Web Site Search

Ask us now

Western European Studies

Article Search

The Articles and Database page has links to databases that are good starting points for identifying mostly English language articles on German Literature; some full-text is available. If you find a citation to an article that is not available full-text online, search for the journal title in the catalog and browse the print or microfilm versions of the journal. 


Articles in German Only are indexed online in the databases and other resources below, for more specialized or historical research, please see the section on bibliographies by period on German literature.

Linked from Duke Databases 


Germanistik.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Periodicals | G373IR

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

IDZ Index Deutschsprachiger Zeitschriften 1750 – 1815

ZDB: Zeitschriftendatenbank
A union catalog of German periodicals held at German libraries (1500-).

EZB Elektronischen Zeitschriftenbibliothek Regensburg some full-text options.

E journals at Duke
Use the Find ejournal - Advanced Subject Search

Directory of Open Access Journals

List of scholarly journals in Germanistik on Germanistik.net




Newspaper Articles in German

The following "How to find..." guides will help you identify newspaper articles, editorials and reviews in German or in English about Germany:

How to find: 

  • Newspapers
  • Current Foreign Newspaper Subscriptions
  • Current U.S. Newspaper Subscriptions
  • Online Newspaper Resources

Monatliches Verzeichnis von Aufsatzen aus deutschen Zeitungen. Bibliographie der deutschen Zeitschriften-literatur. Beilage-Band. Nr. 1 (Okt. 5, 1908)-Bd. 31 (1944).  
Leipzig : F. Dietrich, 1909-1944.   
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | AI9 .B5 

Zeitungs Index.  Munich: K.G. Saur, 1976 - to present.
Bostock Periodicals Reading Room. Index Area.
Perkins Library has 1876 - to date of the index and the following newspapers:

  • Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung - 1953 - to date
  • Neues Deutschland - 1946 - 1950 on microfilm
  • Die Welt - 1973 - to date
  • Due Zeit - 1946 - to date

A comprehensive list of sources is maintained at WESSWEB

German-Language Newspapers and Other News Sources 

WESSWEB: German-Language Newspaper Access in North America