Data and GIS Services at Perkins Library (Data by Keyword or Title)
Links to economic statistics and other empirical datasets, searchable by keyword or title.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER): Other Data Collections
Links to government departments and agencies, the Federal Reserve (including links to all branches), international organizations such as World Bank, and a variety of other sources for statistical data.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER): Public Use Data Archive
Datasets available
from the NBER or otherwise associated with
the NBER research program
RFE: Resources for Economists on the Internet: Data
Links from the American Economic Association (AEA).
FedStats
Links to statistical data portals on U.S. federal government agencies websites, such as from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) and the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA).
Data.gov
Repository of raw empirical datasets from US federal agencies.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
A wealth of empirical data on the US economy. Lots of long time series. Also links to Alfred (ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data) and other related collections of Fed data and publications.
EconoMagic.com
Lots of long time series, especially from US government agencies (Federal Reserve Board, Bureau of Labor Statistics, etc.).
University of Michigan Library Statistical Resources on the Web
Links to U.S. federal government agency economic statistics as well as other sources.
Statistical Abstract of the United States. 1878- .
Perkins/Bostock Ref. Desk C 3.134: or Online.
Earlier editions also online, and older paper editions in Public Documents Stacks.
Published annually since 1878 by the U.S. Bureau of the Census, this is a
standard national data book for United States statistics. The footnotes
also provide an excellent guide to other statistical sources. Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present (Perkins/Bostock Ref. Desk HA202 .H57 2006 or Online) summarizes important time series.
Derks, Scott, ed. The Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-2004. 3d ed., 2004.
Perkins/Bostock Ref. HB235.U6 V35 2004 or Online
Divided into time periods which reflect major economic changes in
America, then subdivided into following topics: historical snapshot,
investments, selected income, standard jobs, food basket, selected
prices, and standard prices.
IMF e-Library
Contains International Financial Statistics (IFS) and other International Monetary Fund databases and books.
Data (The World Bank)
Worldwide national-level economic and social data from the World Bank.
UNdata
Includes major UN databases and those of several related IGO's.
UN Comtrade
Detailed commodity-level trade data from the UN Statistics Division.
SourceOECD
Raw data can be extracted via the Statistics tab. Also includes the full-text (.pdf) of publications from the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) since 1998.
OECD Index of Statistical Variables
Listing of frequently-requested variables compiled by the OECD; can be downloaded in Excel or Acrobat format.
Statistical Yearbook. 1948- .
Perkins/Bostock Ref. UN ST/ESA/STAT/Ser.S/
Demographic Yearbook. 1948- .
Perkins/Bostock Ref. UN ST/ESA/STAT/Ser.R/ and Online.
These two major annual publications of the United Nations offer
demographic and economic information for its member nations. Information
is gathered by UN organizations or by the individual countries;
reference is usually given to more detailed information from the source
country. Earlier editions are in Public Documents UN Stacks. The
Yearbooks are supplemented by the Monthly Bulletin of Statistics, in Current Periodicals or Online (earlier issues in Perkins Stacks HC57 .U66).
A wealth of UN data is searchable in the UNdata database.
Bloomberg (Available at the Ford Business Library)
Datastream (Available at the Ford Business Library)
Global Financial Database
Time series of macroeconomic and financial data.
Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS)
Follow instructions from the Ford Library of the Fuqua School of Business.
These sources provide definitions and discussion of economic statistics and terminology, not the data themselves.
Economic Indicators Handbook: Time Series, Conversions, Documentation. 1992-.
Perkins/Bostock Ref HB1 .E46
Frumkin, Norman. Guide to Economic Indicators. 2006.
Perkins/Bostock Ref. Desk HC103 .F9 2006
Provides information on more than 60 statistical measures of the
performance of the American economy: who collects the data, how the
indicator is calculated, how it is useful, etc.
O'Hara, Frederick M. Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators. 2000. [online]
[paper editions in Duke Libraries]
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.