Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Early English Books

Series II

Series Information

Call Numbers: N2377
Holdings: Reels 1-1982
Format: Microfilm
Guides:
  015.42 qW769
  094.2 U58 A169 1981

L.C. Subject Headings:
English literature -- Early modern (to 1700) -- Bibliography
Great Britain -- Bibliography

Margaret Brill, Subject Librarian

Bostock 232 | margaret.brill@duke.edu | 919.660.5924

Sara Seten Berghausen

Sara Seten Berghausen, Subject Librarian

233 Perkins Library | sara@duke.edu | 919.660.5881

Access

A copy of the Short Title Catalogue (STC) is in the Newspapers and Microforms guide area, located behind the help desk on the first floor of Bostock Library, under the call number 015.42 qW769s.  Another copy can be found in the Reference Department under the same call number.  The STC is arranged alphabetically by author or, if there is no author, by title.  The number to the left of the entry is the Wing number.  The STC provides bibliographic infromation and the Wing number, but does NOT access the microfilm collection.

Access to the microfilm collection is provided in two ways.  The first is through the Newspapers and Microforms Department card catalog, located at the rear of the first floor of Bostock Library.  The catalog is alphabetical by author, or by title if there is no author.  Each card has the microfilm location printed on it, about halfway down the card.  This is indicated by two numbers; ie., 216.10.  The first number is the reel number in the collection and the second is the position number of the title on that particular reel, thus 216:10 indicates that the title is the 10th item on microfilm reel number 216 of the collection.

The other way to locate materials is through a 3-volume set called Accessing Early English Books, 1641-1700 which is housed in the Newspapers and Microforms Department guide area under the call number 094.2 U58 A169 1981.  The volumes provide limited access by author, title and subject.  However, these volumes only include materials on reels 1-995 of the microfilm set.  For items filmed more recently and located later in the set (reels 996-1982), the paperback unit/reel guides must be used.  If a Wing number is known, the cross indexes give the microfilm reel numbers and positions.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified September 25, 2007 10:56:27 AM EDT