Joint Meeting of the WESS Germanists' and Social Sciences and History Discussion Groups:
Denver ALA January 25, 2009
"Information Literacy Methods and Models for European Studies"
In addition to the handouts at the meeting, we might find the following materials helpful for the discussion.
Please recommend some personal favorites for this discussion, send the item information to heidi.madden@duke.edu
ACRL - Information Literacy in the Disciplines
http://wikis.ala.org/acrl/index.php/Information_literacy_in_the_disciplines
ACRL Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education
http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/acrl/standards/standards.pdf
• African Studies: http://www.cro2info.org/ala/mgrps/divs/acrl/about/sections/is/webarchive/infolitdisciplines/african.cfm
• Latin American Studies: http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/acrl/about/sections/is/webarchive/infolitdisciplines/latinamerican.cfm
• Slavic Studies Information Literacy http://intranet.library.arizona.edu/users/brewerm/sil/search.html
• Asian Studies: MacPherson, Kris and Barbara Reed. Asian Studies and Information Literacy: An Integrated Approach. http://www.stolaf.edu/library/instruction/infolit/ASILReedMacPherson14Feb05.ppt
• English Literature: http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/acrl/about/sections/is/webarchive/infolitdisciplines/literature.cfm
• History: http://guides.library.fullerton.edu/historians_toolbox/index.html
Freidoc Server at the University of Freiburg – I have included a few publications, but you can search for more introductions and booklists for core resources at the following URL:
http://www.freidok.uni-freiburg.de/index.php?la=de
Giullian, John. Slavic Folklore, the Library, and the Web: A Case- study of Collaborative Information Literacy (IL) at the University of Kansas.
Forthcoming. Michael Brewer and Erik Zitser, et.al are working on a volume of articles on this general topic.
Hock, Lisabeth. Information Literacy across the German-Studies Curriculum. Unterrichtspraxis.
40.1 (2007): 46-56
Informationskompetenz. Vermittlung von Informationskompetenz an deutschen Bibliotheken.
Informationzkompetenz http://www.informationskompetenz.de/
Bibliographie http://www.informationskompetenz.de/im-fokus/ik-im-ausland/literatur/
Informationskompetenz:
Schulungsbedarf in den neueren Philologien. (Germanistik)
http://www.informationskompetenz.de/fileadmin/DAM/documents/Raster%20Germanistik_410.doc
Ingold, Marianne:
Das bibliothekarische Konzept der Informationskompetenz : ein Überblick - Berlin : Institut für Bibliothekswissenschaft der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, 2005. – 128 S. - (Berliner Handreichungen zur Bibliothekswissenschaft ; 128)
ISSN 1438-7662
http://www.ib.hu-berlin.de/~kumlau/handreichungen/h128/
Lemanski, Thorsten
Lokale vs. Globale Online-Fachinformationen Germanistik.
www.fbi.fh-koeln.de/institut/personen/tappenbeck/seminararbeiten/Seminararbeit_Lemanski_07.pdf
Mackey, Thomas P. ; Jacobson, Trudi E.
Information literacy: a collaborative endeavor. College Teaching. 53.4 (2005): 140-4.
Kohl-Frey, Oliver.
Information literacy for Advanced Users: A German Perspective. Public Services Quarterly. 3,4 (2007).
Preprint: http://www.ub.uni-konstanz.de/kops/volltexte/2008/4580/pdf/Information_literacy_for_advanced_users.pdf
Kraus, Peter
Information Literacy for German Language and Literature at the Graduate Level: New Approaches and Models
Peter Kraus, Associate Librarian, J. Willard Marriott Library, University of Utah
http://www.webpages.uidaho.edu/~mbolin/kraus2.htm
Mayer, Martin
Geschichte elektronisch : Einführung in die elektronischen Hilfsmittel für das Studium der Geschichte an der Universität Freiburg im Breisgau.
URN: urn:nbn:de:bsz:25-opus-2051
URL: http://www.freidok.uni-freiburg.de/volltexte/205/
Presnell, Jenny L. The Information-Literate Historian: A Guide to Research for History Students. Oxford University Press, 2006.
D'Aniello, Charles A., ed. Teaching bibliographic skills in history: a sourcebook for historians and librarians. Greenwood Press, 1993.
