Web Site Search

Ask us now
A National Bibliography is...
An ongoing list of the books and other materials published or distributed in a specific country, especially works written about the country and its inhabitants or in its national language, for example, Canadiana and the British National Bibliography (BNB), which since 1950 has provided a weekly list of new titles published in Great Britain. The focus of national bibliography has traditionally been print materials (books, serials, pamphlets, maps, printed music, government documents, etc.), but nonprint media including works created in digital formats are also listed in some countries. More information...

Western European Studies

National Bibliography Germany

Deutsche Verteilte Nationalbibliographie - Arbeitsgemeinschaft Sammlung Deutscher Drucke
Six collaborating libraries are reconstructing a national bibliography that will cover the German prints from the beginning of printing to the present - the end result will be a virtual retrospective national library.  The material itself and digitization efforts for publications from each century are located at the following participating libraries
 
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek München
Time period 1450 – 1600
Die Sammlung Deutscher Drucke 1450 – 1600
 
Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel
Time period 1601 – 1700
Die Sammlung Deutscher Drucke 1601 – 1700
 
Niedersächsische Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen
Time period 1701 – 1800
Die Sammlung Deutscher Drucke 1701 – 1800
 
Stadt- und Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main
Senckenbergische Bibliothek
Time period 1801 – 1870
Die Sammlung Deutscher Drucke 1801 – 1870
 
Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz
Time period 1871 – 1912
Die Sammlung Deutscher Drucke 1871 – 1912
 
Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek 1912
Also responsible for Langzeitarchivierung of electronic publications.
See details at:Die Arbeitsgemeinschaft Sammlung Deutscher Drucke.
 
Retrospective National  Bibliography in Print.

An older initiative to establishing a retrospective  national bibliography is captured in the following titles:

  • GV 1700-1910: Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schrifttums 1700-1910 (161 volumes)
  • GV 1911-1965: Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schrifttums 1911-1965 (150 volumes) 
  • VB 1966-1980: Gesamtverzeichnis deutschsprachigen Schrifttums außerhalb des Buchhandels (40 volumes)
  • GVH 1966-1980: Gesamtverzeichnis deutschsprachiger Hochschulschriften 1984-1991 (45 volumes)

Verzeichnis Lieferbarer Bücher Books in Print for Germany is available online. Retrospective searching on this title is in print, check Worldcat for holdings.

German Union Catalogs

BVB Bibliotheksverbund Bayern

GBVGemeinsamer Bibliotheksverbund: Niedersachsen, Sachsen-Anhalt, Thüringen, Hamburg, Bremen,Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Schleswig-Holstein

HBZ Hochschulbibliothekszentrum des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen: Nordrhein- Westfalen, Rheinland-Pfalz (Koblenz, Trier)

HeBIS Hessisches Bibliotheks-Informationssystem: Hessen, Rheinland-Pfalz (North)

KOBV Kooperativer Bibliotheksverbund: Berlin-Brandenburg

SWB/BSZ Südwestverbund Bibliotheksservice-Zentrum Baden Württemberg: Baden Württemberg, Rheinland-Pfalz (South), Saarland, Sachsen
 
KVK
Great starting point for searching German library catalogs. The KVK is an extremely useful "meta-catalog" that allows for simultaneous searching of several library catalogs, among them the union catalogs for Bavaria, North Rhine-Westphalia and Southwest Germany. The list of covered catalogs keeps growing; it now includes Austrian and Swiss libraries, as well as an increasing number of other national catalogs
http://www.ubka.uni-karlsruhe.de/kvk.html . Also allows searching the ZDB

Other Library Links

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek 

The European Library
(Formerly GABRIEL)
The European Library is a portal which offers access to the combined resources (books, magazines, journals.... - both digital and non-digital) of the 45 national libraries of Europe. It offers free searching and delivers digital objects - some free, some priced.   User guide

Handschriften Online 

Inkunablekatalog INKA

Library of Congress:  European Reading Room   

Project Gutenberg-DE 

Virginia Electronic Text Center 

Virtuelle Deutsche Landesbibliographie

Webis  Germanistik, Deutsche Sprache und Literatur  (Universitätsbibliothek Johann Christian Senckenberg, Frankfurt am Main) http://www.ub.uni-frankfurt.de/ssg/dsl.html

Wessweb – List of Library Catalogs

Zeitschriftendatenbank (ZDB)

Zentrales Verzeichnis Digitalisierter Drucke 

More lists:

Düsseldorfer Virtuelle Bibliothek: Germanistik

Erlanger Liste

Germanistik (US based)
(University of Wisconsin - Madison) Alan Ng. 

Germanistische Fachinformationen im WWW  Freie Universitaet Berlin

Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Germanistik

Virtuelle Allgemeinbibliothek: Literaturwissenschaft

WESSWEB German