A subject search in the
Duke Catalog allows you to identify books on German literature held by Duke Libraries. Use the broad search below, combining German Literature with the appropriate century and type of material you are looking for, then follow the hot-linked subject terms for more information. As a second step, combine subject terms and keywords in your search of the Duke Catalog for more information.
Duke Catalog Subject Search: German Literature
German literature - [LC Authority Record]
German literature -- 16th century - [LC Authority Record]
German literature -- 17th century -- History and criticism.
German literature -- 18th century - [LC Authority Record]
German literature -- 18th century -- Bibliography.
German literature -- 18th century -- Bibliography -- Catalogs.
German literature -- 18th century -- Bibliography -- Periodicals.
German literature -- 18th century -- Bio-bibliography.
German literature -- 18th century -- Book reviews.
German literature -- 18th century -- Congresses.
German literature -- 18th century -- Dictionaries.
German literature -- 18th century -- Exhibitions.
German literature -- 19th century -- History.
German literature -- 20th century -- History and criticism -- Bibliography.
German literature -- 18th century -- History and criticism -- Bibliography -- Periodicals.
German literature -- 18th century -- History and criticism -- Congresses.
For books available in other libraries search Worldcat.
How to find dictionaries
How to find translations
Subject Terms for Methodology
One of many starting points for the study of literary theory is:
Makaryk, Irene Rima.
Encyclopedia of contemporary literary theory : approaches, scholars, terms. 1993
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference PN81 .E43 1993
University of Göttingen Bibliography of Literary Theory
Guide to resources at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill:
Selective Bibliography for the Study of Comparative Literature: General Sources
A comprehensive guide to the study of literature:
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
The University of Essen (Under the direction of Dr. Dagmar Spooren, Prof. Dr. Jochen Vogt, Elke Reinhardt-Becker, M.A.) provides a basic introduction to the study of literature:
Einladung zur Literaturwissenschaft. Ein Vertiefungsprogram zum Selbststudium
The introduction to methodology provides a good selection of German subject terms for further exploration (excerpt).
- Naturwissenschaftliches versus geisteswissenschaftliches Denken:
Positivismus: Wilhelm Scherer
Hermeneutik: Wilhelm Dilthey; Jürgen Habermas
- Von der geistesgeschichtlichen Methode zum Marxismus:
Geistesgeschichtliche Methode
Russischer Formalismus
Werkimmanente Interpretation: Emil Staiger:"Grundbegriffe der Poetik"; Wolfgang Kayser
Marxismus und Literatur: Georg Lukács; Walter Benjamin
- Von der Hermeneutik bis zum Poststrukturalismus:
Literarische Hermeneutik: Karlheinz Stierle; Uwe Japp; Peter Szondi
Intertextualität (nach Julia Kristeva): Michail M. Bachtin
Rezeptions- und Wirkungsästhetik: Wolfgang Iser
Wirkungsgeschichte: Hans Robert Jauß
Literatursemiotik
Literatursoziologie: Theodor W. Adorno; Pierre Bourdieu
Psychoanalytische Literaturwissenschaft: Sigmund Freud
Strukturalismus
Poststrukturalismus: Jacques Lacan; Jacques Derrida
Dekonstruktion / Deconstruction
- Historische Diskursanalyse
Michel Foucault: Was ist ein Autor?; Jürgen Link
Systemtheorie und Literatur: Niklas Luhmann
Empirische Literaturwissenschaft: Siegfried J. Schmidt
Feministische Literaturwissenschaft / gender studies
Cultural Studies
Subject Terms for Literary Periods
Frenzel, Herbert A. (Herbert Alfred)
Daten deutscher Dichtung : chronologischer Abriss der deutschen Literaturgeschichte.
Edition 26. Aufl. München : DTV, 1991.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | 830.9000202 F879, D232, 1991
Daten der deutschen Literatur (W. Vocke)
750-1050 Mittelalter - althochdeutsche Zeit
1050-1350 Mittelalter - mittelhochdeutsche Zeit
1350-1500 Spätes Mittelalter
1470-1600 Humanismus - Reformation
1600-1720 Barock
1720-1785 Aufklärung
1740-1780 Empfindsamkeit
1767-1785 Sturm und Drang
1786-1805 Weimarer Klassik
1775-1825 zwischen Klassik und Romantik
1793-1835 Romantik
1820-1850 Biedermeier
1830-1850 Vormärz
1850-1890 poetischer Realismus
1880-1900 Naturalismus
1900-1910 Literatur der Jahrhundertwende
1910-1925 Expressionismus
1918-1945 Weimarer Republik und Exilliteratur
ab 1945 Nachkriegsliteratur - Literatur der Gegenwart