence.  Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2002.
Perkins -- U33 .S64 2002
This dictionary is especially useful for battles, places, and chronology; covers ca. 720-30 B.C.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified May 20, 2010 9:43:09 AM EDT