Web Site Search

Ask us now

Western European Studies

Guides to Scholarly Resources

General Guides to Reference Works and Bibliographies

Balay, Robert
Guide to reference books.
Edition  11th ed. 
Chicago : American Library Association, 1996. 
Lilly Library: Ready Reference | 011.02 G946, 1996  
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference Desk | Z1035.1 .G89 1996

Besterman, Theodore.
A world bibliography of bibliographies and of bibliographical catalogues, calendars, abstracts, digests, indexes, and the like. 
Edition  4th ed., rev. and greatly enl. throughout. 
Lausanne, Societas Bibliographica [1965-66] 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | Z1002 .B5685 1965

Gray, Richard A. 
Serial bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences.
Published  Ann Arbor, Mich., Pierian Press, 1969. 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference | Z1002 .G814 1969  

Walford’s guide to reference material. 
Edition  8th ed. 
Published  London : Library Association Pub., 1999-2000. 
Lilly Library: Reference | 011.02 W174, 1999  
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference Desk | Z1035.1 .W33 1999  

The new Walford : guide to reference resources.
Ray Lester. 
Edition  [9th ed.] 
Published  London : Facet Pub., 2005- 
 Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference Desk | Z1035.1 .W33 2005  

Wortman, William A., 1940- 
A guide to serial bibliographies for modern literatures.
Edition  2nd ed. 
Published  New York : Modern Language Association of America, 1995. 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference | PN695 .W678 1995 

Guides to Resources for German History

Baumgart, Winfried. 
Bücherverzeichnis zur deutschen Geschichte : Hilfsmittel, Handbücher, Quellen
Edition  7. durchgesehene und erw. Aufl. 
Müchen : Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag, 1988. 
Library Service Center: | 016.943 B348, B919, 1988 LSC 
 
Boockmann, Hartmut. (newer edition available/on order, use ILL Worldcat for now)
Einführung in die Geschichte des Mittelalters / Hartmut Boockmann.
Edition 1. Aufl.
München : Beck, 1978.
Library Service Center: | D117 .B58 1978 LSC

Brandt, Andres von, 1908- 
Werkzeug des Historikers; eine Einführung in die historischen Hilfswissenschaften
Edition  3. Aufl. 
[Stuttgart] Kohlhammer [1965, c1958] 
Library Service Center: | 907.2 B821W LSC 

Mayer, Martin
Geschichte elektronisch : Einführung in die elektronischen Hilfsmittel für das Studium der Geschichte an der Universität Freiburg im Breisgau
http://www.freidok.uni-freiburg.de/volltexte/205/
This online guide provides help screens for all the major electronic resources for the study of medieval history.

Schubert, Ernst.
Einführung in die deutsche Geschichte im Spätmittelalter / Ernst Schubert. 
Edition  2., bibliographisch aktualisierte Aufl. 
Published  Darmstadt : Primus, c1998. 
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DD157 .S38 1998  

GOOGLE GUIDES:
Do you like to start with Google or Google.de/Google.fr? Then Google to the max with these tutorials from Berkeley http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/Internet/Handouts.html

Quellenkunde. Guides to Sources

To search the catalog for more: add “sources” as a keyword to your topic (subject or keyword search).

[At UNC]
Einführung in die Interpretation historischer Quellen : Schwerpunkt Neuzeit / Bernd-A. Rusinek, Volker Ackermann, Jörg Engelbrecht (Hrsg.).
Paderborn : Schöningh, 1992.
Davis Library     D206 .E36 1992

Wattenbach, Wilhelm, 1819-1897.   
Deutschlands Geschichtsquellen im Mittelalter : Frühzeit und Karolinger.1991   
Location/Request:Perkins/Bostock Library:
Stacks | 016.94301 W346, D486, 1991 In process-LC

Wattenbach, Wilhelm, 1819-1897.   
Deutschlands Geschichtsquellen im Mittelalter, Vorzeit und Karolinger.
Book    1952   
Perkins/Bostock Library:Stacks | DD3 .W35 1952

[At UNC]
Quellenkunde zur deutschen Geschichte im Spätmittelalter (1350-1500) / herausgegeben und bearbeitet von Winfried Dotzauer.
Darmstadt : Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft, c1996.
Call Number     Volume/Copy     Note     Status
 Davis Library     Z2237 .Q45 1996

Quelleneditionen

Monumenta Germaniae historica [Duke DB]
A comprehensive series of published sources for the study of medieval German history.

Quellen zur Alltagsgeschichte im Früh- und Hochmittelalter = Fontes priorum medii aevi saeculorum conversationem cottidianam illustrantes / ausgewählt und übersetzt von Ulrich Nonn.
Darmstadt : Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft, 2003-<c2007>
Perkins/Bostock Library:  Stacks On Order

[At UNC]
Ausgewählte Quellen zur deutschen Geschichte des Mittelalters. Read about the series here: http://www.erlangerhistorikerseite.de/zfhm/transl.html