Reifegerste, E. Matthias
Germanistik elektronisch in Freiburg : eine Einführung in die elektronischen Informationsmittel für das Fach Germanistik
URN: urn:nbn:de:bsz:25-opus-1694
URL: http://www.freidok.uni-freiburg.de/volltexte/169/
Related document: Roadshow Germanistik. Universität Freiburg http://www3.ub.uni-freiburg.de/index.php?id=1132
Reifegerste, E. Matthias ; Fitzon, Thorsten ; Martin, Dieter
Bücherkunde zur Neueren Deutschen Literaturwissenschaft
Die Bücherkunde bietet einen Überblick über die für das Studium der germanistischen Literaturwissenschaft grundlegende Literatur (Einführungen, Bibliographien, Handbücher, Lexika u.a.) sowie Ausblicke auf die Standardwerke von Nachbardisziplinen.
Bitte beziehen Sie sich beim Zitieren dieses Dokumentes immer auf folgende
URL: http://www.freidok.uni-freiburg.de/volltexte/518/
Related document:
Conzelmann, Jochen ; Redzich, Carola ; Schiewer, Hans-Jochen
Bücherkunde zur älteren deutschen Literaturwissenschaft und Sprachgeschichte. Bibliography of the older German literary and language history
URN: urn:nbn:de:bsz:25-opus-14506
URL: http://www.freidok.uni-freiburg.de/volltexte/1450/
Oechtering, Anne
Informationskompetenz häppchenweise Zur Modularisierung von Schulungsangeboten. Projekt Informationskompetenz, UB Konstanz. HdM Stuttgart, 03.05.2004 ...
www.ub.uni-konstanz.de/fileadmin/Dateien/Informationskompetenz/Publikationen/Modularisierung_01.pdf
Not updated, but interesting for the scope and layout
Goerdten. Informations- und Arbeitsmaterialien zum Online Crashkurs:
Einführung in die Bibliotheksbenutzung und in die germanistische Fachbibliographie
http://www.ub.fu-berlin.de/~goerdten/kurs/kurs00.html
This inventory is used as a basis for discussion during the first session of the graduate seminar RESEARCH WITHOUT BORDERS, taught by International and Area Studies staff in Perkins Libraries, Duke University< http://library.duke.edu/ias/iascourse.html >
LEARNING INVENTORY: GERMANIC STUDIES
No course can or should “preemptively” teach everything you “might” need to know. By combining a list of the better-known scholarly tools, and a list of the kind of information you often look for, we will be able to help you in finding materials for your research topic. The questions below will help us customize your course goals.
I. When I begin a research paper for a class, this is what I usually do:
II. A few keywords that describe my current research interest(s) and that I am most inclined to use when conducting a database search are:
III. The topic(s) that I would especially like to cover in this course include(s):
IV. I am familiar with and able to locate the following analog resources and research tools (on a ten-point scale with 10 being “familiar at an advanced level”; 5 being “familiar at a basic level”; 1 being “never heard of it before”):
Reference Works
• Encyclopedias
• Dictionaries
• Handbooks
• Biographies/Literary Biographies
Bibliographies
• Current Bibliographies _____
• Retrospective Bibliographies _____
• Period Bibliographies _____
• Author Bibliographies _____
• Bio-bibliographies _____
• Subject Bibliographies _____
Periodical Guides _____
Leading peer-reviewed journals _____
Dissertations
• US _____
• Foreign _____
Reviews
• Book _____
• Film/Theatre Reviews _____
Archives and Manuscript Collections
• US _____
• Foreign _____
Alternative formats
• Scholarly editions_____
• Newspapers_____
• Polls_____
• Videos_____
• Microfilm_____
• Government Documents (US and Foreign) _____
• Data and Statistics_____
Interlibrary loan and collaboration_____
V. I am familiar with and am able to locate the following digital resources (on a ten-point scale with 10 being “familiar at an advanced level”; 5 being “familiar at a basic level”; 1 being “never heard of it before”):
Please note: below items represent a range of electronic databases for Western European Studies. Let’s discuss strategies for expanding this list?
