Web Site Search

Link to Ask Us page

Western European Studies

Book Search

Heidi Madden, Ph.D., Subject Librarian

227 Bostock Library | heidi.madden@duke.edu | 919.660.5984

History

A subject search in the Duke Catalog allows you to identify books on German history held by Duke Libraries. Use the broad search below, combining "Germany History" with the appropriate century and type of material you are looking for, then follow the hot-linked subject terms for more information. As a second step, combine subject terms and keywords in your search of the Duke Catalog for more information.

Duke Catalog Subject Search: Germany History

Germany -- History -- 1918-1933 -- Archival resources -- Germany (West)
Germany -- History -- 1918-1933 -- Bibliography.
Germany -- History -- 1918-1933 -- Bibliography -- Catalogs.
Germany -- History -- 1918-1933 -- Biography.
Germany -- History -- 1918-1933 -- Biography -- Bibliography -- Catalogs.
Germany -- History -- 1918-1933 -- Biography -- History and criticism.
Germany -- History -- 1918-1933 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Germany -- History -- 1918-1933 -- Concentration camps.

The following catalogs provide good starting points for finding books (audio, print, electronic, digital)

Dahlmann, F. C. (Friedrich Christoph).
Dahlmann-Waitz : Quellenkunde der deutschen Geschichte : Bibliographie der Quellen und der Literatur zur deutschen Geschichte. 10. Aufl., unter Mitwirkung zahlreicher Gelehrter hrsg. im Max-Planck-Institut für Geschichte von Hermann Heimpel und Herbert Geuss. Stuttgart, A. Hiersemann, 1965-1999. Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference | Z2236 .D345 1965.  

Other Library Resources

Note: Not everything is in WorldCat - browse the following sites for more:

NATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY AND LIBRARY LINKS

Deutsche Verteilte Nationalbibliographie - Arbeitsgemeinschaft Sammlung Deutscher Drucke
Six collaborating libraries are reconstructing a national bibliography that will cover the German prints from the beginning of printing to the present - the end result will be a virtual retrospective national library.  The material itself and digitization efforts for publications from each century are located at the following participating libraries
 
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek München
Time period 1450 – 1600
Die Sammlung Deutscher Drucke 1450 – 1600
 
Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel
Time period 1601 – 1700
Die Sammlung Deutscher Drucke 1601 – 1700
 
Niedersächsische Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen
Time period 1701 – 1800
Die Sammlung Deutscher Drucke 1701 – 1800
 
Stadt- und Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main
Senckenbergische Bibliothek
Time period 1801 – 1870
Die Sammlung Deutscher Drucke 1801 – 1870
 
Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz
Time period 1871 – 1912
Die Sammlung Deutscher Drucke 1871 – 1912
 
Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek 1912
Also responsible for Langzeitarchivierung of electronic publications.
See details at:Die Arbeitsgemeinschaft Sammlung Deutscher Drucke.
 
Retrospective National  Bibliography in Print.

An older initiative to establishing a retrospective  national bibliography is captured in the following titles:

  • GV 1700-1910: Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schrifttums 1700-1910 (161 volumes)
  • GV 1911-1965: Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schrifttums 1911-1965 (150 volumes) 
  • VB 1966-1980: Gesamtverzeichnis deutschsprachigen Schrifttums außerhalb des Buchhandels (40 volumes)
  • GVH 1966-1980: Gesamtverzeichnis deutschsprachiger Hochschulschriften 1984-1991 (45 volumes)

Verzeichnis Lieferbarer Bücher Books in Print for Germany is available online. Retrospective searching on this title is in print, check Worldcat for holdings.

German Union Catalogs

 
KVK
Great starting point for searching German library catalogs. The KVK is an extremely useful "meta-catalog" that allows for simultaneous searching of several library catalogs, among them the union catalogs for Bavaria, North Rhine-Westphalia and Southwest Germany. The list of covered catalogs keeps growing; it now includes Austrian and Swiss libraries, as well as an increasing number of other national catalogs
http://www.ubka.uni-karlsruhe.de/kvk.html . Also allows searching the ZDB

Other Library Links