Greek philology, or Latin philology
Greek language, or Latin language
Greek literature, or Latin literature
Add "-Ancient Author's Name" to any of the above headings for specifics for that author.
The Oxford companion to classical literature, M. C. Howatson. 2nd ed. Oxford; New York : Oxford University Press, 1989.
Perkins Reference Desk --- PA31 .H69 1989.
An encyclopedic dictionary, not unlike the Oxford Classical Dictionary, but with a more specific focus. Includes literary people and places appearing in ancient texts.
Cambridge History of Classical Literature. Cambridge [Eng.]; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1982-1985.
Perkins Reference and Lilly Reference PA3003 .C363 1982.
Signed scholarly essays introducing the works of specific authors, or works of specific genres or periods. Arranged chronologically in two volumes, for Greek and Latin literature. Useful appendix gives brief sketches of authors' lives, works, and scholarly bibliography.
The Classical world bibliography of Greek drama and poetry, ed. W. Donlan. New York: Garland Pub., 1978.
Perkins --- PA3131 .C537 1978
The Classical world bibliography of philosophy, religion, and rhetoric, ed. W. Donlan. New York: Garland Pub., 1978.
Perkins --- B111 .C537 1978.
The Classical world bibliography of Roman drama and poetry and ancient fiction, ed. W. Donlan. New York: Garland Pub., 1978.
Perkins Reference --- PA6003 .C537 1978.
Bibliographic, scholarly essays on selected topics that first appeared in the journal Classical World. There is no index for each volume as a whole, nor for the set.
Ancient Greek Authors, ed. W. W. Briggs. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research, 1997.
Perkins Reference --- PS129 .D5185, v.176 also at the Library Service Center 810.9 D554, 1978, v. 176 LSC
Ancient Roman Writers, ed. W. W. Briggs. Detroit, MI: Gale Group, c1999.
Perkins Reference --- PS129 .D5185 1978,v.211 .
Signed articles, arranged alphabetically by author, list works, editions, and manuscripts, add a discussion, and append a bibliography. A bias towards English-language sources, and all ancient text is presented in translation.
Greek and Latin Authors, 800 B.C. – A.D. 1000, M. Grant. New York: H. W. Wilson Co., c1980.
Perkins Reference and Lilly Reference PA31 .G7 1980.
A dictionary of ancient authors with 370 entries that include biographical sketches, lists of works, and preliminary bibliography. Best bet for the most obscure ancient authors.
Greek and Roman authors: a checklist of criticism, T. Gwinup and F. Dickinson. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1982.
Perkins Reference --- PA3001 .G856 1982.
Pure bibliography with no commentary, arranged alphabetically by ancient author, and then by individual works.
Literature Resource Center
Includes biographical essays and criticism from several sources.
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.