Web Site Search

Ask us now
Find more like this

This page provides a selection of encyclopedias and handbooks on French literature. To find more like this, do a subject search in the Duke Catalog using the terms:

Encyclopedias and dictionaries, French

Western European Studies

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Beaumarchais, Jean-Pierre de.
Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française.
Paris : Bordas, c1994.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PQ41 .B4 1994

Beaumarchais, Jean-Pierre de.
Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires de langue française.
Paris : Bordas, 1994.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PQ41 .D573 1994

Birkett, Jennifer. 
A guide to French literature : early modern to postmodern.
Published  New York : St. Martin’s Press, 1997. 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | 840.9 B619, G946, 1997 In process-LC  

Buchanan-Brown, J.
Cassell’s encyclopaedia of world literature.
New York: Morrow 1973.
Reference | 803 C344A In process-LC Cataloging Dept.  

Dolbow, Sandra W.
Dictionary of modern French literature: from the age of reason through realism.
New York : Greenwood Press, 1986.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | 840.3 D661, D554, 1986
Lilly Library | Reference | 840.3 D661, D554, 1986

Eva Martin Sartori and Dorothy Wynne Zimmerman.
French women writers : a bio-bibliographical source book.
New York : Greenwood Press, 1991.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PQ149 .F73 1991

France, Peter.
The New Oxford companion to literature in French.
Oxford [England] : Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1995.
Lilly Library | Reference | 840.3 N532, 1995
Perkins/Bostock Library | Carpenter Reading Room | PQ41 .N48 1995
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PQ41 .N48 1995

Grente, Georges.
Dictionnaire des lettres françaises.
Paris : A. Fayard, 1994.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PQ41 .D532 1994

Harvey, Paul, Sir.
The Oxford companion to French literature.
Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1959.
Lilly Library | Reference | 840.3 H342O
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PQ41 .H3 1959

Joyce M. H. Reid.
The Concise Oxford dictionary of French literature.
Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1976.
Lilly Library | Reference | 840.9 C744, 1976
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference Desk | PQ41 .C6 1976

Laffont, Robert, and Valentino Bompiani.
Dictionaire des oeuvres de tous les temps et de tous les pays: littérature, philosophie, musique, sciences.
Paris, S.E.D.E. [1962-68, c1952-54].
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PN41 .D48a 1962

Laffont, Robert, and Valentino Bompiani.
Dictionnaire des personnages, littéraires et dramatiques de tous les temps et de tous les pays. Poésie, théâtre, roman, musique.
Paris, Société d'édition de dictionnaires et encyclopédies 1960.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PN41 .D48 1960

Levi, Anthony.
Guide to French literature : beginnings to 1789.
Detroit : St. James Press, c1994.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PQ41 .L49 1994

Levi, Anthony.
Guide to French literature : 1789 to the present.
Chicago : St. James Press, c1992.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PQ41 .L48 1992

Makward, Christiane P.,
Dictionnaire littéraire des femmes de langue française : de Marie de France à Marie NDiaye.
Paris : Karthala, 1996. 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference | PQ149 .M35 1996  

Sartori, Eva Martin.
The feminist encyclopedia of French literature.
Published  Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999. 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | 840.99287 F329, 1999 In process-LC