Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Economics

Indexes, Abstracts, and Bibliographies

Current and Historical

Current indexes are regularly updated databases and publications that will index contemporary sources, although some may index sources going back for many years.

Retrospective, or historical, indexes have ceased publication or index sources from a finite time period in the past.

Most of the electronic databases listed here do not themselves contain the electronic full text of the material that they index and abstract, but you can use the Get It @ Duke link to find the source either electronically or else the call number for paper. Ask for assistance if you can't find something.

Current Sources

EconLit.  1969- .
An online index that includes citations from the Journal of Economic Literature since 1969 and from the Index of Economic Articles in Journals and Collective Volumes since 1984, with abstracts from 1989 to present.  Includes citations to working papers
from the RePEc Project: Research Papers in Economics database.

Journal of Economic Literature (JEL). 1963- .
(Vol. 1-6 entitled Journal of Economic Abstracts)
Periodicals
J86EAC as well as electronically: 1963-68 / 1969- (JSTOR and Ingenta provide complete coverage).
A quarterly journal of the American Economic Association combining articles with extensive book reviews, an annotated list of new books, table of contents of current periodicals, and selected abstracts of articles from those periodicals.  JEL citations since 1969 are contained in the EconLit database.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). 1951- .
Produced under the auspices of UNESCO, this bibliography includes the most important books, articles, research reports and government publications from many countries and in many languages, with detailed author and subject access. Indexing is usually delayed 1-3 years.  Paper editions of the economics component, the International Bibliography of Economics, covering 1952-1998, are located in the Library Service Center z330 I61

Web of Science . 1900- .
Includes indexing from the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) from 1956 to the present, a
multidisciplinary index to more than 3000 journals, providing access to books, book reviews, editorials, conference proceedings as well as journal articles.  Allows searching for later items that cite a given work, and to determine earlier items that are cited by a given work.

The paper volumes of SSCI, covering 1956/65 to 1998, can be found in the Library Service Center after 1980 or in Perkins/Bostock Reference H1 .S635 for earlier volumes.  It includes the a Source Index listing items by author; the Permuterm Index (a subject list derived from the key words in the titles), and the Citation Index listing works cited by the items in the Source Index.

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) 1915- .

Database that indexes public policy literature in books, pamphlets, government publications, yearbooks, and selected articles from 1,000 periodicals, primarily in English but also in several other European languages.  The paper versions (under several title variations) are located in the Library Service Center.


Retrospective Sources

Index of Economic Journals (7 volumes covering 1886-1965).  Perkins/Bostock Ref. HB1 .I534
Index of Economic Articles in Collective Volumes (2 volumes covering 1960-1965).  Perkins/Bostock Ref. HB1 .I534
Index of Economic Articles in Journals and Collective Volumes. 1966- .
HB1 .I534 Perkins/Bostock Ref. (1966-1983). Perkins/Bostock Stacks (1984-1992).
Published by the American Economic Association with author, title, and subject indexes.

To search electronically for material after 1969, use the EconLit database.  Also, you can browse the Journal of Economic Literature.

Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature.
Microforms N4387
This microfilm set contains all available books from the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration. Materials date from the mid-1400s to 1850.  The records for individual titles are searchable in the library catalog (you must check the note fields in the full record for the item number, which is indicated on the boxes of film).

Item and reel numbers can also be found on the cards that are filed by author in a catalog in the Microforms Department and in a book index, A Consolidated Guide to the Microfilm Collection (Microforms Guides 330 G624), which provides access by year and by broad subject category. The Catalogue of the Goldsmiths' Library (Perkins/Bostock Ref. HB71 .G653 1970) and the Catalogue of the Kress Library (Library Service Center 016.33 H339K) complement the Consolidated Guide.

A London Bibliography of the Social Sciences. 1929-1989 (v. 1-47) .

Perkins/Bostock Stacks H1 .L663 (Some volumes may be in the Library Service Center.)
The original volumes, 1931-1936, represent the combined subject catalogs of nine London libraries; since 1936, only the subject catalog of the British Library of Political and Economic Science is included.

University Research in Business and Economics. 1981-1989.
AUBER Bibliography. 1977-1980.
Bibliography of Publications of University Bureaus of Business and Economic Research.  1963-1976.
Index of Publications of Bureaus of Business and Economic Research.  1950/56-1962 (incomplete holdings).
Perkins/Bostock Stacks 330.973 W748IA 330.973 W748IAx (call numbers to be changed soon; check catalog)
Lists publications of academic researchers, by subject, by research institution, and by author.

Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics (AWPE). Perkins/Bostock holdings1986-1999
Periodicals
A164W
Selectively indexes and abstracts more than 100 series of working papers, such as the series produced by the National Bureau of Economic Research. Listed alphabetically by author with abstracts. Includes indexes for series, keywords, and permuted titles. At one time, AWPE abstracts were included in the EconLit database, but EconLit is now instead includes working paper citations from the RePEc Project: Research Papers in Economics database. 


Last modified July 5, 2007 8:42:41 AM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870