Duke Libraries

Ask us now

GIS

GIS Information on the Web

General GIS Information

NOTE:  Also see our links to GIS data.  Our Data Services department has more links to GIS data on the web.
 
Alexandria Digital Library
This is consortium of researchers, developers, and educators, spanning the academic, public, and private sectors, exploring a variety of problems related to a distributed digital library for geographically-referenced information.
Current Literature on GIS and Libraries
A bibliography complied and maintained by Cathy Moulder at McMaster University.
Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Geographic Information Systems, Cartography, and Remote Sensing
By Philip Hoehn of the David Rumsey Collection and Mary Larsgaard of the University of California, Santa Barbara. Hosted by the University of California, Berkeley.
Geographic Information Systems FAQ
The FAQ is a resource of the comp.infosystems.gis newsgroup and the GIS-L mailing list.
GIS notebook
Miscellaneous information on GIS from Bill Thoen.
GIS-Related Mailing Lists
A list of GIS-related mailing lists compiled by Bill Thoen for an article published in GIS World magazine. Many entries have descriptive scope notes.
GIS Discussion Groups & Lists
Information on subscribing to GIS E-mail lists.  Short scope notes describe the lists.
GIS Web Server (University of Edinburgh)
Includes a searchable database on GIS, links to a large bibliography, and links to a catalog of digital elevation data.
Glossary of GIS Terms
A short glossary from ESRI.
National Geospatial Programs Office (NGPO)
This is the USGS office that coordinates its National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI) initiatives, with links to information about digital formats and to digital data, such as The National Map.
TIGER Mapping Service
Information on the TIGER files (Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing system) from the U.S. Census Bureau.
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Publications and Data Products
Links to lots of earth science data.

Sortware Companies

ESRI
Environmental Systems Research Institute, Inc., a leading producer of GIS and desktop mapping software (ARC/INFO, ArcView).
GDT
Geographic Data Technologies, which sells GIS boundary data and demographic data.
Intergraph
Makers of GIS and related software.
MapInfo
Producers of MapInfo, a leading desktop mapping software package often used in business and marketing applications.

Utility Programs and Format Translators

BLM's GIS utility FTP site
Lots of free translator utilities written by the late Sol Katz, most of which run under DOS.
Directions Magazine Free Tools
Online GIS magazine has collection of free GIS utilities for various software packages.
GIS conversion utilities
From an academic web site in the United Kingdom.
GIS Data Depot: Software and Utilities
Mostly format translator programs and some zip/unzip programs.
GIS Tools
Commercial software to convert Census TIGER files to ArcView shapefiles (.shp extension) and MapInfo interchange format (.mif extension) files.
Safe Software, Inc.
Company that produces a commercial GIS translator, the Feature Manipulation Engine (FME).
USGS Digital Mapping Software and Utilities
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified October 18, 2010 12:43:03 PM EDT