ABELL Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
ABI/Inform Complete
ABI/INFORM ABI/Inform Archive -Historical business journals
Academic OneFile
Academic Search Premier
ACLS Humanities E-Book
AIDA
ARTFL project
Athena
ATLA religion database
BDSL-online
Biography and Genealogy
Biography Resource Center
Blackwell Reference Online
Brill Online
Britannica Online
Catalogues de la BnF
Choix (Bookmark this Database)
CIAO
Complete Index to World Film since 1895
Contemporary women's issues
Center for Research Libraries
Daily Life Through History
Deutsche Nationalbibliothek
Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker
DigiZeitschriften
DBIS Datenbank-Infosystem
Directory of Periodicals, MLA
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
Duke Catalog
Early English books online
eHRAF World Cultures
Eighteenth Century Collections Online ECCO
Eighteenth Century Journals I and II
Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature
English Short Title Catalogue
EUR-Lex European Union law
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
EuroDocs
Europa World Book Online
European Library
Europeana
Eurostat statistics
EZB Elektrinische Zeitschriftenbibliothek Regensburg
Factiva
FIAF international filmarchive
Film index international (FII)
Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports
FRANCIS
French African Literature -1960
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gallica
GenderWatch (Bookmark this Database) (w/ Full Text Articles)
GenderWatch
Global newsbank
Google Book Search (de. Fr. It., etc)
Google Scholar
Hand press book database
Historic Events of the 20th Century
Historical Abstracts
History Reference Online
Humanities abstracts
Humanities International Complete
IBZ Online
IDZ Index Deutschsprachiger Zeitschriften 1750 - 1850
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Index to Jewish Periodicals
InfoTrac OneFile
Ingenta Connect
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages
International encyclopedia of the social and behavioral sciences
International financial stats
International medieval bibliography
Iter gateway
Jewish History Resource Center
Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory & criticism
JOLIS catalog (Bookmark this Database)
Jolis Library Catalog (Jolis)
JSTOR
Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog
KLGonline
Lexikon des Mittelalters
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Guides to microforms
LibWeb: Library Servers via WWW
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Resource Center
MasterFILE Premier
MLA Intl Bibliography
Monumenta Germaniae historica
National Libraries, National Library Catalogs
National Bibliography
NetLibrary
OneSource
Original sources
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online: Bilingual Language Dictionaries
PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Past masters
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Index Online
Persee
Philosopher's Index
Primary Source Microfilm’s online guides
Project Gutenberg (Bookmark this Database)
Project Muse
ProQuest
Reference Universe (Bookmark this Database)
Repere
Revues.org
Search TRLN
Shoah Foundation – Visual History Archive
Sociological Abstracts
SourceOECD
SpiegelWissen
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
United Nations Treaty Collection
UNdata
United Nations Official Documents System
VD16: German Imprints 1501-1600
VD17: German Imprints 1601-1700
viaLibri
WDI online
Web of Science
WEBIS Sammelschwerpunkte
WESSWEB
Women's studies international
World Biographical Information System
World Maps
World Who's Who
WorldCat
ZDB Zeitschriftendatenbank
Additional online resource(s) with which I am familiar and most inclined to use include(s):
The research tool(s) listed above about which I want to know more include(s):
VI. I am familiar with the following theoretical orientations (on a ten point scale with 10 being “familiar at an advanced level”; 5 being “familiar at a basic level”; and 1 being “never heard of it before”):
• Chaos Theory_____
• Constructivist Theory_____
• Cultural Studies & Critical Theory_____
• Dependency Theory_____
• Feminist Theory_____
• Literary Theory and Criticism (name approach)_____
• Game Theory_____
• International Relations Theory _____
• Modernization Theory_____
• Neo Liberalism_____
• Neo Marxian Theories_____
• Postmodern Theory_____
• Other
Please add some detail on your research area, if appropriate:
Research includes Medieval Studies
Research includes Renaissance Studies
Research focus on History and Social Science in relation to literature
Research focus on Philosophy
Research focus on Religion
Research focus on Gender Studies
Research focus on Literary Theory
Research Focus on Comparative Literature
Research focus on other interdisciplinary studies: ________________________
After discussion with your academic advisor: Additional theoretical orientation(s) in my area of research with which I am familiar and most inclined to use include(s):
VII. Familiarity with Handbooks
For German Literature, this includes, for example:
Blinn, Hansjürgen: Informationshandbuch Deutsche Literaturwissenschaft. Völlig überarb. Neuausgabe. Frankfurt a.M.: Fischer Taschenbuch Verlag 1994. 2005
Raabe, Paul: Einführung in die Bücherkunde zur deutschen Literaturwissenschaft. 11., unveränd. Aufl. Stuttgart: Metzler 1994. (Sammlung Metzler 1)
Raabe, Paul und Georg Ruppelt: Quellenrepertorium zur neueren deutschen Literaturgeschichte. 3., vollst. neu bearb. Aufl. Stuttgart: Metzler 1981.
Bangen, Georg: Die schriftliche Form germanistischer Arbeiten. Empfehlungen für die Anlage und die äußere Gestaltung der Titelangaben von Schrifttum. Mit einem Geleitwort von Hans-Egon Hass. 9., durchges. Aufl. Stuttgart: Metzler 1990
Hansel, Johannes: Bücherkunde für Germanisten. Studienausgabe. Bearb. von Lydia Tschakert. 9., neubearb. Aufl. Berlin: E. Schmidt 1992.
Germanistik Elektronisch
http://www.freidok.uni-freiburg.de/volltexte/169/
History/Other ______
Additional research method(s) with which I am familiar and most inclined to use include(s):
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.