Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Foreign Historical Statistics

Worldwide Statistics

This guide lists all of the official publications, including statistical abstracts, of foreign countries.

This resource gives statistical information arranged chronologically and by major conflicts.

Covers international statistics by country for the past twenty years.

  • Department of Economic and Social Affairs. (1948-present) Demographic Yearbook.
    Available electronically and in Perkins/Bostock Reference U.N. ST ESA/ STAT/ SER.R, Ford Library HA17 .D45, and Medical Center Library Stacks HA17 D39 

Provides detailed demographic statistics for individual nations of the world as far back as 1948.

Covers international financial statistics from 1948 to the present. 

Covers recorded economic historical statistics for the world's nations from 1820 to 1992.

This publication brings together two reference works by Angus Maddison: The World Economy: A Millennial Perspective, first published in 2001 and The World Economy: Historical Statistics, published in 2003. This new edition contains Statlinks, a service providing access to the underlying data in Excel® format. These two volumes bring together estimates of world GDP for the past 2000 years and provide perspective on the rise and fall of economies historically.

This resource covers recent international historical statistics for individual countries, sometimes as far back as twenty years.

  • Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. (1993-present) Historical Statistics.
    Perkins/Bostock Reference HC10 .O42.  Earlier editions available in Perkins/Bostock stacks.

Covers international demographic and economic statistics for the previous forty years.

Publications recording the results foreign census from 1565 to the present organized as Series 1: 1945-1967, Series 2: Pre-1945, and Series 3: Post-1967. Indexes are available in the Perkins Library Microforms Department.

Covers international trade statistics by country for the past twenty years.

  • United Nations. (1948-present) Statistical Yearbook.
    Available on CD-ROM and in Perkins Public Documents/Maps UN Documents ST/ESA/STAT/SER.S.  Also available in the Medical Center Library stacks HA42 St29. 

Covers international statistics by country from 1948 to the present.

Electronic Resources:

LexisNexis Statistical
Provides indexing and complete abstracting of statistics produced by international intergovernmental organizations through the Index to International Statistics.
United Nations Common Database
Contains statistical information from the United Nations on demographics, social, and economic conditions of the world's nations.
WDI Online
Offers access to time series for 207 countries and 18 country groups from ranging from 1960 to 2000.  Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Last modified February 13, 2008 2:19:31 PM EST

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870