Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Financial Aid Resources

Directories

College Money Handbook
Latest Ed. in Ref LB2337.2 .C65

This Peterson's guide is meant to be used for ready reference as well as for in-depth information. It compares colleges and universities using statistical information about admissions and average financial aid awarded per student compared with tuition costs. It covers state and federal aid available, the top 40 private financial aid sources, common questions asked about financial aid, and a number of indexes to access specific information.

The Financial Aid Book: The Insider’s Guide to Private Scholarships, Grants and Fellowships
Perkins Stacks LB2337.3 .F56 1999

This guide includes information which will remain relevant when other guides become outdated. It includes tips on how to get the awards, including examples of scholarship winning essays, as well as what awards are out there to be won. It lists deadlines and requirements, but it does not contain as much factual information on individual institutions as the College Money Handbook.

Scholarships, Fellowships, and Loans: A Guide to Education-Related Financial Aid Programs for Students and Professionals
Latest Ed. in Ref LB2338 .F4

This guide is indexed by vocation and degree level (undergrad, graduate, or postgraduate). It lists restrictions on the awards and affiliations required for winning. The awards are also organized by the sponsors. These entries include the titles of the scholarships, deadlines, and qualifications.

Paying for College Without Going Broke
Latest Ed. in Ref LB2337.4 .P744

This guide is published by the Princeton Review for the parents of college-bound students. It explains the process of applying for financial aid and strategies for winning it. The guide discusses long and short term strategies for paying for college, picking financial safety schools, and how to fill out forms. It provides good background and practical information but requires a second source for award specific information.

Peterson's Grants for Graduate & Postdoctoral Study
Latest Ed. in Ref LB2337.2 .P46

This source claims to be the only comprehensive source of current information on grant and fellowship programs for graduate study. It gives advice on where to look for grant support and how to increase one's chances of winning grants.

The Grants Register: The Complete Guide to Post Graduate Funding Worldwide
Latest Ed. in Ref LB2338 .G7

This directory is organized according to subject area, then geographically, and finally by the names of grants. In the descriptions of individual grants, the guide includes eligibility and application requirements and the purpose, type, value, and length of duration of the awards. It has an index of currently available awards and an index of discontinued awards.

Financial Aid for Research and Creative Activities Abroad
Latest Ed. in Ref LB2337.2 .F574

A list of scholarships, fellowships, loans, grants, awards, and internships for research and creative activities abroad; an annotated bibliography of financial aid directories; and a set of five indexes: title, organization, geographic, subject, and deadline.

Financial Aid for Study and Training Abroad
Latest Ed. in Ref LB2337.2 .F576

These sources list scholarships, fellowships, loans, grants, awards, and internships available for research, training, and study abroad. There are five indexes: title, organization, geographic, subject, and deadline. They also include annotated bibliographies of financial aid directories.

Funding for U.S. Study: A Guide for Foreign Nationals
Latest Ed. in Ref LB2337.2 F86

This book is designed for use by foreign nationals who wish to study in the U.S. Its introduction discusses how to use this book and some general information about financial aid in America. It lists awards according to nationality/residency, with an additional worldwide section listing awards for all persons. The entries are indexed by field of study, level and type of award, amount of support, destination, and sponsoring agencies. It lists details about the awards such as eligibility, duration, purpose, number awarded annually, and the number of applicants from the previous year. This information about applicants is not usually listed in directories, although it is especially helpful when calculating one's odds of winning an award.

The Scholarship Book: The Comprehensive Guide to Private-Sector Scholarships, Grants, and Loans for Undergraduates
Latest Ed. in Ref LB2337.2 .S28

Lists scholarships categorized by subject area; notes the title, contact information, and descriptions of awards. Includes a (not so quick) Quick Find Index and a Field of Study Index which list relevant page numbers under headings, in addition to an alphabetical index to awards. A bibliography of helpful publications and a listing of organizations to contact for more career information follows the main listing.

Don't Miss Out: The Ambitious Student's Guide to Financial Aid
Latest Ed. in Ref LB2337.4 .D65

The book, like many of the other directories listed, reviews the fundamentals of financial aid, its various sources, and common misconceptions about it. Unlike other sources, this book is full of tips for people seeking aid from many different positions in life, such as parents seeking for their children who are still in grade school, current college students, and older adults who are considering going back to school.

The Complete Scholarship Book
Perkins Stacks LB2338 .C667

More than 500 awards are listed here alphabetically by the names of the awards. Each entry gives a brief description, amount, deadline, eligibility requirements, and contact information for the award. The entries are tagged with icons indicating special eligibility requirements, such as sports abilities, disciplines of study, and grade point averages. Entries are indexed by major/career objectives, special criteria, and sponsoring institution.

Scholarships, Grants, & Prizes
Latest Ed. in Ref LB2337.4 .P475

This Peterson's guide is a directory organized by academic area, covering nearly 2000 programs. It includes profiles of each scholarship/ award including the organization name, contact information, eligibility and application requirements, and deadlines.

Hamel, April Vahle. The Graduate School Funding Handbook
Ref LB2371.4 .H35 2002

This book provides general information for finding graduate and post-doctorate funding. The introduction explains the types of graduate funding, tips for applying to graduate schools, and general information of preparing for graduate study. The author focuses specific funding opportunites in arts and humanities and engineering. This source provides an overview of the murky world of graduate funding that is useful to anyone considering graduate study.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified June 8, 2007 9:31:19 AM EDT