Web Site Search

Ask us now
Special Note

The guides listed in the section Guides to French Literary Studies have not been updated to include the electronic information environment. These guides are still valuable because they list the structure of the scholarly literature. These guides also help to identify print only resources for historical research.

Up to date information on electronic access is included in the appropriate sections of this subject guide. For example, the section on bibliographies includes titles that are only available in print as well as titles that are also available in electronic format.

Western European Studies

Guides to Scholarly Resources

General Guides to Reference Works and Bibliographies

Balay, Robert
Guide to reference books.
Edition 11th ed. 
Chicago : American Library Association, 1996. 
Lilly Library: Ready Reference | 011.02 G946, 1996  
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference Desk | Z1035.1 .G89 1996

Besterman, Theodore.
A world bibliography of bibliographies and of bibliographical catalogues, calendars, abstracts, digests, indexes, and the like. 
Edition 4th ed., rev. and greatly enl. throughout. 
Lausanne, Societas Bibliographica [1965-66] 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | Z1002 .B5685 1965

Gray, Richard A. 
Serial bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences.
Published  Ann Arbor, Mich., Pierian Press, 1969. 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference | Z1002 .G814 1969  

Malclès, Louise-Noëlle, 1900- 
Les sources du travail bibliographique.
Published  Genève : E. Droz ; Paris : Minard, 1950-58. 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | Z1002 .M4 1950  

Walford’s guide to reference material. 
Edition  8th ed. 
Published  London : Library Association Pub., 1999-2000. 
Lilly Library: Reference | 011.02 W174, 1999  
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference Desk | Z1035.1 .W33 1999  

The new Walford : guide to reference resources.
Ray Lester. 
Edition  [9th ed.] 
Published  London : Facet Pub., 2005- 
 Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference Desk | Z1035.1 .W33 2005  

Wortman, William A., 1940- 
A guide to serial bibliographies for modern literatures.
Edition  2nd ed. 
Published  New York : Modern Language Association of America, 1995. 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference | PN695 .W678 1995  

Reference Reviews Europe Online

Guides to French Literary Studies

Bassan, Fernande. 
An annotated bibliography of French language and literature. 
New York : Garland Pub., 1976. 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | PC2071 .B377 1976  

Beugnot, Bernard, 1932- 
Manuel bibliographique des études littéraires : les bases de l’histoire littéraire, les voies nouvelles de l’analyse critique.
Paris: Nathan, c1982. 
Library Service Center:  016.809 B566, M294, 1982 LSC  

Cordié, Carlo. 
Avviamento allo studio della lingua e della letteratura francese. 
Milano, C. Marzorati, 1955. 
Library Service Center: Z2171 .C67 1955 LSC  

Langlois, Pierre. 
Guide bibliographique des études littéraires.  
Edition  5e éd. 
Paris : Hachette [1968], c1958. 
Library Service Center: 016.84 L284, G946, 1968 LSC  

Mahaffey, Denis. 
A concise bibliography of French literature.
London ; New York : Bowker, 1975. 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference | PQ103 .M343 1975  

Osburn, Charles B. 
The present state of French studies: a collection of research reviews.
Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow Press, 1971. 
Library Service Center: PQ51 .O8 1971 LSC  

Osburn, Charles B. 
Research and reference guide to French studies.
Edition  2nd ed. 
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1981. 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference | Z2175.A2 O838 1981  

Kempton, Richard. 
French literature : an annotated guide to selected bibliographies.
Published  New York, N.Y. : Modern Language Association of America, 1981. 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference | PQ103 .K467 1981  

Ronge, Peter. 
Studienbibliographie Französich; Beiträge zur bibliographischen Erschliessung der französischen Philologie. 
Frankfurt (M) Athenäum Verlag c1971- 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | z840 R773S