Web Site Search

Ask us now
A National Bibliography is...
An ongoing list of the books and other materials published or distributed in a specific country, especially works written about the country and its inhabitants or in its national language, for example, Canadiana and the British National Bibliography (BNB), which since 1950 has provided a weekly list of new titles published in Great Britain. The focus of national bibliography has traditionally been print materials (books, serials, pamphlets, maps, printed music, government documents, etc.), but nonprint media including works created in digital formats are also listed in some countries. More information...

Western European Studies

National Bibliography of France

For more information about the national bibliography for France, consult the Guide to the French National Bibliography.

Duke Catalog: For Duke holdings of printed catalogs, search by AUTHOR: Bibliothèque nationale (France). Département des imprimés. 

Bibliothèque nationale (France). Département des imprimés. 
Catalogue général des livres imprimés de la Bibliothèque nationale. Auteurs.
Published Vol. 1 (1897)-v. 231 (1981).  Paris : Imprimerie nationale, 1897-1981. 
Perkins/Bostock Library:
Stacks | Z927 .P2  

Bibliographie Nationale Française

Note that the bi-weekly publication is used for collection development in European libraries. The bi-weekly publication is simultaneously made available in the main catalog. The website offers the following search options:


Catalogue Collectif de France/CCFr (French Union Catalog)
Linked from http://www.bnf.fr/pages/catalogues.htm; includes French National Directory of Libraries and Documentation Centers (Répertoire National des Bibliothèques et des Centres de Documentation/RNBCD); allows simultaneous search of three major French catalogs:

  • Catalog of Digitized Municipal Library Collections (Catalogue des Fonds des Bibliothèques Municipales Rétroconvertis/BMR);
  • BN-Opale Plus; 
  • Sudoc (Catalogue du Système Universitaire de Documentation/Sudoc)

.