Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Classics

Encyclopedias

 

Subject Headings:

Civilization, Classical – Encyclopedias
See also: Classical Dictionaries

Civilization of the ancient Mediterranean : Greece and Rome, ed. M. Grant and R. Kitzinger.  New York : Scribner's, c1988.
Perkins -- DE59 .C55 1988
A good introductory 3-volume encyclopedia, with essays on a wide variety of topics from classical technology to politics to religion.  Essays are by recognized scholars and include bibliographic suggestions. 

Pauly's Real-Encyclopadie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft, ed. A. F. von Pauly and G. Wissowa.  Stuttgart : J. B. Metzler, 1894-1963.
Perkins Reference -- DE5 .P33 1894
Commonly known as "Pauly-Wissowa", or just "Pauly", this encyclopedia has long detailed essays, including extensive references, about a dazzling variety of specific topics in classical antiquity.  This is an older, but still invaluable, resource, and often handily summarizes the extensive 19th century German scholarship on a topic.  Articles are primarily in German, but also in other European languages.

Der Kleine Pauly: Lexikon der Antike, ed. K. Ziegler and W. Sontheimer. Stuttgart, A. Druckenmüller, 1964-75.
Perkins Reference -- DE5 .K5 1964. 
An update and abbreviation of the original Pauly-Wissowa, again mostly in German.

Der neue Pauly: Enzyklopadie der Antike, ed. H. Cancik and H. Schneider.  Stuttgart : J.B. Metzler, 1996-2003.
Perkins Reference -- DE5 .N48 1996. 

Brill's New Pauly : encyclopedia of the ancient world: Antiquity, ed. H. Cancik and H. Schneider.  Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2002-
Perkins Reference -- DE5 .N4813 2002. 
An update of the original Pauly-Wissowa, translated into English and currently in progress.

New Pauly Online
Updated version and translation of Pauly's Real-Encyclopädie der classischen. The encyclopedia itself includes the original German work and its English translation.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified May 20, 2010 10:25:52 AM EDT