Web Site Search

Ask us now
Library Catalog Subject Headings

Useful subject headings in the catalog:

Economics

Biographical Sources

American Economic Association Directory of Members
Basic information can be found in the AEA's current online directory.  There's also an Adobe Acrobat version of the directory that may not be quite as up-to-date.

The History of Economic Thought Website
From the New School University (formerly the New School for Social Research), this site provides links to essays on many economists, including bibliographies of their major works and resources about them.

Blaug, Mark, ed. Who's Who in Economics. Fourth edition, 2003.
Perkins/Bostock Ref.
HB76 .W47 2003 
Covers about 1100 living and 500 deceased economists from 1700 to 1996. Inclusion of living persons is determined by how frequently their work is cited in scholarly journals, and they write the entries for themselves. Information includes jobs held, education, offices/honors, fields of interest, major publications, and a paragraph on principal contributions to the field.

Blaug, Mark. Great Economists Since Keynes: An Introduction to the Lives and Works of One Hundred Modern Economists. 1985.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks HB76 .B55 1985

Blaug, Mark. Great Economists Before Keynes: An Introduction to the Lives and Works of One Hundred Great Economists of the Past. 1986.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks HB76 .B54 1986

Arestis, Philip and Malcolm Sawyer. A Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists. 2nd ed. 2000.
Perkins/Bostock Ref. HB76 .B5 2000
Contains biographies of 20th century economists who have dissented with neoclassical economics. Most entries are written by the economists themselves if they are living. Entries vary in style and length, but each includes a listing of the person's major publications.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (IESS). 1968, 17 vols. Biographical Supplement, v.18, 1979.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks
H41 .I584 1968
The biographies in v.18 supplement those included in the main set; additionally, the 1935 Encyclopaedia of the Social Sciences (Perkins/Bostock Stacks H41 .E6 1937) contains many biographies not found in the later set.

Who's Who in British Economics: A Directory of Economists in Higher Education, Business and Government. 1990.
Perkins/Bostock Ref.
HC252.2 .W46 1990